We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You'd better believe it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Gulf Tides Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in St. Pete Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gulf Tides Inn
Ranked #6 of 32 Hotels in St. Pete Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Winscombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
146 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“You'd better believe it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

It's small, not in a posh neighbourhood, near a very busy road so how can it possibly get such good reviews? Trust this Englishman, TripAdvisor ratings are usually accurate and we were once more proved right to stay here. Small is beautiful, most often and with only 10 rooms, "Rochdale Dave" a fellow countryman and his wife, Adele, are able to ensure that everything about your room is just right. Being slghtly "up" the beach from some of the slicker looking hotels means that the beach (only 3 minutes and 200 metres away) is unspoilt and usually free to roam with only a few people for company. Being near the "main drag" means you're near some good eateries (Beverley's for just the BEST breakfast, Woody's for a value meal by the water and Cafe Luna for a more formal informal dinner!) but with no interruption to your sleep. You honestly do NOT notice traffic despite the location. We took a room capable of sleeping 6 (2 doubles + a sofa-bed in the living area). Spotlessly clean, you'd think you've walked into a $300/night apartment! Don't ask "why does this cost so much?" - rather "why so little?"! There's a lovely pool which we didn't have time to use and Dave wants you to enjoy your stay so tell him what you need and pick his brains for what to go and see; you'll be unlikely to get a much better welcome elsewhere.

Room Tip: #9 is a good one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Busmantoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    324
    32
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
122
167
19
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tennessee
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

Believe all the reviews. This is a wonderful place. We have stayed in the apartment and the efficiency - both are great. All rooms are clean. They open onto the pool. There is a gas grill and many tables with chairs and umbrellas. It is privately owned and the family that runs it is very nice! We used the gas grill for chops one night. They have beach chairs so you do not have to lug yours from home. The beach is a short walk or you can drive and pay at the meter. People are very friendly but will leave you alone if you want privacy. We stayed In August 2013. I just made a reservation for the first week of June 2014. Prices are extremely reasonable. I know this will be our home away from home from now on. Rick's Reef is in front of Gulf Tides. It is an nice informal place to dine if you do not want to cook. A great place at a great price!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank belindai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013

I was the very first person to review this lovely inn and 9 years later I can tell you it's as great as ever!
Dave and Adele are helpful, friendly, warm hosts, Natalia is brilliant at keeping the rooms spick and span.
There are numerous bars and restaurants nearby, my husband played 6 different golf courses and all within 30 minutes drive, Seminole being the best value, buggy, lunch and 18 holes, $55!
I can highly recommend a stay here :-)

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yorkshirev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

Stayed here for two nights in an efficiency room. Dave the owner was very welcoming and was forthcoming with some great local information and recommendations. Room was clean and comfortable and all units were set around the heated pool. On request Dave also showed us a one bedroom unit which had a bigger kitchen and a small tub as well as a shower. He also let me use his computer to print out our boarding passes. We enjoyed our stay and hope to return next time we're in the area.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wildbull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mansfield
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

Just spent another 2 great weeks with Dave and the guests at gulf tides and still like staying with family
great huge apartments spotlessly clean as always thanks to daves very hard working cleaner
loved the new refurbished bathrooms
peace quiet great pool lovely people
met up with old friends and new ones
cannot wait to come back
always first class
thanks dave and adele

Room Tip: just ask dave he will tell you all you need with great advice
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tonyb999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

Another fabulous stay with Dave and Adele....This place just gets better and better. Dave and Adele have spruced the pool area up with some lovely planters filled full of flowers and shrubs which really makes the difference when lounging around the pool. As ever, Dave was spot on with his restaurant recommendations and places to go and see. The accommodation as always was spotless and fresh towels and bedding were on hand at regular intervals. Were never disappointed with this little piece of paradise and were all booked up ready for next year !!!

Room Tip: Room 8 is away from the road and gives a great sense of seclusion
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrLex7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Umea, Sweden
Level Contributor
92 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

Lovely motel just a five minutes walk from the Gulf beach. It has 10 rooms all facing a ~12x5m pool (1-2 m/4-7 ft deep). The motel is located on a calm city street. More traffic is on an adjacent street, but the noice is never disturbing. The rooms have a small kitchen, a 32" flat screen TV, and a safe. Restaurants are nearby. The manager is very nice and helpful. The hotel is perfect for couples in any age who want to relax. If you have small kids, please note that the 4-7 ft deep pool is close to the rooms. It was perfect for us. Room 1-3 is facing the afternoon sun, 9-10 is in shadow during the afternoon. I will definitively stay here again.

Room Tip: Room 1-3 is facing the afternoon sun, 9-10 is in shadow during the afternoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank buzztr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Pete Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
St Pete Beach Suites
St Pete Beach Suites
#3 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Don CeSar
The Don CeSar
#8 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,398 reviews
0.4 mi away
Alden Suites
Alden Suites
#13 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Beachcomber Beach Resort & Hotel
Beachcomber Beach Resort & Hotel
#15 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,684 reviews
1.3 mi away
Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort
0.6 mi away
TradeWinds Island Grand Resort
TradeWinds Island Grand Resort
#11 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gulf Tides Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gulf Tides Inn

Property: Gulf Tides Inn
Address: 600 68th Ave, St. Pete Beach, FL 33706
Location: United States > Florida > St. Pete Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#1 Best Value Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#1 Family Hotel in St. Pete Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Gulf Tides Inn. We are a family owned and operated inn located on the beautiful Gulf of Mexico. We offer beautiful apartment suites and efficiencies for your comfort during your stay in Florida. Come and enjoy our wonderful amenities, our large heated pool, free wireless internet, BBQ grill, laundry facilities, free in room safes, hairdryers, complimentary toiletries welcome set and many, many more. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gulf Tides Hotel Saint Pete Beach
Gulf Tides Motel
Gulf Tides Inn St. Pete Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing