We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not what it used to be....” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Hurricane Seafood Restaurant

The Hurricane Seafood Restaurant
Ranked #78 of 145 Restaurants in St. Pete Beach
Price range: $11 - $30
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Scenic view, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Longwood, Florida
Level Contributor
149 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Not what it used to be....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014

The Hurricane used to be a one story building, very low key place on the beach to get a great grouper sandwich. There was more fish than bun. Over the years they have expanded and the quality of the food and service has suffered.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank traveljunkie1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,288 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    300
    345
    274
    179
    190
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Westchester Co., NY
Level Contributor
77 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Informal, good food...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014

We ended up arriving well after sunset, and put our names on the list (no reservations). After about 15 min. we were seated outside. Probably really nice view, but it was dark by that time. Outdoor seating is on picnic tables; seems they have tables and chairs indoors. I thought the food was quite good; somewhat mixed reviews from my three other adult family members. I'd go back; maybe not the same enthusiasm from the rest of the family. If you manage to get outdoor seating prior to sunset, you'll probably get a great view.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rtraveler10570
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Signal Mtn, TN
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Top floor deck is overrated”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014

Bartenders on top floor need more help during sunset time. Took very long time to get drinks because only 2 bartenders for very BUSY time. Could use 2 bartenders on each side of bar. Drinks not very good. Did eat breakfast. Omlette was cold however eggs

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank ccaTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“so bad we could not even eat the food”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014 via mobile

the people were very nice, the view is beautiful but the food is just nasty. i mean so bad my wife and i couldn't even eat it. I had the lobster scampi, took two bites and left it there. my wife had the surf and turf and again, so bad we left it. to charge those prices for really poor quality food is inexcusable.

great view and nice people but don't eat there. might as well head up to the roof bar for drinks and eat somewhere else. If there was ever a place Robert irvine or gordon Ramsay should hit, it is this one. could be a top notch spot with that view but i think I would have enjoyed fast food more. seriously, that bad.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank nycmusakman71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kernersville, NC
Level Contributor
107 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Best food of the trip so far!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014 via mobile

Found this place fatter taking the Shell Key shuttle. Delirious grouper and chips for the hubby. Wayyyy better than Caddy's the night before. My crab melt was delicious on Cuban bread with melted jack cheese and onion and tomato. YUM! Was honestly shocked to see the mixed reviews. Way better than anything else we've had here so far.

Helpful?
Thank Heather875
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Hurricane Seafood Restaurant also viewed

St. Pete Beach, FL
 
St. Petersburg, FL
 

Been to The Hurricane Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing