We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location Location Location!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sabal Palms Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sabal Palms Inn
Ranked #5 of 32 Hotels in St. Pete Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Florida
1 review
“Location Location Location!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2007

Pass a Grille is a lovely area to visit. However...there aren't a whole lot of choices regarding places to stay. Sabal Palms is perfect in that it is steps away from fabulous beach. If only management would spend a few dollars upgrading for example, the bedding. This alone would make an enormous difference. Otherwise, an adequate accomodation.

  • Liked — location, beaches
  • Disliked — many items in the room needing upgrades
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank FloridaKit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    425
    115
    25
    13
    7
See reviews for
171
273
35
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
buffalo
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2007

We happened upon this place on the internet. It is a moderatley priced, family friendly little motel with small but clean rooms, bikes to ride around the quaint town, and a gorgeous, basically unused beach. The bikes could use a tune up, but they were sufficient for our purpose. I have booked again for this Easter, and can't wait to stay again. The pool is small, but adequate for a quick dip. Joe, the innkeeper , was friendly and accommodating when booking for this year. I am not sure if the inn can accommodate families bigger than 4, as the rooms are small, but the 3 of us were comfortable. The No high rises here on Pass-a Grille, so its quiet. If you want jet skis and lots to do, stay further north on St Pete. But if you want a laid back little place where you can walk the beach or ride through the town, this is it!

  • Liked — proximity to beach, quaint quiet town
  • Stayed April 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank swimkim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2006

Booked this Inn after reading reviews and talking to the male staff at the Inn via phone. Had I viewed the place myself beforehand I would have booked elsewhere for 30.00 or more extra per night. Everyone was right, the location was fabulous. If you have one child the rooms have enough space. With more children, there was not enough space to really move around. Two beds could have occupied the bedroom rather then one queen size. I wish I had known there were no phones in the rooms, only an orange phone outside the office to call management with. The closest pay phone was by a cantina on the beach and as my cell phone didn't provide service in Florida, this was a daily annoyance. The blankets were deplorable - thin worn-out things that need to be replaced desperately. An extra blanket did not do the trick. They were the worst I have ever seen. The pillows were fine. The place was kept clean and it was quiet at night for which I was thankful. The beach chairs and bikes were a nice complimentary touch as was the barbeque. There are laundry facilities to be used after 4pm. Bring quarters and detergent. Make sure you do not book a basement room if you are tall. The ceilings are very low and you will be hanging your head and bumping things like smoke alarms. The pool was a hot tub. They had said over the phone it was a small pool, but how small was the surprise. Just assume that it is a large hot tub and forget about the sign that says a pool. Would I go back again - for the price and location I would consider it, but not with more than one child.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rockport08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SabalPalmsInn, Owner at Sabal Palms Inn, responded to this review, December 5, 2006
Your feedback is greatly appreciated.

We have upgraded our blankets and apologize that you were unhappy with them. Had you asked we would have made every effort to provide you with a newer blanket.

Next time you are traveling with more than one child you can request one of our larger units and if it's available we will do our best to accommodate you.

Call early as we stay very booked throughout the year. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2006

a fabulous location in a charming part of Florida with a beautiful beach at hand

BUT
the hotel is poorly outfitted and furnished
and
poorly maintained - much is in bad repair inside and out
(we stayed in two different rooms, not the "best" gulf front rooms)
and
some difficulites staying well organized re bookings
The owner is rarely on site

Stayed April 2006
Helpful?
5 Thank winshul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2005

Stayed in Nov, our 3rd trip to P-A-G and our 2nd at Sabal Palms. Had reserved a seafront room prior to our arrival in USA but were disappointed on arrival to find our booking had been cancelled and the room occupied by other guests. The place was full but thankfully had just 1 room left that wasn't in the basement (hurray!) so we stayed on the side instead but were not offered apology or discount by staff at the time. This caused an argument between me and my husband who was not in the mood for unexpected surprises! On our return to UK the owner later made amends and admitted there'd been a booking error, which didn't help us at the time but has restored my faith in small run places which actually care for their guests. Personal touch is the main selling point of Sabal Palms, otherwise you may as well stay at big hotels further up St Petes beach. Plus points are that your sheets and towels changed every day and the place clean enough, obviously the location is a huge point too. Areas that need attention are the pool and the BBQ - we bought groceries one night and got back to find problems with the gas and the ignition on the BBQ. Thankfully husband runs engineering firm so when he got a shrug-oh-well-type response from site staff, he gritted his teeth and got his tools out and fixed it! As I say... personal touch needs to be REMEMBERED by staff as being their main selling point......

The whole PAG area is slowly developing but thankfully is relatively undisturbed. A new coffee house since our last visit and another art gallery, which is the kind of development I can live with ;-) Hope to return in April 2006 when the weather a little more consistent than November wild winds. Still stunning to be near the sea of course, and the free bikes and chairs always a winner. Owner has also assured me she will look at a dodgy light fitting in the pool, which is reassuring. All in all I look forward to seeing the improvements in April and would still choose to stay there.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Vicky T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2005

Located at near southern tip of St. Pete Beach, Sabal Palm Motel is a family operated and little known motel. For about $80 a night (during the 7/4 weekend), you get a clean and spacious room with kitchenette. Access to the beach is simply crossing the street. They even offer free bikes that you can ride around town.

This is not a five star hotel. But in many ways, it is a lot more convenient. I can see why one of the reviewers warned about room #6. You don't have the view there. But you still have the location.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2004

Winter rates keep me away (darn you, snowbirds!), but summer at Sabal Palms is an unbelievable deal. $55-65 a night with a kitchen (inc coffeemaker), on the quietest historic beach on the gulf.

I actually prefer the basement rooms, which are cheaper and larger-- usually containing a futon as well as a queen-sized bed.

The grill, bikes, decked patio area, ENORMOUS hot tub, beach chairs (they've been available every time I've been) and friendly staff make for a very hospitable stay. This ain't the Ritz, but it's spotlessly clean, and steps from the beach.

I go three or four times a year and would stay nowhere else.

Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Pete Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Coconut Inn
Coconut Inn
#2 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
0.1 mi away
Havana Inn
Havana Inn
#18 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Don CeSar
The Don CeSar
#8 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Inn on the Beach
Inn on the Beach
#1 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
2.0 mi away
Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort
1.7 mi away
Beach House Suites by The Don CeSar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sabal Palms Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sabal Palms Inn

Property: Sabal Palms Inn
Address: 1301 Gulfway, St. Pete Beach, FL 33706
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Pete Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#3 Family Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in St. Pete Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sabal Palms Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sabal Palms Inn is a family run inn directly facing the Gulf of Mexico. The only thing that separates you from the sandy white beach and the warm Gulf waters is a small two way utility road. Located in historic Pass-a-Grille where there is nothing growing on the beach except for nature. Proud member of the Tampa Bay Beaches Chamber or Commerce and the Superior Small Lodging Association. Winner of the 2015 SSL White Glove Award. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Sabal Palms Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sabal Palms Hotel Saint Pete Beach
Sabal Palms Motel
Sabal Palms Inn St. Pete Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing