We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Probably the best kept secret on the beach”
Review of Rick's Reef Beachside - CLOSED

Rick's Reef Beachside
Price range: $2 - $10
Cuisines: Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Scenic view
Description: This business is closed!
Lakeland, FL
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Probably the best kept secret on the beach”
Reviewed July 11, 2014

We were staying in the area for the 4th of July, and stopped in thinking we were going to Rick's Reef Restaurant. Our bartender, Chris, was nothing short of awesome. He is a local, was very friendly and you could tell that a lot of the folks around the bar were his regulars.

Turns out they have $2 bloody mary's during certain times (lucky for me) and he even pulled out a menu and helped us make our menu selections for the restaurant (which was our next stop).

I can't tell you the last time I sat down at a bar for the first time and felt at home. Yes I can, it was July 6th, 2014, the day we stopped in here.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JimFromLakeland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    3
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“OK”
Reviewed July 6, 2014

Staff were very friendly and eager to please. The live music was great. Beer was cold. Hot Dogs good.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fritz_Kloepfel, Public Relations Manager at Rick's Reef Beachside, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Susan S,

Thank you so much for taking the time to do a review of Rick's Reef Beachside. We appreciate your feedback!

It sounds like you had an excellent experience, with our staff "very friendly and eager to please." And you mentioned live music, which you indicate was great. We're so glad you were having fun.

And the Beer was cold, and the Hot Dog's good, so it seems like we're doing just what we, at Rick's Reef Beachside, want to do, offer you a terrific place to enjoy the beach in a friendly and relaxed atmosphere.

But we are striving to make EVERYONE's experience Excellent, and we wonder why your titled your review OK, and only offered a "Very Good" rating. How could we have made it Excellent? What could we do better, to improve your experience?

We hope you'll visit us again, and when you do we hope you'll tell us in person what we could do to improve, as we want the next review to be titled "Fabulous" and to be rated "Excellent!"

We hope to see you soon at Rick's Reef Beachside!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, Minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Relaxing”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

We stayed at Plaza Beach Resort in May and Rick's Reef Beachside opened while we were there. The owner (Rick) and the other bartender (Chris) were very nice and very informative. They had cold drinks and were going to get food soon but didn't have it yet as they were just opening. It was so nice to enjoy a drink right along the beach and at our resort. Laid back area with good company. They asked about our stay and we got talking about fishing and they introduced us to a guy that ended up taking us out fishing and we had a blast. They did not need to provide the service they did but they were just genuine people who helped us out and we had a great time. Bar was affordable and fun and can't wait to go back. We also tried Rick's main restaurant which was also very good and I will write a separate review on that.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmetto, Florida
1 review
“beach hide away”
Reviewed June 27, 2014

What a great place to sit and relax ! The view is fantastic and the beer is ice cold. We went with another couple and all of us agreed that the fish spread was the best we had ever had. The bartender was very nice and helpful with local information. I would recomend this stop to anyone.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Joe b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Pete Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cold Beer White Sandy Beach”
Reviewed June 26, 2014

This is a great Tikki Hut for ice cold beer and great views of St Pete Beach. You can watch a sun set everyday. The bartender is always friendly. Try one of their frozen drinks. Very good!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Randy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rick's Reef Beachside also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing