We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK place for seafood”
Review of PJ's Oyster Bar

PJ's Oyster Bar
Ranked #49 of 146 Restaurants in St. Pete Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $45
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch
Description: PJ's St. Pete Beach is a family friendly seafood restaurant that serves fresh local seafood. Along with seafood we have the best ribs this side of St. Louis, awesome burgers, salads and chicken entrees. PJ's has a full bar with over 60 bottle beers and 8 beers on tap. We can accommodate large parties and have a private room available for meetings, rehearsal dinners and social gatherings. Please call for details.
St. Pete Beach, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“OK place for seafood”
Reviewed December 20, 2013

PJs is an institution on St. Pete Beach. I dined there recently again and my impression is that they have decreased their portions and raised their prices slightly since the recession made life so hard for everyone. Still, the food is decent and the prices are still pretty reasonable for the beach. The place is not for a special occasion but for a routine family meal, OK.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank virgiematt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

657 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    266
    238
    90
    38
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prince Edward Island
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Eat, drink and be merry”
Reviewed December 5, 2013

PJ’s is located in a central area of St Pete Beach, an easy walk from the many condos and holiday rentals in the area. If you are looking for a slow meal with white table cloths and white glove service, this is not the place. However, if you are looking for good food, cold beers and nice wine, at reasonable prices in a less casual environment, you have arrived!
My bride and I really like this place. The service is prompt and professional. They make an awesome grouper sandwich; the oysters are perfectly slurp-able; the snow crabs were fresh, perfectly presented, and the portions were generous.
All in all, this is a great place to eat drink and be merry, and you won’t need to mortgage the farm to do it.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Douce2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrodsburg, Kentucky
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“Average ”
Reviewed November 21, 2013 via mobile

We were looking for a good place to eat oysters. PJ's had been recommended by several different people. Oysters were good, but our meal left much to be desired. I had the coconut shrimp which were tasty but the sides were Terrible. My salad was brown and the baked potato looked liked it had been in the oven for 12 hours, all shriveled and brown inside. My husband had the grouper sandwich which he said was average.

Helpful?
Thank Klgord2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Relax and enjoy!”
Reviewed November 19, 2013

My family of 6 recently (Nov 9) visited PJ's for a casual seafood dinner. We arrived at 6:30 pm and were seated immediately. Our waitress was fun and efficient and had no trouble with our 3 separate bills and helping my father with special needs. This is a very rustic restaurant attached to an ice cream parkour and great bar (definitely try the rum Runner punch!). Every table has a coat hanger "rack" with paper towels for your fingers-brilliant! We all ordered soup and both the clam chowder and the fish chowder were amazing- overflowing with seafood. Those who had scallops raved as "the best they'd ever had (both blackened and grilled), and the coconut shrimp was delicious. My mom ordered a hot fudge sundae for dessert that we were all able to have a taste of and the key lime pie was sublime. This little hidden gem is well worth the visit if you don't need pretentious!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank prariegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Average food slightly over priced”
Reviewed November 16, 2013

The service is fast but the environment is noisy. The food is average for seafood. There are definitely better places along the coast to eat fish but this place appears to be popular amongst locals. Usually, it means good food at low prices which I don' think is the case.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Colorado_719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed PJ's Oyster Bar also viewed

 
St. Pete Beach, FL
St. Pete Beach, FL
 

Been to PJ's Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing