We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best food in St Pete. Period.”
Review of Snappers Sea Grill

Snappers Sea Grill
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $32
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: A big city bistro feel on a coastal barrio island with In-house cut steaks and fresh local Seafood, Snappers has long been known as a gem along the coast.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“The best food in St Pete. Period.”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

On arriving in St Pete for a four day break, we went back twice. Moving on to Orlando, we took another trip out to the Gulf Coast for Clearwater Beach and we made sure we went to Snapper on the way back. Three visits in 2 weeks. Yea, we love this place.

Over the three vists we ordered the Blue Tuna, which is Tuna in a cracked black pepper, char grilled and server with a Blueberry Teriyaki sauce. Simpy one of THE dishes that should be on your bucket list.
The Blue Crab Stuffed Portabello is a baked portobello topped with crab, cheese and backed with a chipotle sauce. Fiery, spicy, hot and tasty. Brilliant.

Entrees were the Wasabi encrusted Tuna, which brought back memories of previous visits, it was as good as I remembered. However, to say it was eclipsed by the Stuffed Gulf Grouper would be like saying St Pete Beach is warm in the summer, a huge understatement. A shrimp, scallop and crabmeat stuffing over the local Grouper catch with a simply amazing Champagne cream sauce. The potato puff pastry is a nice side additon. But this meal is one of the best I have EVER had in my life, and I'm a big eater!
I cannot wait for the next time I'm lucky enough to go to Snappers.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JGaskell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,498 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,723
    493
    167
    68
    47
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
philly
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Comfortable fine dining”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Very casual, but elegant dining. Lobster Fra Diavlo was the best I ever had. Coconut Shrimp was great. Wine and Beer only. A must go.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank winocat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson Township, Ohio, United States
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Deserving of #1 rating”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

My girlfriend and I had no reservation, but were seated after a short wait. I ordered the grouper stuffed with scallops, shrimp and crab. She ordered the pork chops with a delicious sauce on them. Both were prepared perfectly and were absolutely delicious. The no-bake chocolate cake was to die for! The wait staff was always available and we never had to wait for anything. If you are ever in the area, Snappers is a must!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dave U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great dining experience”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

My daughter and I really enjoyed this restaurant - nothing not to like, including the automatic refilling of our soft drinks. We ordered a starter to share but came to regret it - the main dish was amazing - and so generously portioned! We both ordered the tuna but before it arrived we were presented with an excellent garden salad with flatbreads and hummus, then the tuna arrived, accompanied by an array of veg and a potato pie I'd never eaten before - and the whole thing was delicious. Worthy of its high rating.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BAGirl64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paradise, fl
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Blue Tuna and Neptune's Platter!”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

This is a smaller establishment, so be prepared for a bit of a wait if you're a larger group (or be willing to split up into a couple tables) Every time I've been here I've had a fantastic meal. The blueberry-teriyaki tuna appetizer is wonderful, with the cucumber back and side of wasabi. I can't explain how incredible the scallops were in the "favorite" Neptune special, they were wrapped in shrimp and seared to perfection, served with a Carribean lobster that was divine. Staff is professional, courteous, and somewhat entertaining...they seem to know what level of interaction each table needs. Beer and wine selection are nice (no liquor, worth not having your martini at dinner!) and the servers are very good at suggesting a great glass of wine for you. If you enjoy a spectacular dining experience,open yourself up to it and interact with your server. If you want mediocre food at the same price, go to one of the larger places on the beach and be disappionted

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank princessbsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Snappers Sea Grill also viewed

St. Pete Beach, FL
 

Been to Snappers Sea Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing