We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay Somewhere Else.”

Sundial Beach Motel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sundial Beach Motel
Ranked #31 of 32 Hotels in St. Pete Beach
Reviewed March 6, 2010

Talk about False Advertising! They claim to be "voted cleanest motel in St. Pete Beach." I'd REALLY like to see the people who voted! It was old, dirty, bare minimum furniture which was uncomfortable. I specifically made sure the room was non-smoking, but outside EVERY room is a table, 2 chairs, and an ashtray. The woman next to us stayed outside all day and smoked, so it all came in our door. The neighborhood was horrible. We heard fighting behind us on more than one occassion, and one night heard a gunshot. The kitchen was nasty, the phone had chunks of crap on the earpiece and mouthpiece. It took me an hour with antibacterial wipes just to feel remotely okay there. Now I know why it was so cheap.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank MGfamilyofthree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (13)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 13 reviews

Reviewed April 28, 2009

We totally enjoyed our 3 week stay at the sundial and have already booked it for next year.The staff were very helpful and the rooms were nice(older but well kept and more than adequate).The location is excellent. It is less than a 5 minute walk to beach.Close to great restaurants. Everyone staying there were so friendly and happy and most come there every year so we are looking forward to seeing them next year.Best value that we have found in St.Pete beach..

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jenNewfoundland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2008

...my wife and I have been coming here for several years and as far as the location, it is not in a bad location. In fact it is ideal for there is no treaffic and your walking or biking distance from everything, even the trolly...the rooms are above average, but if you intend to spend the entire time in the room, I would stay elsewhere.
However, we ran into a problem when the owner leased to another and our reservation was never excepted by the lease owner, then it went back to the orignal owner and he would not give us credit for our deposit...it happened twice.
I would stay there again only if the current owner redeems our deposit...

  • Stayed: January 2003, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank BSG1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2008

pool was green. I didnt feel safe. the carpet made my feet dirty.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank stpetefan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2008

Run down motel in marginal location. Dirty. Walk across floor and your feet look like you stepped in tar. AC old and noisy- had to turn it off to go to sleep. No maid service during stay. Have to drive to beach - it's so far away.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank preston999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2008

In "marginal area". Don't go out after dark. It is not safe. Motel old- tear it down like Yankee Stadium. Room dirty - had to wash feet after walking on carpet .. it was like walking on tar. .. Room tired .. a/c so old the compressors "woke the dead" each time they "kicked on". Had to turn them off and open windows in order to sleep. There was NO room service on the weekend .. UNREAL. Have never been to a motel where beds were not made and bathrooms restocked over the weekend. Had to "get" towels myself from storage. .. toilet paper too ...

Finally .. the place is NO WHERE near the beach. UNREAL #2. Have to get into car to go swimming.

GO TO OTHER MOTELS....

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank mazolia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2007

Prime spot for enjoying the best beach in Florida and to watch great sunsets. Walk to shopping district, hip restaurants and cathch a movie at the historic art deco landmark, St. Pete Beach Theatre . So much fun, felt like a kid again. Comfortable, very clean rooms and nice pool, I'll be back!

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Pinellas-Resident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Pete Beach hotels
1.7 mi away
Miramar Beach Resort
Miramar Beach Resort
#27 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
84 reviews
1.3 mi away
Dolphin Beach Resort
Dolphin Beach Resort
#21 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
1,028 reviews
0.6 mi away
Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - ST. Pete Beach FL
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
St Pete Beach Suites
St Pete Beach Suites
#3 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
436 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Don CeSar
The Don CeSar
#6 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
3,938 reviews
1 mi away
Sirata Beach Resort
Sirata Beach Resort
#13 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4,349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sundial Beach Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sundial Beach Motel

Address: 7201 Sunset Way, St. Pete Beach, FL 33706-3631
Location: United States > Florida > St. Pete Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#25 On the Beach Hotel in St. Pete Beach
Price Range: $75 - $91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Sundial Beach Motel 1*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sundial Beach Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sundial Beach Hotel Saint Pete Beach
Sundial Beach Motel St. Pete Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing