We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Old school charm” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bon Aire Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in St. Pete Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bon Aire Resort
Ranked #9 of 32 Hotels in St. Pete Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Old school charm”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

Picked the Bon Aire as half of our party had stayed here 20 odd years earlier and after reading the many reviews on Trip Advisor. It really is a picture perfect, old style motel, right on the beach and straight out of a 50's or 60's movie set. Reception right out front and the rooms flanking either side of the central car parking area with the pool to the rear and the Tiki Bar, beach and the ocean beyond. The location is stunning, St Pete Beach really is incredible and although it blew a gale for the two days that we stayed there we still enjoyed strolling along the beach, even though we couldn't lay on it. Pool area is quite small but about average for the size of the property. The rooms that we had ( two adults in one and two adults and one teen in the other ) were clean and tidy but did seem old fashioned and in need of refurbishment. Having said that it did rather add to the charm of of the Bon Aire but it may not suit everybodys taste if they are used to staying in a more contemporary accomodation. A great stay in a beautiful part of the world.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank ChrisandNicki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    109
    37
    6
    6
See reviews for
147
129
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Ocala
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

It's not a chain motel/resort, It's family owned. Very clean,fresh and updated rooms,friendliest staff I've come across in along time.Right on the beach,it's a short walk to the waters edge,and great seating for some Outstanding sunsets..There's a Tiki Bar beachside ,ice cold beer,great mixed drinks and sandwiches.Walking distance to some great local eateries..Usually stay bay-side ,in order to bring boat,will be leaving the boat home some and come here now.

Room Tip: Look at the room descriptions and map provided,on their site, this is an older facility, but you won...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OcalaBourbon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plant City, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

Perfect hotel right on the beach! Great tiki bar that serves a very nice variety of food items, all good! Publix nearby, great Italian bakery across the street and Italian restaurant. Easy and relaxing!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank suecgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

We go to the Bon Aire every year. This year we brought 16 friends with us and they all loved it. This hotel is not a big chain hotel, it is family run. It is right on the beach and has a tiki bar on premises with good food and drinks! You really cannot find a better hotel on the beach for the price. We love the staff, especially Theresa, Jackie, Richard, Jenna, Leslie, and of course, Hot Alex.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dianedulaney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beech grove,in
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

We enjoy the Bon Aire year after year. The staff is great and we feel like family. The view of the beach is the best, and dont forget to try a burger at Sand Bar Bill's.

Buddy and Lori Templin
Beech Grove, IN

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank budtemplin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

After reading many good reviews about the Bon Aire, we decided to give it a try. It is an old place but has been kept up pretty well. Our room was clean and large, although not worth the money that was spent per night. You could see sunlight through the front door and the doors within the room didn't want to shut easily. The pools are nice and the hamburgers are really good at the bar. It is definitely a party place, so if you are looking for somewhere quiet, I wouldn't suggest staying here. But that didn't bother us at all. Here is why I would never stay here again. The customer service is atrocious. The only good service we encountered was the bartender during the day and the night time clerk. The day time clerks were rude and not helpful at all. It was as if we were bothering them and didn't care at all about anything we said. The hotel industry is a customer service industry. Apparently, the office people didn't get the memo. It is unfortunate, because I think this place would be a neat place to go back too - if you don't mind an older style motel and people who like to party.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Petersburg FL
Level Contributor
61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

I have been frequenting the Bon Aire for years as a local. Now that we have moved away I cherish short visits back. I am never disappointed and hope to return again, as often as possible. This family-run business has several long-time staff, like Jackie & Leslie, who greet you like old friends. Since the passing of owner Bill, the Curotto family has been intently focused on keeping the hotel a welcoming spot on beautiful St. Pete Beach. I have brought many friends, and made dear friends along the way to this family owned and run locale. I can't imagine staying anywhere else. There is a reason visitors return year after year. -L.Eckart, Brooksville, FL

Room Tip: Any room is a short walk to the pool, beach or tiki bar. Choose what works for your budget.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Seelye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Pete Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
Dolphin Beach Resort
Dolphin Beach Resort
#21 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 893 reviews
0.6 mi away
Loews Don CeSar Hotel
Loews Don CeSar Hotel
#7 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,113 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bayview Plaza Waterfront Resort
Bayview Plaza Waterfront Resort
#17 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort
0.2 mi away
Beach House Suites by Loews Don CeSar
0.8 mi away
TradeWinds Island Grand Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bon Aire Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bon Aire Resort

Property: Bon Aire Resort
Address: 4350 Gulf Blvd, St. Pete Beach, FL 33706-3831
Location: United States > Florida > St. Pete Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#7 Family Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#7 On the Beach Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#11 Romantic Hotel in St. Pete Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bon Aire Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Also Known As:
Bon Aire Hotel Saint Pete Beach
Hotel Bon Aire
Bon Aire Resort St. Pete Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing