We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must See the Tank!”
Review of RumFish Grill

RumFish Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
RumFish Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #43 of 153 Restaurants in St. Pete Beach
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American, Caribbean, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: RumFish Grill at Guy Harvey Outpost offers a fully immersive experience where visitors can eat, drink, shop and explore. The restaurant's main attraction is a 33,500 gallon aquarium featured on Animal Planet's hit series, "Tanked." Dine on cutting edge seafood, explore the tanks, enjoy nightly live entertainment with indoor and outdoor bars, and shop the 2,200 square foot retail store, carrying the largest selection of Guy Harvey merchandise and marine art in the area. You can even dive in the tank and participate in our Swim with the Fishes snorkeling program. Serving lunch, dinner and a late night menu.
Reviewed July 18, 2014

The restaurant was gorgeous with the tank providing a lovely blue glow all along the back wall. The menu was upscale, and the food we had was very good: grilled swordfish w/forbidden rice and pureed leeks (4 stars out of 5, the swordfish steak was very good, but the black rice and puree were just OK...needed more flavor maybe?), ribeye w/broccolini and mashed potatoes (3 stars out of 5 - the ribeye was a bit fatty, but the sides were excellent) , grouper w/risotto(4 stars out of 5 - risotto was a bit starchy, grouper was amazing) and tuna (4 stars out of 5 - tuna was nice and spicy, but the greens it was served with had had better days). We were there for my daughter's birthday and they sat us right by the tank for our special occasion! Our server was delightful and offered good recommendations on the food. Highly suggest making reservations for dinner. Definitely a "destination" restaurant and it was fun to shop in the Guy Harvey store after dinner.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SafetyHarborLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,471)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,324 - 2,328 of 2,471 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

We were excited to visit the new Guy Harvey restaurant after hearing excellent reviews about it's decor. The decor reviews were right but unfortunately the food was very subpar. It was bland and unimaginative Very disappointed with a lost opportunity for a great meal in a very pleasant atmosphere.


    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank PMD1037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RumFish-Manager, General Manager at RumFish Grill, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2014

PMD1037

Thank you for taking time to reach out to us. We appreciate you taking the time to give us feedback. I would like to speak with you about what you ordered so we can address anything that is needed for a particular menu item. Have a great week and I am looking forward to hearing from you.

Aaron
727-329-1430

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

Went for a drink and was flabbergasted by the price gouging! My wife had a 12 oz margarita and it was $11.00 for cheap tequila. The service was horrible as we were about to walk out because the bartender failed to recognize us after we ordered. Go to Rick's Reef down the road for a MUCH BETTER 16 oz margarita for $4.00 and friendly service.

1  Thank Benjamin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2014

Ok, the restaurant, fish tank, decor is outstanding....the food not so much. We were so disappointed with our lunch. All basis are there, just make tasty food would you? The presentation was very nice but the flavors of the food were just not there. I had the 'grilled tandoori chicken'...absolutely nothing tandoori about it except its color. My mum had the 'fried chicken' which was so oily (and she is still looking for the raisin marmalade that came with it) she couldn't eat it. My daughter did enjoy her pork sliders though. The manager did come over and wanted to know about our experience...we did get the impression that other people had the same thoughts as us. She did try and make amends to us...offering free desserts (we declined) and free appetizers if we were to come back. She is doing her job. Just please hire a new chef.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jen22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RumFish-Manager, General Manager at RumFish Grill, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2014

Jen

Thank you for your comments. When you have time please give me a call to discuss your lunch experience. Thank you for your time in advance.

Aaron
727-329-1430

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2014

Went there with a large group ( they were great in getting us in) and close the fish tank which which was great for the little one's in our group.

The daily drink specials were creative, well flavored and quite good according to the all that were in our group.

Appetizers provided solid choices and were delivered on time and were quite good. The ahi tacos, crispy squid, baby inceberg salad and crab bisque all seemed to be quite popular among our group.

Dinner alas was a bit off the mark. The swordfish was over cooked and quite dry and when paired with the forbidden rice made it even more dry.

Both of the NY Strips ordered med rare both came out well done and the local grouper picatta was a bit lacking in flavor.

The wait staff did a great job (took the over cooked steaks back and returned with new one's cooked properly) and worked to take care of our group and make sure everyone was happy.

Overall the restaurant offers a fun vibe, the staff works hard, and the menu selection is solid. I will say though for the price for the main courses there should be more attention to detail.

1  Thank Hutty69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RumFish-Manager, General Manager at RumFish Grill, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2014

Thank you for visiting us with your large group! We are pleased that you enjoyed your experience with us at RumFish Grill and that our staff took great care of you. The ahi tacos, crispy squid, baby iceberg salad and crab bisque are favorites of mine as well. We do strive for perfection and apologize for your steaks not being prepare correctly the first time. We will also look into the flavor and preparation of the seafood that you mentioned. Thank you again and please feel free to reach out to me in the future.

Aaron
727-329-1428

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed RumFish Grill also viewed

 
St. Pete Beach, FL
St. Pete Beach, FL
 
St. Pete Beach, FL
St. Pete Beach, FL
 

Been to RumFish Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing