We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great view” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Brass Monkey

The Brass Monkey
Ranked #38 of 145 Restaurants in St. Pete Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $32
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Casual dining with a 2nd story view of the Gulf of Mexico and amazing sunsets. Specializing in Colossal Lump Crab Cakes and a variety of Fresh Seafood Items, but also offering the finest Steaks, Salads and even Pizzas, The Brass Monkey has something for everyone. Drawing on 18 years of restaurant experience in the Maryland Chesapeake Bay area, Kelly and her husband Barry have worked to achieve uncompromised and superior food quality, service, value and consistency in a casual dining atmosphere. All of the menu items are prepared in-house with the highest quality ingredients and painstaking attention to detail and freshness, all offered at a reasonable price. We are proud to say: "We overlook nothing but the Gulf!"
Crestwood, Kentucky
Level Contributor
70 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

Sat outside overlooking beach, beautiful view....waiter was nice, but a little slow....we were there at an off time, so he wasn't overly busy. Food was very good. Fish and chips was tastey, and my husband had a burger, that he said was very good.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank karen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

614 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    248
    208
    78
    45
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Horrible/non existent service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2014

We waited for almost an hour for our food to come out. At least three other tables got their food before us, even though we were seated before them. When the food finally arrived the burger was cold. When we complained to the hostess and asked if they expected us to pay for it, she said she would get our server, who was actually the bartender. He never came to our table so we left without eating. I would never recommend this place to anyone or go back again. Also it was hot and had a weird smell inside. Stairs and entryway were dirty like it's never been cleaned. We should have known it would be bad just from that.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wondra63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great location for viewing sunset”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2014 via mobile

Visited a couple of times while staying at St Pete Beach last week. We managed to get a table outside both times which considering the brilliant weather was a surprise and we were rewarded with fabulous views of the sunset. The menu is good, nothing out of the ordinary, but my husband said that the 'Black and Bleu Shrimp' was the best he has ever had and had it both times. The decor leaves a bit to be desired going up the stairs where the carpet is dirty and worn, gives a bad impression, which isn't deserved. The prices are good and the staff friendly. My one criticism is that it would be good if the staff waited until you had finished your meal before bringing the check! On the second occasion I was still eating my main course when the check was put in front of us, We weren't asked if we wanted to order dessert or another drink. It gave us the feeling that we were being rushed out and couldn't sit and relax over a drink. There were empty tables so it wasn't as if people were waiting. Maybe it's because we are English that we find it odd? In the UK you wouldn't be given the check until you asked for it and only when you had completely finished everything, surely rushing people out just stops people spending money. All in all though a great location, good prices and good food.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank DollyD27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerland Key, Florida
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“clueless”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2014

waiter takes order we have an app, but brings salad with the core laying right on top and wilted lettuce. then the app comes 10 house wings covered in salt so thick i brushed them off before eating, waiter comes back and i tell i hope the main course will be better he delivers it, we ate it but two meals consisted of 5 lg shrimp a handle full of lump crab to many red peppers, not worth 50.00 for the main course, waiter returns i tell him that that meal was garbage and he said sorry and layed the bill on the table... no manager?? numbasses do your self a favor and stay far away from this place........ oh and lawerys season salt is not a house seasoning here's 10 wings and 2 table spoons of salt enjoy

  • Visited May 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Thomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
156 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Fun place to be at sunset”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2014

The Brass Monkey is a fun place to be to sit on the outdoor patio and watch the sunset while enjoying some good food.
The night we were there was very windy and chilly. The waves were coming in strong and the sunset was gorgeous. To warm up I ordered the French Onion Soup. EXCELLENT choice on a chilly evening. The Crab Cakes were exactly what they describe..... filled with chunks of crab and very filling. Don't go overboard though and get the order of 2 crab cakes unless you are extremely hungry! It was alot of food, even for two of us splitting.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Shannon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Brass Monkey also viewed

St. Pete Beach, FL
St. Pete Beach, FL
 

Been to The Brass Monkey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing