We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge Suite and Plently of space for the Family”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bay Palms Waterfront Resort - Hotel and Marina
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Camp Hill, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Huge Suite and Plently of space for the Family”
Reviewed April 14, 2009

If you read my review that I posted for Plaza Beach Resort you would know that my family of five just spent a week in St Pete Beach. Because we booked late and it was Spring Break, we have to move half way through our stay. So we spent the first four nights at the Plaza Beach Resort and loved it and than we spent the last three nights at the Bay Palms Waterfront Resort and loved it even more.
Our room at the Bay Palms Waterfront Resort a Deluxe One bedroom Suite, room #105. This room was even better and bigger than the Deluxe Efficiency at the Plaza Beach Resort. We had a bedroom with two full beds, a living room with a sleeper sofa and a huge dinning room table for six people and full kitchen. There was a balcony off of the living room but it didn't face the water, however you could see the water from the bedroom window. The pool at this location was smaller but still plenty of space, and lots of chairs and tables around the pool and deck. The Bay Palms has a huge waterfront deck, did I mention it was HUGE, it really is. The front desk has free fishing poles that they give to guest, they take a $20.00 deposit per pole which the return when you return the fishing poles. All three children ended up get a fishing pole and before you knew it we had a fishing tournament going on. We all had some much fun, we wish had more time, but as I mentioned in my other review we will definitely be back. The family does a great job and we prefer to stay and support a family business, rather than a large hotel where you are just another person. Here they made you feel like family.
Kim Dawson and Family.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kimdawson65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    353
    128
    30
    12
    12
See reviews for
186
227
35
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lakeland, FL
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed April 8, 2009

Just amazing!! We've been staying here for a few years now, but this was our first trip back since major remodeling has been done. The resort staff are wonderful, friendly and eager to make your stay a pleasant one. The location couldn't be better - the Gulf is right across the street and Fort Desota and the dog beach are within a short driving distance. Yes, you read that right - the resort is pet friendly!!!! We had a wonderful stay and plan to return again and again and again. I was totally amazed at the wonderful changes that have been made. Great job!!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YorkieMommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saint paul
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2009

We were here for several days on a last-minute trip -- had hoped to stay at the sister location (Plaza Beach) but it was full. Our efficiency was small but extremely clean, and we were just a few steps away from a pretty deck on the bay with a pool. We crossed the street to the beach and swam at the Plaza Beach pool also -- very convenient. We had a relaxing time and appreciated the good value and helpful staff.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ljoneseast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2009

I don't know why this is called a "resort", maybe because there's a (dinky) pool. It's a cinderblock motel probably built in the 1960s. Its only charm lies in the lovely bay waterfront in the back (which almost none of the rooms have a direct view of). It sits immediately next to Gulf Boulevard, the busiest street in town. so you'll hear traffic noise. Rooms are very clean and have been updated with new tile floors and granite countertop in the kitchenette recently. Our TV was a mid-sized plasma. The closet was tiny, the one bed only a queen (desk clerk promised a king), the small sofa upholstered in fabric in the plastic family, and there's no tub - only a shower. The view - we were in room 101 - was HORRIBLE. We look out directly at street level onto the busy sidewalk, so there's no privacy or anything attractive to look at. Other rooms have darker views of halls.

If we were staying one night on a road trip, we'd make do, but this is a long-awaited vacation and thus a big disappointment. We also stayed at the Bay View next door which was older and not as updated, but far nicer with private decks & nicer views. The location is good, you can walk to everything you need including groceries and beach very easily. The stop for the trolley line is less than a block away.

However, I'll never stay here again. I wanted a vacation place, not a pit stop.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RosemaryBaileyBrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plaza-Resorts_Owner, General Manager at Bay Palms Waterfront Resort - Hotel and Marina, responded to this review, January 6, 2011
Thank you for your feedback and my apologies for your disappointment in the word “resort”. We do consider ourselves a boutique resort. We are family owned and operated and we take a lot of pride in our business. Yes, we were built in the 1960, however we completely renovated the rooms in 2010. As you mentioned, we have upgraded all the rooms with granite countertops, new cabinets, new floors, new bathrooms and new furniture. You also mentioned that we are centrally located and on the bay. We take a lot of pride on being directly on Boca Ciega Bay where you can see dolphins and manatees and where we offer a fishing pier. I am sorry that you were promised a King Bed however only our One Bedroom apartments have Kings. The Deluxe Efficiency that you booked has only a Queen Bed with Sleeper Sofa. We would love to earn your business back. We can make sure you can get a room with a view this time and with a king bed. We do hope to see you here again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed March 26, 2009

My husband and I stayed there for only one night and were very suprized with how nice the place was. The room was beautiful and very very clean. The only thing I would change about the place is that the T.V.'s are a little outdated and the cable went in and out throughout the night. But if you are on vacation you really won't be spending much time watching T.V. anyway. The manager was very nice. We plan on staying there again when we go back in April for spring break. This hotel is very nice and the price is well worth what you get!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sgilreath199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orillia Ontario
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2009

We just returned from our wonderful stay at the Bay Palms. It is in the process of a receiving a facelift and that will add to the already great ambiance. First I have to thank Robert, the owner, who helped us. I first was booked at his next door property called the Bayview Plaza. Little did I know our friends that we had not seen in ages would call and want to join us for the night. I called Robert and he said, "NO problem! I will put you in a one bedroom apartment. We travel alot and this kind of customer service can only come from family operated resorts that still believe that repeat clientele is the bread and butter of the hotel industry. In fact almost everyone we talked to are regulars of one of the three resorts owned by this family. (Palms, Bayview, Beachfront).

Our room had a full kitchen, comfortable sitting area and a queen bed in a seperate room. The place was very clean and had everything we needed. The heated outdoor pool was nice and warm and once again spotless. We spent hours from each of our days across the street at the Beachfront property enjoying these ammenities as well. They even had a little wooden bin where you could borrow beach chairs for the day so that you didn't have to purchase them for the duration of your stay. The grounds are immaculate and once again the pool at the Beachfront was large and clean.

Thanks Robert and Staff for everything. We had an outstanding weekend. We will return!

Natalie and Wayne

  • Liked — The value
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tessamarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Pete Beach hotels
0.0 mi away
Bayview Plaza Waterfront Resort
Bayview Plaza Waterfront Resort
#17 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
479 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dolphin Beach Resort
Dolphin Beach Resort
#21 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
938 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Don CeSar
The Don CeSar
#8 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
3,389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort
0.7 mi away
Sirata Beach Resort
Sirata Beach Resort
#16 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
3,804 reviews
1.1 mi away
Alden Suites
Alden Suites
#13 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
1,431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Palms Waterfront Resort - Hotel and Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Palms Waterfront Resort - Hotel and Marina

Property: Bay Palms Waterfront Resort - Hotel and Marina
Address: 4237 Gulf Blvd, St. Pete Beach, FL 33706
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Pete Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in St. Pete Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Palms Waterfront Resort - Hotel and Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completely Renovated this year, Bay Palms Waterfront Resort - Hotel and Marina is a Florida Tropical boutique resort situated directly on the Boca Ciega Bay. Boasting one of the largest privately owned fishing piers in St Petersburg at 1,500 square feet. You can enjoy great fishing, watch the Manatees and Dolphins, or dock your boat. With a beautiful pool overlooking the Boca Ciega Bay this makes Bay Palms Waterfront Resort a perfect destination for relaxation, and best of all, it is only 200 feet from the beach. Room types range from spacious studio apartments with Full Kitchens to large One bedroom apartment suites. Best of all we have No Surprise Resort Fees, Enjoy everything the Bay Palms has to offer at no additional cost. We really mean it: FREE Fitness Room, FREE Wireless Internet, FREE Parking, FREE BBQ Area, and FREE Private Fishing Pier use. Our resort is Family Owned and Operated, and has been since 2008. The family is very active in the day to day operations, on property daily, with a great friendly staff ready to assist you with a genuine Florida vacation. Members of Superior Small Lodging Association and Approved by AAA for Quality and Standards, our resort is one of only a handful of resorts in Florida that has received the Green Lodging seal from the State of Florida as well as greenleaders gold award from tripadvisor for our effort in conserving and recycling. St Pete Beach is a 6-mile island and the Bay Palms Waterfront Resort is directly in the center of the island. Everything is in walking distance, the grocery store, restaurants and shopping is just across the street. As well as Deep Sea Fishing, Parasailing, Jet Skiing, Dolphin Cruises, Sunset Cruises and many different island cruises visiting the nearby islands. Best of all we are only 30 minutes from Busch Gardens and 90 minutes from Disney and all the Orlando Parks. Also as a guest of the Bay Palms Waterfront Resort you will have full access to the Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort which is owned by the same family. You will have FREE full use of all the amenities at the Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort including: the private beach, large heated pool overlooking the beach, FREE Beach Cabanas, FREE Beach Towels, FREE Parking and many more amenities. We look forward to hosting you at the Bay Palms Waterfront Resort. Try us, and see for yourself why so many people return to the Bay Palms Waterfront Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bay Palms Waterfront Resort - Hotel and Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Palms Waterfront Hotel Saint Pete Beach
Bay Palm Resort
Bay Palms Waterfront Resort - Hotel And Marina St. Pete Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing