We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Dive Bar”
Review of Rick's Reef

Rick's Reef
Ranked #17 of 146 Restaurants in St. Pete Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $19
Cuisines: Seafood, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: A Casual Dining restaurant with a focus on fresh ingredients located on St. Pete Beach. Serving BREAKFAST, lunch, dinner and late night. Plenty of outdoor seating on the patio, and indoor seating, air conditioned in the summer and heated in the winter. Serving fresh seafood, and home-made chicken, pork and beef selections, all prepared fresh, by hand, specifically for you. Sauces, vegetables and mixed dishes prepared daily, in-house, and always from fresh ingredients. The friendly staff, and regular local crowd, make it a fun place to hang out. With a full-service bar, and plenty of indoor and outdoor seating at the bar, there is something for everyone. The restaurant is family friendly, and dogs are welcome in the outdoor seating area.
Altamonte Springs, Florida, United States
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Awesome Dive Bar”
Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

I was at Rick's on Good Friday. There are lots of families dining here, and pets are always welcome. It is a dive with a leaky tin roof, but the blackened fish tacos will blow your mind. At $9.00, they won't blow your wallet. Have fun and eat well.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Romy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,325 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    898
    273
    90
    36
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Don't overlook this one!”
Reviewed April 11, 2014

We ate there twice during our spring break stay. The fish tacos were good and the fries were great. The menu isn't big, but the prices aren't either. Don't miss the Key Lime Pie. If you are looking for low-key, good food type of place eat here. I really wanted to go there a third time to try the lobster roll special, but the family vetoed a third trip. :(

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Anita M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“The best on St. Pete Beach”
Reviewed April 9, 2014

It doesn't matter if it's breakfast, lunch or dinner (the chipped beef on toast, the lobster mac, fresh fish or a burger), it's all terrific home cooking. The nicest people on the planet work here, especially Sam! She always has a welcoming smile and her service is much appreciated! Go Sam! You rock, Rick!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ArtistNow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Friendly Beach Bar”
Reviewed April 9, 2014

Not directly on the beach but near. We were drawn in by the sign advertising $2 bloody marys. We returned and tried their onion rings - awesome! Huge, hot when served, and great coating. The servers were all friendly as was the owner - yes there seems to be a "Rick". We are returning for dinner as were told food is prepared fresh, nothing frozen. We're going back! Always fun to find a "go to" place.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank johnandlinda1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A mixed bag, but beer is always ice cold.”
Reviewed April 8, 2014

Had dinner and drinks at Rick's Reef a few times in February at it was very near our hotel. I found the place too dimly lit, but hey, it's a bar after all too. They serve beer ice cold every time and have one the best crab cakes in town.

Limited dinner menu, but they have a wide selection of appetizers. The Gator Legs, which are actually pork shank pieces, were oh so tender and yummy. Surprised that they had potstickers too (aren't these Chinese?), which turned out quite good, but disappointed with the Mac & Cheese (too rich I couldn't finish it), and the Reef Shrimps which was drowning in oil.

Service pretty good, staff quite pleasant. They have outdoor seating for smokers. Also nice souvenir t-shirts on sale.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank chequer25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rick's Reef also viewed

 

Been to Rick's Reef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing