We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Wedding”
Review of Keystone Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in St. Pete Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Keystone Motel
Ranked #23 of 32 Hotels in St. Pete Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Panama City, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect Wedding”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

While living in Tampa we escaped to the Keystone for a romantic night. Our budget was tight and this was at the top.. We knew it was old style but were willing to deal with the age and accomodations. What we didn't realize until staying there was that it is by far the best place to unwind and relax. We returned many times, even got the same room repeatedly, which we now refer to as "Our Room".
Fast forward 5 years to January 2013. Most of the hotel has been updated. New beds, flat screen TV's, some of the baths redone, they were even painting the exterior while we were there. We booked 8 rooms for 4 days, some for just 2 people, and 2 others with kitchens and living spaces, to host our wedding. It was absolute perfection. I know our families were initially hesitant to stay in an older hotel but all were delighted and told us they now understood why we had said the Keystone was such a special place.
Mary aked me several times during our stay if everything was alright and seemed geniunely concerned that we were as comfortable as possible. We even presented them with the ultimate bad guest challenge when we discovered we had locked both of our keys in our room after the reception. It was late, we called, and within minutes someone arrived with a key, AND she was very pleasant about the inconvenience.
Are they old style? Let's say it is a throw back to a gentler time. It's easy. Leave your worries at home, take a deep breath, and prepare yourself to be treated like a valued guest as you enjoy the most relaxed visit you could ever experience.
Thank you Mary, we will come back again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LoveItalian27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    56
    13
    12
    12
See reviews for
51
50
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Stayed for a week with my girlfriend. We shared a motel style room with two beds and a bathroom.

Overall we had a nice experience and would recommend this place to our friends, especially considering the price - you get what you pay for.

Positive

+ Great people in reception
+ Great beach-front location
+ Renovated bath-rooms
+ Nice pool

Negative

- Really nasty carpet in room, rip it out and put in tiles or wooden floors
- Room would need a refrigerator and some kind of wardrobe
- Insufficiently soundproof, you could hear clearly what was going on in other rooms
- Room service only made the beds two out of six nights

Room Tip: We had room 209 - pool and beach view, so I can recommend that
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TobieOne1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boonton, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nts late December. Great beachfront location. Very friendly and accommodating staff.
Standard room was clean, nice size shower. Room was dated but good value for beachfront with views.
Bed not so comfy. Internet had good connectivity & speed. Would stay again but would prefer a kitchenette.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank RobinK86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for a night ! Lovely owners and great location on the beach road with bars and places to eat next door!
Has its own pool and sun beds.
Rooms are clean with tv and basic bathroom facilities.
We paid 100$ for the night as price reflects location and also provided us with a parking permit so we could par overnight and throughout the day so we could stay on the beach.
Hotel has an affiliation with the hurricane restaurant next door to offer discount on lunch or dinner !

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Beth0910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We have stayed here several times and are never disappointed. A very clean and quite place...an older hotel that captures my memories of childhood. Some of the most beautiful beaches just a step away. Very kind to us and allowed us to check in in early and we were also allowed to check out late. Room 304 also had a GORGEOUS view of the ocean. it was great to make meals and save some money and be able to enjoy more time on the beach.

Room Tip: higher floors have a GREAT ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Heather R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shady Hills, FL
Level 6 Contributor
75 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

A Couple Days at the Keystone Beach Motel at Pass ‘A Grille Beach—south Saint Pete Beach
What’s more fun than spending a couple days in the Florida sunshine, walking on a quiet beach, going for a swim in a clean refreshing pool, eating yummy foods and watching the sunset from a rooftop?
Phil and I did spent a couple days last week at the Keystone Beach Motel, in Pass ‘A Grille, a small community with a tiny downtown at the south end of Saint Pete Beach. The weather was mostly free of rain and with a cool breeze sweeping in from the Gulf Of Mexico. This beach is one of my favorites in the state. This visit, we saw several sea turtle’s nests. I would love to be there when the eggs hatch and the babies hurry to the gulf waters. And, while walking the beach to gather shells, I threw half-a-dozen back to the water because they had live critters inside. A wonderful sight to see.
Our stay at the Keystone Motel, a long-time-family-owned facility, was pleasant; as it always is. We have come to know the owners over the last few years; they are animal and bird lovers—which is great at the beach, as most establishment owners ask us not to feed the birds. But, guess what, they are often seen out on the sidewalk pitching bread out for our feathered friends. Blackie, the motel cat, doesn’t seem to pay this any attention. I do with the motel had an ice machine and soda machine; as it is, visitors much go to the Hurricane Restaurant and Lounge (next door & owned by the same family) for ice and fountain sodas from the lounge are $2.50—a little much, in my opinion.
We ate at several places on the beach. The Seahorse food was wonderful and breakfast at the Hurricane was quite inexpensive. For lunch, we drove a short distance north to Saint Pete Beach to the Ted Peters Famous Smoked Fish; good food and quite an interesting preparation procedure.
Walking through historical Pass ‘A Grille (one block wide from the gulf to the bay) makes for an exciting adventure, as the quaint shops offer much art, a business where the owner makes gold jewelry, antiques, local bars and restaurants.
A must is watching the sunset from atop the Hurricane, a restaurant, lounge, and dance hall all combined.
I hope this beach review helps you in preparing for you visit to Pass ‘A Grille Beach.

Room Tip: The facility needs to install an ice and soda machine. Soap is available in the bathrooms but you mu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank patricia l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Springs, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

we have stayed at the Keystone many times now and it is the only place we'll stay in Pass A Grille. This time we decided on a room with a kitchenette which was much better than eating at one of the few high-priced mediocre restaurants. Our room had beautiful views of the Gulf from both the living and bedroom windows. Bathroom was nicely renovated, atmosphere great. The Gulf and Bay are just steps away. Owner Mary is a sweet gal who makes you feel welcome. We arrived early and were able to check in and did a late check-out so our Labor Day Weekend was extended. We requested a fan and one was brought up within 10 minutes. As usual, the folks at Keystone made our vacation a memorable one. Cant wait to go back

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rosegrundy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Pete Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Havana Inn
Havana Inn
#17 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
97 reviews
0.1 mi away
Coconut Inn
Coconut Inn
#3 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
679 reviews
2.0 mi away
Miramar Beach Resort
Miramar Beach Resort
#28 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sabal Palms Inn
Sabal Palms Inn
#4 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
631 reviews
0.5 mi away
Camelot by the Sea
Camelot by the Sea
#11 of 14 in St. Pete Beach
44 reviews
0.3 mi away
Inn on the Beach
Inn on the Beach
#1 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Keystone Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Keystone Motel

Property: Keystone Motel
Address: 801 Gulf Way, St. Pete Beach, FL, St. Pete Beach, FL 33706-4218
Location: United States > Florida > St. Pete Beach
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#21 On the Beach Hotel in St. Pete Beach
Number of rooms: 34
Also Known As:
Keystone Hotel Saint Pete Beach
Keystone Motel St. Pete Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing