We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place”
Review of Keystone Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in St. Pete Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Keystone Motel
Ranked #23 of 32 Hotels in St. Pete Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Perry, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very nice place”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

My husband and I have stayed at the Keystone Motel 3 times now and have had a great time. You have a great resturant next door and across the street. There is a nice breakfast spot in walking distance that had good food. A little high for breakfast though. If we go to Florida again, we will stay at the Keystone. It is so quiet there and if you want noise you just have to drive up the street a ways

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nicki c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    56
    13
    12
    12
See reviews for
51
50
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

I live in north central Florida and have been coming down to the Keystone Motel in Pass-A-Grille for about 12 years. Lovely area, friendly family run business, clean rooms and sparkling pool. Everything within walking distance. Always a nice time!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SwimBabe2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

I normally stay at the major chain hotels when I travel, but I ventured out to this gem during a stay for a Triathlon & I'm glad I did. I read a few reviews and I picked it based on those reviews. Much like the other reviews the location was prime. We arrived as spring break was ending in April, so we didn't see the crowds. Having no breakfast service was fine because we got it next door at Hurricane's. I will advise to be careful at breakfast at the Hurricane next door because when you look at the hotel's 2nd level there is a small window into the shower of one of the rooms. During our breakfast sitting at the Hurricane, one guy made sure everyone 'down below' knew he was 'showering'. Nothing to be concerned about & I chalk that up to the guest, not the hotel.

Walking across the street to the beach and having eating/great drinking near by made this place primo!!

**ASK for a parking pass from Hotel personnel** I think the city parking attendants get paid on commission!

Pool area has that 'Melrose Place' feel to it but without all the drama!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MichaelK614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Illinois, United States
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

What more could you ask for...located right across the street from the gulf and beautiful sandy beaches, right next door to a decent restaurant and a great pool. Watching the sunsets on the beach are awesome! I have come here since I was young, but I have to say that this time I was disappointed. While they have made several improvements; new paint on the outside, and remodeled several bathrooms, our beds were hard and our pillows like bricks. Our place had an air conditioner aimed right at the bed; it had to cool bedroom and the living area. In order to do that you had to keep the bedroom pretty frigid, which made sleeping difficult. Furniture was in good condition, but wasn't comfortable. While the woman who worked the front desk was very friendly and helpful, the man wasn't nearly as friendly. I will still go here, for location and the memories, but won't stay on third floor!

Room Tip: Apartments are usually more comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LovesTravel524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mendota, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We recently spent two days on the sunny shores of Pass-A-Grille Beach at the south end of St. Pete Beach in June. We opted to stay at the Keystone Motel since we wanted to stay in Pass-A-Grille and there were no other locations available. We had some concerns due to the variety of reviews but I am glad to report that the Keystone was a nice place to visit for our two-day stay. The motel is a motel and one should not expect a top end hotel. The room we were offered was large and included a full kitchen, dining room area, living room area and a bedroom. Our two children each had their own beds and it was clean. The real selling point on the Keystone is its central location at the heart of Pass-A-Grille Beach. The motel is flanked by two restaurants, a variety of shops in the quaint downtown of Pass-A-Grille and the beautiful beach and Gulf of Mexico are located just across the street. The sunsets from the pool deck and surrounding area are worth it alone. A short block away is the well known Seahorse Restaurant and the Merry Pier, which is a good locale for fishing and charter trips on the Miss Pass-A-Grille. Best of all, the Keystone provides a free parking pass for those staying at the motel, which is critical since beach parking can be at a premium at times. Overall, we had a very positive experience at the Keystone.

Room Tip: The one bedroom apartment was very nice on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Toobs1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Great little place to stay while wanting casual relaxing time at the beach. Right in the heart of Pas-A-Grille , Fl. You can walk to get a cup of coffee , dining & a cocktail. It is on the beach with many great restaurants. Paradise Grill is across the street & they have live entertainment nightly & on weekends artist selling their artwork. Enjoy

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palm springs, ca
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013

This was our second (and probably last) visit to the Keystone. Last May (2012) was pleasant enough so we decided to return this past week for four days. The room on the second floor was seedy with mismatched furniture etc. However the room was never cleaned once during our four day stay. The bathtub had almost as much sand as the beach by the time we left and I don't think that the motel even owns a vacuum.

The problem is the management. No one seems to give a darn. I told an older woman at the front desk about the lack of housekeeping (in response to her question on our stay). She said that she had never been told of this before. I suggested at she get "get off her duff" and go walk around the property.

No one is available from about 5PM until the next morning supposedly at 9:30 in the morning. I waited until almost 10 to check out since the young lady who was to open the office was 30 minutes or so late. Her excuse "they are on Florida time".

While the location is great and the prices are cheap, I must correct the young lady mentioned above. She is operating on a different planet, not Florida time!

Room Tip: Until they clean up their act go elsewhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dag144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Pete Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Havana Inn
Havana Inn
#18 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
97 reviews
0.1 mi away
Coconut Inn
Coconut Inn
#3 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
679 reviews
2.0 mi away
Miramar Beach Resort
Miramar Beach Resort
#28 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sabal Palms Inn
Sabal Palms Inn
#4 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
631 reviews
0.5 mi away
Camelot by the Sea
Camelot by the Sea
#11 of 14 in St. Pete Beach
44 reviews
0.3 mi away
Inn on the Beach
Inn on the Beach
#1 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Keystone Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Keystone Motel

Property: Keystone Motel
Address: 801 Gulf Way, St. Pete Beach, FL, St. Pete Beach, FL 33706-4218
Location: United States > Florida > St. Pete Beach
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#21 On the Beach Hotel in St. Pete Beach
Number of rooms: 34
Also Known As:
Keystone Hotel Saint Pete Beach
Keystone Motel St. Pete Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing