We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great weekend at Gulf Gate!”
Review of Gulf Gate Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St. Pete Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gulf Gate Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Madison, Alabama
Level Contributor
163 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Great weekend at Gulf Gate!”
Reviewed May 6, 2014

We stayed four nights this past weekend, and rented five different units for a family trip and graduation. We enjoyed the property very much. Yes, the property is old, and some of the units are better than others. But the pool area and the views of the ocean are fantastic. It's also in a great location, convenient to restaurants, grocery stores, and convenience stores. Also, the staff who work there are very nice and they do care about your vacation. We had two different units that had problems, one a fridge that went out and another that lost hot water. In both cases they were immediately responsive and worked quickly to resolve the issues, in addition to making things whole. Our particular unit was 301, and we loved the layout and the view. The bed was great, and it was well decorated and appointed with all needed items. We enjoyed the Gulf Gate for a great beach vacation, and we will almost definitely return in the future.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank launcher69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    29
    6
    3
    5
See reviews for
57
24
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Menasha, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
180 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2014

The pool area is nice. The beach access and location are great. Unit 401 needs some serious updating. The bed pillows were old, flat and just awful. The mattress wasn't much better. The lighting is poor. The beside lamp was so small and the bulb so dim that I couldn't even read a book in bed. All of the bulbs were dim in the entire unit. Once the shower curtain was closed, the shower was really dark. I had to bring the lamp into the bathroom to put on makeup. I don't know if they're trying to save money with lower watt bulbs, but it was pretty bad. I would not recommend unit 401. Try 403. It's been updated and is much more pleasant.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Samantha484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maritimes
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014

We are a Canadian couple who live in Dunedin in the winter. Spent 25+ years vacationing in SPB and decided to return for the last week of Jan. for a winter beach getaway. Weather was cold, rainy and foggy ...... definitely not beach weather. We had a great time anyway, and even enjoyed 2-3 beach walks. Our unit was just perfect for us. Very clean, well equipped, with a very comfortable bed and 3 recliners! Wifi was very good. We had a small billing glitch during the week, but getting through it was easy. The ladies in the office are very professional (and nice), and it didn't affect my appreciation of Gulf Gate. The location was perfect for walking to a different restaurant every night. This appears to be a well-run property. We are looking forward to returning next year.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GEOFREE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goulds, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Stayed in unit 102 in October. Had a wonderful holiday. The unit had everything you could ask for and if you needed anything such as groceries or places to eat out it was within walking distance. The pool area is well maintained and office staff are very helpful. This unit offers a great view of the beach and we saw some of the most magnificent sunsets during this visit. I have stayed here several times and have found units 102 and 307 to be our favorites. Would highly recommend these.
Jan (Goulds, NL Canada)

Room Tip: Check the web site photos as some units have dated decor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2013

I've stayed in both units 102 & 307 & these units are fantastic. Both units are completely renovated , excellent views and lots of room on the balconies. Super clean, very comfy beds and every comfort you would want. Includes washer & dryers in each unit.There is just about every appliance you need there along 2 large BBQ's to use down by the pool. The beach is clean white sand & the water is always warm!! there's a hot tub there, great pool and numerous beach bars with within walking distance. there's many restaurants within walking distance so no need to drive if you don't want to. I've been there several different times of the year and always a great place to stay. Close to all the shopping you could want but I definitely like the beach where you can rent extra large umbrella's and loungers at a very reasonable price. The staff at Gulf Gates are excellent to deal with & super friendly. This place is great for couples or families!! I don't think there any place as great as on the St. Pete's beach!!

Room Tip: Units 102 is a two bedroom & 2 baths, beautiful. also until 307 is excellent & I've als...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bev m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urbana, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

My sister and I took a quick trip to St. Pete and stayed at Gulf Gate Resort. The location is great, the condo was clean and well equipped and the grounds/pool/spa were very clean. We have another trip booked for Christmas and will stay again. They cost less than the other resorts on St. Pete and is just as nice.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Helen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Ontario
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We usually stay at another complex down the beach, but thought we would try a different place. While the Gulf Gate Resort is older than our usual condo building, the layout and size of our two bedroom gulf front condo was far superior. It is also much quieter than other places along the beach. Great central location, helpful staff, spotless grounds and pool area and what is not to love about that view! The condo unit was fairly well equipped and clean. We have already booked for 2013.

Room Tip: I always recommend beach front. It is worth the extra money in my opinion for such a fantastic view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimberley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Pete Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Dolphin Beach Resort
Dolphin Beach Resort
#21 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
965 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Don CeSar
The Don CeSar
#7 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
3,518 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sirata Beach Resort
Sirata Beach Resort
#14 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4,021 reviews
0.4 mi away
TradeWinds Island Grand Resort
TradeWinds Island Grand Resort
#10 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
5,293 reviews
0.3 mi away
Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gulf Gate Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gulf Gate Resort

Property: Gulf Gate Resort
Address: 111 Fiftieth Avenue West, St. Pete Beach, FL 33706
Location: United States > Florida > St. Pete Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 14 Specialty Lodging in St. Pete Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on the sandy beaches of the Gulf of Mexico, Gulf Gate Resort features large balconies which allow each guest to bask in the Florida sun and witness the spectacular sunsets that our area is known for.Amenities include a swimming pool, jacuzzi, exercise room, billiards room and a pavilion area for Bar-B-Qs and gatherings. No streets to cross, just walk out your door and enjoy the beach! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gulf Gate Hotel Saint Pete Beach
Gulf Gate Resort St. Pete Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing