We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing girl's vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bay Palms Waterfront Resort - Hotel and Marina
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Chester, Illinois
2 reviews
“Relaxing girl's vacation”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Three friends and I recently stayed at the Bay Palms Waterfront Resort. It was incredibly relaxing. The room was suite style with two bathrooms, two bedrooms, and a pull out couch. The showers had great water pressure, and everything was very clean. The resort was within comfortable walking distance of several beachfront bars and places to eat. This resort is on the bay, not on the beach, but it is right across the street from the beach. The longest part of the walk was waiting for the light to change. We took a break from the sand, and while we were lounging in the pool we actually saw a pod of dolphins playing in the bay less than 15ft away from the deck! The sand on the beach is also fantastic. It was gorgeous!
A few cavaets:
You have to walk to the lobby to get coffee and beach towels. So, I would recommend bringing your own.
This place does not have a party atmosphere. The entire town is very chill. Don't go to St. Pete Beach if you are looking for a big party.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LJR35802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    359
    129
    31
    13
    12
See reviews for
191
230
35
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Central Florida
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We came to vacation with our dogs and go to Fort Desoto dog beach. You check in up the block and across the street at the Plaza beachside hotel. The room (215) was beautifully tiled (yay for dog people) and very updated, with a small fridge/freezer and microwave, coffee maker, plates, cups, etc. Bathroom had granite counter, hair dryer with night light, tiled shower stall with nice conditioner, body wash/shampoo and hand soap dispensers, magnifying make up mirror, and room under the vanity for lots of storage. The air conditioner was quiet and we had an individual remote to adjust it. There was also a silent ceiling fan, lots of spotlights on switches, couch, chair, coffee table, and wall mounted flat screen tv.. Room was very quiet and very clean. The place has a large back deck and patio area with pavers, and lots of tables and chairs, set on an inlet. We asked for the light to be fixed on the ceiling fan and for new sheets after the first day (they got sandy), and these was done immediately. The room smelled good and clean. There is a phone number for room service, but we did not use it. We had to leave a $100 cash deposit for the dogs, and it was returned. We also had to pay $25 per dog per night, which is kind of high, but I found a Florida resident special on the hotel website, so we paid $89 base price for the room. From 4 to 5 PM you can go to the beachside Plaza hotel up the block (no dogs there) and have free wine or beer for the happy hour. The location is great, and there is a nice park one block away. Next door is a fantastic Italian bakery/coffee bar (a real one, with Italians speaking Italian) and you can bring the food to the back deck/patio if you have dogs. You can walk to Walgreens and dog-friendly restaurants. I would recommend this hotel to anyone. There is a nice pool (no dogs), barbecue grill, fish off the dock, washer/dryers, lots of books in all languages, and you really feel like you're on vacation. They have tried hard to think of everything.

Room Tip: Some rooms have patios or balconies on the waterfront side. They are nice if you want to spend the...
See more room tips
Green Features: This hotel is "green" and has neat recycling bins in the back, a library to recycle books near the washer/dryers, mounted containers for conditioner/hand soap/bodywash/shampoo, and encouragement to re-use towels.
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suz501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plaza-Resorts_Owner, General Manager at Bay Palms Waterfront Resort - Hotel and Marina, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Suz,

Thanks to you and your pups for staying with us at the Bay Palms Waterfront Resort – Hotel and Marina and leaving a Five Star review! It sounds like you all had an excellent time exploring our area restaurants and stores, as well as taking advantage of our beachfront property. Give us a call the next time you want to feel like you’re on vacation!

Robert Czyszczon
Plaza Beach Resorts
“Traditions Start Here”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida, United States
1 review
Reviewed July 23, 2013

A few of my friends and I recently stayed at the Bay Palms Resort for my birthday and had a wonderful time. The ladies at the front desk were very welcoming and even let us into our room earlier than expected. They assured us that they were there to assist us with anything we might need. With that said, there was absolutely nothing more I could have asked for in the room. The kitchen area had plenty of space for us to cook and the full size refrigerator was extremely convenient. The living room area was spacious and open with a full size, glass top, dining room table. The bedroom was equipped with two double beds, a closet and dresser giving 4 girls PLENTY of room to store our clothes. Although the bathroom could have been a bit bigger, it's not anything that I could complain about. The maid service was prompt and ready to give us more towels when needed and were friendly throughout the weekend. Having the outside deck with the picnic tables overlooking the Marina was by far my favorite part. It was beautiful to sit out there at night, we hardly made it to the beach because we had so much fun right outside our door. I love what management has done with the renovations and the way their staff made us feel so welcome. All in all we had a wonderful weekend and cannot wait to spend my next trip to St Pete Beach at this hotel.

Room Tip: The one bedroom suite gives just enough room to have everyone together but also have space to not fe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindsay D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plaza-Resorts_Owner, General Manager at Bay Palms Waterfront Resort - Hotel and Marina, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Lindsay,

Thanks for a FIVE STAR review of your birthday getaway at the Bay Palms Waterfront Resort – Hotel and Marina. We strive to make sure everyone has an enjoyable stay and wants for nothing. I’m glad your girls weekend was a success! Come back to see us again and maybe you’ll make it to the beach next time!

Congratulations on your birthday and we look forward to hosting many more!!

Robert Czyszczon
Plaza Beach Resorts
“Traditions Start Here”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We unexpectedly had to find a room for a couple of nights, so we just drove. The outside of the hotel looked very nice and they had a sign that said "affordable rates", so we stopped in to check it out. They had a few rooms available at the late hour and when I inquired about the price, it was affordable and we were thankful! "Jackie" checked us in and was very friendly and helpful (a fellow Ohioan too-Bonus!!) One of the things that impressed us was even though we didn't get the hotel on the beach because they had no availability, she made sure to let us know we were welcome at any of the three family owned hotels. The beach was still right across the street from the beach, so we appreciated that too! The room was very, very nice and we decided if, in the future, we want to stay on St. Pete's Beach, we will definitely stay there again! The king bed and even the sleeper sofa were comfortable too.
The ONLY downside was we had some people that jumped the fence to go swimming and were very noisy into the wee hours of the morning. We didn't complain when we checked out though because the rest of the stay was very nice and we were very pleased.
Also, when we checked in, Jackie asked us if we had any young children and we had our seven year old grand-daughter, so she gave us a Frisbee for her.....she loved that! So thank you and we'll definitely be back!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toni D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sound Beach, New York, United States
1 review
Reviewed July 17, 2013

My husband and 16 month old daughter just returned from the Bay Palms and we would stay again. The room was more than adequate and really allowed my 16 month old to explore safely on her own. The only down fall would be the open fishing stations, that are not safe for children and you should be able to have a gate to close them off. For that reason we couldn't enjoy the picnic tables, but did make use of the grill while she napped. We also enjoyed being able to sit on the back balcony, facing the road or on the terrace facing the water and pool, while she napped. All in all a wonderful experience and we hope to return again.

Inga and Lauren were both wonderful and very helpful. Shelly was pleasant. We checked out a day early to beat the weather back to NY. It would have been great if they had credited us some of that stay since we checked out by 2. But I wouldn't l penalize their score because of it and we were also given a room upgrade which was a nice perk.

Room Tip: We had room 212 and loved it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShawnanPhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craigavon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

we stayed here tuesday and wednesday night 5 people in total lots of room very very clean and everything you could ask for or need for a vacation in st pete we stayed here because it has a full kitchen and 2 seperate rooms one with an unsuite the staff are first class and you will want for nothing thank you very much once again for a great place and a great time in your bay palms resort we will be back

Room Tip: no where in st pete will you get two rooms at this rate
See more room tips
Green Features: water saving and everything they can do to save the environment they do it
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cliffmcb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsville, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

This will be a bit lengthy but I think reviews are really helpful so here goes. Let me start by providing the pros: The hotel is in an excellent location, easy access to the beach, shopping, restaurants, etc. The views of the bay are just beautiful and fishing was pretty good. We rented a one bedroom suite. The room was very clean and had pretty much everything we needed to get by for 5 nights. The pool is a bit small but the layout and access to everything such as the docks, pool, rooms is very good. There is an ice machine with easy access which also came in handy. Inga, the housekeeper was so nice. The staff was also very helpful and friendly. Cons: The description of these 3 sister properties makes it sound like the main one with the check in office is directly across the street. It is not, its about 2 blocks down. Believe me walking down there mid day is HOT. You have to go there for any assistance, such as fishing pole rental, happy hour, etc. Speaking of which, happy hour is in a confernece room. There is no bar so don't let the "happy hour" free wine and beer intice you. Next, there should be some specific designation as to fishing areas and eating/lounging areas on the docks. Its a free for all which can definitely be rather gross. The rooms are very very humid. At times there was even a musty smell and the sheets felt damp due to the humidity in the room. There is no exhaust fan in the kitchen. When cooking all the steam just covers the cabinets and anything inside. With so much humidity its a shame that these newly remodeled rooms won't hold up long. While we didn't have a dog with us the "doggy potty area" is almost non-existent. I guess if you have a tiny tiny dog it might be ok. All in all I enjoyed the stay, but, would probably opt for a different place on the bay next time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vanetta L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plaza-Resorts_Owner, General Manager at Bay Palms Waterfront Resort - Hotel and Marina, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Thank you so much for your review of the Bay Palms Waterfront resort. I appreciate the various suggestions and comments that you mentioned. We have weekly managerial and staff meetings, and we will be discussing on how we can improve in some of these areas where we are falling a bit short.

I do want to thank you for mentioning Inga, your housekeeper, and all the staff as being nice, helpful and friendly. I'm also happy that you enjoyed the our location to everything and for mentioning that are rooms are very clean.

We are continuously improving our properties and I appreciate your suggestions. I look forward to seeing you back again soon to see all the new changes.

Robert Czyszczon
General Manager
Plaza Beach Resorts
"Traditions Start Here"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Pete Beach hotels
0.0 mi away
Bayview Plaza Waterfront Resort
Bayview Plaza Waterfront Resort
#17 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
488 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Don CeSar
The Don CeSar
#7 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
3,570 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dolphin Beach Resort
Dolphin Beach Resort
#21 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Postcard Inn on the Beach
Postcard Inn on the Beach
#19 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
496 reviews
0.2 mi away
Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort
0.7 mi away
Sirata Beach Resort
Sirata Beach Resort
#14 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Palms Waterfront Resort - Hotel and Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Palms Waterfront Resort - Hotel and Marina

Property: Bay Palms Waterfront Resort - Hotel and Marina
Address: 4237 Gulf Blvd, St. Pete Beach, FL 33706-3828
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Pete Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in St. Pete Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Palms Waterfront Resort - Hotel and Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completely Renovated this year, the Bay Palms Waterfront Resort - Hotel and Marina is an authentic Florida boutique resort situated directly on the Boca Ciega Bay. Boasting as having one of the largest privately owned fishing piers in St Petersburg at 1,500 square feet, you can enjoy great fishing, watch the manatees and dolphins, or dock your boat right on site. With a beautiful pool overlooking the Boca Ciega Bay this makes Bay Palms Waterfront Resort a perfect destination for relaxation, and best of all, it is only 200 feet from the beach. Room types range from spacious studio apartments with kitchenettes to large one bedroom apartment suites. Best of all, we have NO surprise resort fees! Enjoy everything the Bay Palms has to offer at no additional cost. We really mean it: FREE Fitness Room, FREE Wireless Internet, FREE Parking, FREE BBQ Area, and FREE Private Fishing Pier use. Our resort is Family Owned and Operated, and has been since 2008. The family is very active in the day to day operations, on property daily, and has a friendly staff ready to assist you with your authentic Florida vacation. Members of Superior Small Lodging Association and Approved by AAA for Quality and Standards, our resort is one of only a handful of resorts in Florida that has received the Green Lodging seal from the State of Florida as well as Greenleaders Gold Award from TripAdvisor for our effort in conserving and recycling. St Pete Beach is a 6-mile island and the Bay Palms Waterfront Resort is directly in the center of the island. Everything is within walking distance: the grocery store, restaurants, and shopping are just across the street. Activities such as Deep Sea Fishing, Parasailing, Jet Skiing, Dolphin Cruises, Sunset Cruises and many different island cruises visiting the nearby islands are available nearby. Best of all we are only 30 minutes from Busch Gardens and 90 minutes from Disney and all the Orlando Parks. Also, as a guest of the Bay Palms Waterfront Resort, you will have full access to the Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort which is owned by the same family. You will have FREE full use of all the amenities at the Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort including the private beach, large heated pool overlooking the beach, FREE beach chairs, FREE beach towels, FREE parking and many more amenities. We look forward to hosting you at the Bay Palms Waterfront Resort. Try us, and see for yourself why so many people return to the Bay Palms Waterfront Resort year after year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Bay Palms Waterfront Resort - Hotel and Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Palms Waterfront Hotel Saint Pete Beach
Bay Palm Resort
Bay Palms Waterfront Resort - Hotel And Marina St. Pete Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing