We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent but not #1” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cafe Luna Bistro - CLOSED

Cafe Luna Bistro
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $28
Cuisines: American, European, Wine Bar, Italian, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Cozy bistro dining in the heart of St.Pete Beach, serving the freshest seafood & steaks. Eclectic menu to suit all tastes. Casual/upscale, with soft lighting & low music, perfect for a relaxed night out.
La Grange, Illinois
Level Contributor
88 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Excellent but not #1”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

My wife and I both had the Grouper Picatta and it was very good. Service was fine, all the good was good and it's a nice place. WE didn't have any complaints we just thought Snapper's down the street is a little bit better.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank windycityart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

485 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    372
    65
    30
    16
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Irmo, South Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The best in town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

My advice is to order anything on the menu, but not fried. The food is way too flavorful to change it by frying. Grease is good for hiding off tasting foods, but does nothing for good food.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank raymondathome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good Food, but Snappers is my #1 choice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

We had a great meal at Cafe Luna. This was our first choice and dined there our first night away. The service was friendly and helpful, and the food a B+. I got the chicken Picatta and my husband the Mahi Mahi. I usually go for seafood, but the chicken was a great choice. My husband said that his fish resembled a "fish finger" as it was fried and breaded in a similar way. We weren't blown out of the water by this place, but definitely a place to check out for a decent meal. Personally, I liked Snapper's better and it was similar in price. Two advantages of Cafe Luna: Gluten-free friendly (i.e. the chef made a special dessert and prepared the French Onion soup seperately for me to accomodate my gluten sensitivty -- very nice!) and you could make a reservation where at Snappers you cannot.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Julia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Level Contributor
96 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“mediocre at best”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

we had heard good things about this cafe but we went for valentines day and were disappointed.
i first judge a place by the bread which was nothing special, the dishes were just ok and we all had something different. the caesar salad tasted like it was from a grocery store, and snapper, not cheap, was ok, and had a very fishy taste. would not rush back or recommend to others.
we know good food and this is not it.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank getofftheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
52 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

We had read that this was the No 1 rated restaurant in the area so we were a little disappointed. The staff were friendly and very professional. However the food was not exceptional. My wife had a chicken dish where she found the chicken tough and the mash inedible. My snapper was acceptable.

The restaurant was busy and maybe we were just unlucky on the night.

Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Luna Bistro also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing