We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, affordable stay, good for families on a budget”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bay Palms Waterfront Resort - Hotel and Marina
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Alexandria, VA
Level Contributor
64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Nice, affordable stay, good for families on a budget”
Reviewed July 15, 2012

I had very high expectations after reading the 4 and 5 star ratings from viewers on here. If I could rate it 3.5, then that's what it would be, but I can only give it a 3. This place was just meh for me. We are used to fancier places, so it was ok and decent for the price. However, I decided to be cheap for our summer vacation this year and sort of regret it.

The place is very clean, which is a plus. The kitchen is nice and new, but in the end we ate out more than we cooked. I did not like the 1990s tropical decor. Reminded me of the Golden Girls. Even cheap Holiday Inn and Comfort Inns have nicer and newer decor than this place. they need to stay with the neutrals and get rid of the floral prints, pink lamps, and fake flowers. Less is more. Nor did I like any of the pools. I did like the pier, which was lovely. The rooms themselves felt very cave-like. After a week here, it felt like we'd been here for a month.

This place is great for families on a budget. I noticed a lot of local Floridians staying here for a couple of days and people who drove from the Mid-west so this place is heaven for them. We flew in for a week, mainly to go to Lego Land for a couple of days, and I thought we would stay at the beach. However, when we were walking on the beach, I found myself always longingly looking at the Don Loews resort. I love resorts with huge fancy pools, so Bay Palms was not my type of place. For some reason I decided to go cheap via Expedia. We are used to price line or other deals where we get $100 rooms at fancy ocean front hotels in Miami, Cancun, or Puerto Rico, so this place did not do it for me. To be fair, I would have to say that places like Fort Myers, St. Pete's, or the west coast of Florida is not my cup of tea. Nor do I like places like VA Beach or Ocean City, MD where I live. I prefer Miami or the Caribbean When my son gets older, then it will be Asia and Europe. However, for its price, Bay Palms is good for families with a budget and people with dogs. I take 3 vacations a year where we fly out so I suppose I am spoiled rotten, but I work hard all year long so I like to spoil myself with prettier hotels than this. This place looked more like a motel or Comfort Inn type place with a kitchen.

Room Tip: Make sure you choose any room with bay view to get more bang for your buck. Don't use the washi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ASN1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plaza-Resorts_Owner, General Manager at Bay Palms Waterfront Resort - Hotel and Marina, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Thank you for your honest review. I apologize that you didn't have the large hotel experience with huge fancy pools that you hoping for. But none of our photos and descriptions portray that image. We are an exclusive boutique hotel of only 15 suites where people come to escape from the large hotels and hundreds of people in large fancy pools. Clearly you where in the wrong hotel in the wrong area.
Nevertheless, 99% of the people that do stay with us absolutely love it and become repeat guest. Just like the Hollywood celebrities and others, One day you will get tired of the large hotel hype , and will be looking for quiet exclusive resort to just get away, and we'll be here for you. I know it is not your cup of tea now, but maybe down the line. We'll be here for you and welcome you back in the future.

Robert Czyszczon
General Manager
Plaza Beach Resorts - St Pete Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    353
    128
    30
    12
    12
See reviews for
186
227
35
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kissimmee, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 15, 2012

We stayed in the Deluxe one bedroom suite, was like a little apt. very roomy,clean, quiet. The staff were top notch.This is now our place to stay when in St. Petes.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MONSTERSMOMMOM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed June 20, 2012

The resort was recently up dated and was very well done.The one bedroom unit was roomy and comfortable.Deck over looking the bay was quiet and relaxing.I would recommend this nice little retreat to family and friends.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimmy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keedysville, Maryland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2012

Booked a night last minute. Customer service for booking and check in were so nice! We requested 2 cribs and they we in our room at check in and came with all the extras! Room was spotless and modern. I wish we would have stayed an extra day. It was so quiet and peaceful.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skzkitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paradise newfoundland
2 reviews
Reviewed June 7, 2012

The Bay Palms Resort was very clean, afordable, close to the beach and on a bus route. We enjoyed our stay and would not hesitate to stay there again.

Room Tip: I loved staying there but I found the ice maker a bit noisy at nightime so I would suggest a room aw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stellanose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarpon Springs, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2012

We live in the Tampa Bay area and wanted a quick get a way for the Memorial Day weekend. We had a wonderful time at Bay Palms! The rooms are newly renovated and were clean and beautiful. We had everything we needed! We got there a little early and were able to use the beach at the other hotel until our room was ready. We forgot floatation items for the beach, but the hotel had plenty for us to borrow=:) We loved everything about our stay there except the bed was a bit squeaky. Other than that, we had a fabulous time and will definitely come back with the kids for a family vacation there in the near future. We have stayed in several other hotels in the area before, and this one is definitely our new favorite! For all the amenities and the price it is a great value! We highly recommend!

Room Tip: Don't think any room would be bad=:)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plaza-Resorts_Owner, Owner at Bay Palms Waterfront Resort - Hotel and Marina, responded to this review, June 5, 2012
Thank you so much for your Wonderful review of the Bay Palms Waterfront Resort. I am so happy that you discovered our boutique resort and had a Great Experience!!! I’m also glad that you enjoyed our sister property on the beachside Plaza Beach Hotel-Beachfront Resort. Thank you for bringing to my attention that the bed was a bit squeaky, I had maintenance go there today to take care of it.

Thanks again, and I look forward to seeing you back many more times this summer and into the future.

Robert Czyszczon
Plaza Beach Resorts – St Pete Beach
Family Owned and Operated
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Bay Palms has become our new vacation destination of choice! The rooms are all newly renovated and very clean. The staff/service during our week's stay was both attentive and thoughtful. We especially enjoy Bay Palms Resort because it offers the quiet serenity of the bayside scenery for morning coffee and evening BBQs...not to mention GREEN FRIENDLY...what could be better? And it's only a short walk to the Plaza Beach Resort with access to another pool and all the beach front activities one could hope for. Very convenient to all points of interest both north and south along the gulf shores...restaurants, shopping, activities etc. We would definately return again and would recommend this resort to families and couples alike!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EMBFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Pete Beach hotels
0.0 mi away
Bayview Plaza Waterfront Resort
Bayview Plaza Waterfront Resort
#17 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
479 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dolphin Beach Resort
Dolphin Beach Resort
#21 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
938 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Don CeSar
The Don CeSar
#8 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
3,389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort
0.7 mi away
Sirata Beach Resort
Sirata Beach Resort
#16 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
3,804 reviews
1.1 mi away
Alden Suites
Alden Suites
#13 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
1,431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Palms Waterfront Resort - Hotel and Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Palms Waterfront Resort - Hotel and Marina

Property: Bay Palms Waterfront Resort - Hotel and Marina
Address: 4237 Gulf Blvd, St. Pete Beach, FL 33706
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Pete Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in St. Pete Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Palms Waterfront Resort - Hotel and Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completely Renovated this year, Bay Palms Waterfront Resort - Hotel and Marina is a Florida Tropical boutique resort situated directly on the Boca Ciega Bay. Boasting one of the largest privately owned fishing piers in St Petersburg at 1,500 square feet. You can enjoy great fishing, watch the Manatees and Dolphins, or dock your boat. With a beautiful pool overlooking the Boca Ciega Bay this makes Bay Palms Waterfront Resort a perfect destination for relaxation, and best of all, it is only 200 feet from the beach. Room types range from spacious studio apartments with Full Kitchens to large One bedroom apartment suites. Best of all we have No Surprise Resort Fees, Enjoy everything the Bay Palms has to offer at no additional cost. We really mean it: FREE Fitness Room, FREE Wireless Internet, FREE Parking, FREE BBQ Area, and FREE Private Fishing Pier use. Our resort is Family Owned and Operated, and has been since 2008. The family is very active in the day to day operations, on property daily, with a great friendly staff ready to assist you with a genuine Florida vacation. Members of Superior Small Lodging Association and Approved by AAA for Quality and Standards, our resort is one of only a handful of resorts in Florida that has received the Green Lodging seal from the State of Florida as well as greenleaders gold award from tripadvisor for our effort in conserving and recycling. St Pete Beach is a 6-mile island and the Bay Palms Waterfront Resort is directly in the center of the island. Everything is in walking distance, the grocery store, restaurants and shopping is just across the street. As well as Deep Sea Fishing, Parasailing, Jet Skiing, Dolphin Cruises, Sunset Cruises and many different island cruises visiting the nearby islands. Best of all we are only 30 minutes from Busch Gardens and 90 minutes from Disney and all the Orlando Parks. Also as a guest of the Bay Palms Waterfront Resort you will have full access to the Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort which is owned by the same family. You will have FREE full use of all the amenities at the Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort including: the private beach, large heated pool overlooking the beach, FREE Beach Cabanas, FREE Beach Towels, FREE Parking and many more amenities. We look forward to hosting you at the Bay Palms Waterfront Resort. Try us, and see for yourself why so many people return to the Bay Palms Waterfront Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bay Palms Waterfront Resort - Hotel and Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Palms Waterfront Hotel Saint Pete Beach
Bay Palm Resort
Bay Palms Waterfront Resort - Hotel And Marina St. Pete Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing