We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“~~~ Great Location, but Lacking in Amenities ~~”
Review of Keystone Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in St. Pete Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Keystone Motel
Ranked #23 of 32 Hotels in St. Pete Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 13, 2013

Beautiful beach, great weather, a clean and tidy motel originally built in 1945. Room rates change very little over the years. The best part of the room is we kept the door open and the opposing window and we would get a wonderful refreshing gulf breeze. This motel, however, is not for everyone.
* No confirming email upon making a reservation.
* Wifi signal is weak.
* No ice on the premises (go next door).
* No manager on duty at night (what if the toliet got clogged up?).
* Very small bathroom in our room (see photo).
* No breakfast (go to Seahorse cafe), no coffee.
* Only 2 small bars of soap. One day received no soap from housekeeping.
* No clock radio in room.
* No fitness center (go to beach).
* Note: noise on both sides of motel; street and Hurricane Restaurant patio.
Basically the amenities are what you'd get some 40 years ago in a motel. Life is slower and simple in Pass-a-Grille, and that fits some people, but not others.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank jwprice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeystoneGM, Manager at Keystone Motel, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Thank you for your review and we are glad you enjoyed our quaint, historic piece of paradise. Our apologies for any inconvenience you may have experienced with us & do hope you allow us the opportunity to accommodate you in the future. We do our best to ensure each guest has a wonderful experience & especially if they are brought to our attention during a specific stay. Thank you for providing your feedback & hope to have you back in paradise sometime soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (150)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 150 reviews

Reviewed November 1, 2013

Stayed for two nights in a two bedroom family room. There was four adults in our party and had plenty of room. It was very clean and all the staff were very friendly and helpful. Ideally located for your stay at the beach. Would highly recommend the motel and surrounding area for a perfect stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gbsurfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeystoneGM, Manager at Keystone Motel, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Thank you kindly for taking the time to review our family owned property. We hope to have the pleasure of accommodating you in the future. It's our extreme pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your time here in Historic Pass-A-Grille.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We stayed in 201, which has two bedrooms. Both beds are full size, which may be small for some. Also, you have to pass through the first bedroom to get to the second. And the AC is only in the first bedroom, so you have to keep the door open between the two. Cleaning service is excellent, as is the view from the main bedroom. Furniture is nice and well maintained, but the supplies (kitchen) are sparse. The location cant be beat, except if you need to go to the supermarket. Then you need to take the trolley or your car.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GypsyTraveller94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

You see a beautiful view from your porch. Which is a good thing because if you want to access your internet, you need to sit out there and get one bar if you are lucky. We never had Internet in room. This is a major flaw as far as we are concerned. It's very easy for owners to buy extenders instead of having all the guests sit outside their room on their iPads and lap tops! And even then, it's hit or miss.

The room does not have shampoo or coffee maker or hangers for the closet. It's bare bones

The hotel itself is next to a loud tacky touristy restaurant

St petes is fun to visit once but it super tiny and not much to do. Very laid back. We used it as base to go to shows in st Petersburg and kayaking north of tampa. We did find two very nice restaurants that were not over priced fried food. The tapas place around the corner and the veggie place!

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Barbara45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

My husband and I have stayed at the Keystone Motel 3 times now and have had a great time. You have a great resturant next door and across the street. There is a nice breakfast spot in walking distance that had good food. A little high for breakfast though. If we go to Florida again, we will stay at the Keystone. It is so quiet there and if you want noise you just have to drive up the street a ways

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nicki c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

I live in north central Florida and have been coming down to the Keystone Motel in Pass-A-Grille for about 12 years. Lovely area, friendly family run business, clean rooms and sparkling pool. Everything within walking distance. Always a nice time!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SwimBabe2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

I normally stay at the major chain hotels when I travel, but I ventured out to this gem during a stay for a Triathlon & I'm glad I did. I read a few reviews and I picked it based on those reviews. Much like the other reviews the location was prime. We arrived as spring break was ending in April, so we didn't see the crowds. Having no breakfast service was fine because we got it next door at Hurricane's. I will advise to be careful at breakfast at the Hurricane next door because when you look at the hotel's 2nd level there is a small window into the shower of one of the rooms. During our breakfast sitting at the Hurricane, one guy made sure everyone 'down below' knew he was 'showering'. Nothing to be concerned about & I chalk that up to the guest, not the hotel.

Walking across the street to the beach and having eating/great drinking near by made this place primo!!

**ASK for a parking pass from Hotel personnel** I think the city parking attendants get paid on commission!

Pool area has that 'Melrose Place' feel to it but without all the drama!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MichaelK614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Pete Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Havana Inn
Havana Inn
#17 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
102 reviews
0.1 mi away
Coconut Inn
Coconut Inn
#2 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
686 reviews
2.4 mi away
Dolphin Beach Resort
Dolphin Beach Resort
#21 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
1,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sabal Palms Inn
Sabal Palms Inn
#4 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
637 reviews
0.5 mi away
Camelot by the Sea
Camelot by the Sea
#10 of 14 in St. Pete Beach
45 reviews
0.4 mi away
Island's End Resort
Island's End Resort
#4 of 6 in St. Pete Beach
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Keystone Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Keystone Motel

Address: 801 Gulf Way, St. Pete Beach, FL, St. Pete Beach, FL 33706-4218
Location: United States > Florida > St. Pete Beach
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#21 On the Beach Hotel in St. Pete Beach
Number of rooms: 34
Also Known As:
Keystone Hotel Saint Pete Beach
Keystone Motel St. Pete Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing