We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First Class and Friendly”

The Maritana Grille at The Don CeSar
Reserve with OpenTable
The Maritana Grille at The Don CeSar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #17 of 145 Restaurants in St. Pete Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $29 - $75
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Description: Immerse yourself in the most delectable dining experience Tampa Bay has to offer at The Maritana Grille. At this signature restaurant of the beautiful Loews Don CeSar resort, you’re surrounded by 1,500 gallons of salt water aquariums filled with colorful, native Florida fish. You’ll dine on the freshest local seafood prepared with pure, organic ingredients in a New American style. With an extensive wine list and world-class service, it’s no wonder The Maritana Grille was voted one of the Top 10 seafood restaurants in the United States by the Gayot Guide, and has received AAA’s 4-Diamond Rating for the past 15 years. The vibe is casual, no jackets required. The atmosphere is festive yet intimate and the food is incomparably delicious. The Maritana Grille turns every meal into a magical dining experience.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
82 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“First Class and Friendly”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We chose to take my mother to the MAritana as a special thank you and were not disappointed, from the valet parking, the friendly greeting of the maitre 'd, the superb waiter,a d, of course, excellent food and drinks. I highly recommend the Siberian Cuke special cocktail as the best and most inventive cocktail I have ever had. Two of us enjoyed the cauliflower soup and the fresh seafood entrees. Tried the dessert wine from Russian River Valley.

It was not inexpensive, but having eaten out 14 out of 21 nights in St. Pete area, it was the most beautiful restaurant, the best meal and worth every penny of the price differential. We were made to feel like valued guests by the staff, and it mad for the special evening out I wanted to treat my mother to.

Much better than the Don's other restaurant, and while more expensive, it is better value.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kirochka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    368
    79
    27
    16
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Novi, Michigan
Level Contributor
58 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Birthday dinner and it was excellent”
Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

We had yellowtail snapper and red snapper with great wine and ice cream dessert! Delicious! The hotel is wonderful and service was excellent as well

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank trotamundos57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
317 reviews
228 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
“Great Menu and Excellent Location”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Maritana is located off the lobby of the Don Cesar Hotel in St. Petersburg. Two years ago, my wife and I stayed at “the Don” and dined at this restaurant. At that time, it had a very maritime look, with lots of blue throughout the dining room with fish tanks built in the walls. The fish tanks are still here, but the blue has been replaced by cream colors. The colors are brighter, but yet the dining room still has a calm romantic feel.
The food is excellent. There are lots of options for this upscale menu, including caviar. I decided on the Tuna Tartar for my appetizer and Venison for my entrée. My wife ordered the “trio” (tuna tartar, carparchio and shrimp) and had the “Hawaiian selection” ( fish flown in every day). All courses were marvelous. The venison melted in my mouth and the fish was as dense as a steak (similar to a halibut, but not as “fishy”). All was good, as far as food, and, of course, the transitional courses are a benefit to dining at Maritana. The chef’s complimentary appetizer prior to the main appetizer was a slice of beef Wellington and the transition between the appetizer and main course was a peach sorbet.
Of course the atmosphere and the transitional benefits of the meal come at a cost. The menu is pricey and the wine list is pretentious and so is the price of the wine. Unfortunately, the selections offered (Cline, Conundrum, J. Lohr and Chateau St Michelle) do not match this illusion of pretentiousness. To keep the cost reasonable, I ordered a half bottle of the Cline “Ancient Vine” Zinfandel for $24.
Finally, the service was fine, but for what the restaurant is trying to convey (menu price point) the guest should not have to ask 3 times for bread or wait an extraordinary amount of time in a dining room that is not busy.
When evaluating a high end restaurant, the bar is high at all levels and it’s up to management to meet that expectation. When any part does not match up with what is being projected, a 4 rating versus a 5 is in order.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mayoplan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Beware of unfriendly bartenders and over priced martinits”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Headed to the lobby bar for a martini and dinner at the Don C. Lovely space with a good cocktail piano.
Gruff unfriendly bartender served drinks that were only 3/4 full and was defensive when asked. The martinis had the flavors from the last drink he served from his mixer, yuck. We moved to a table near the bar to get away from his unfriendly attitude.
The drinks were way above the average price for a high end hotel and when we spoke to the manager the same unfriendly tone was echoed.
It's a real "Stay away" place for us from now on.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FoodmanI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merrick, New York
Level Contributor
104 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“One of my favorite restaurants.”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Great ambiance with the fish tanks. The food is always fabulous. You can't go wrong with having dinner here

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank sheeba77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Maritana Grille at The Don CeSar also viewed

 

Been to The Maritana Grille at The Don CeSar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing