We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great beachfront location, helpful staff, great rates”
Review of Sabal Palms Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sabal Palms Inn
Ranked #4 of 32 Hotels in St. Pete Beach
Certificate of Excellence
central virginia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“great beachfront location, helpful staff, great rates”
Reviewed May 16, 2010

We've enjoyed this inn for years but recent improvements motivate this review. The quiet, beachfront location offers fabulous views, the rooms have been updated , rates reasonable and manager Eddie and staff find the perfect balance of relaxed and responsive . And, the sunsets are free!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beachfanJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

615 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    446
    123
    26
    13
    7
See reviews for
184
285
37
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
149 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2010

We transferred to the Sabal Palms from the Coconut Inn because we wanted to stay an extra night and the Coconut had no vacancies. At the Sabal Palms we were given a ground level room which is not the best (very low ceilings!) but was perfect for an extra night. The unit was very spacious with a small kitchen and living room. Everything was extremely clean and nicely decorated. The place was really quiet so sleep quality was great. The wi-fi connection worked perfectly, the staff was very friendly and helpful, and the location unbeatable. I cannot wait to go back and stay at one of the upstairs units to fully enjoy all this place has to offer.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Piolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2010

I grew up in Florida and love going to the beach for vacations back to visit family. The location on Pass-A-Grille is amazing. The beach is beautiful--no hotels within a twenty minute walk (The Don Ce Sar is the closest), cute neighborhood, convenient shopping and restaurants on bike. This Inn is a great value all around. The staff was very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kenda_Mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spencer, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2010

We fell in love with Pass-A-Grille several years ago while looking for a more quiet spot off the beaten path of St. Pete Beach. Hotels are limited in such a small, quaint area and we struck out our first try when we stayed in a place recommended by friends. Then we found Sabal Palms! We fell in love with it from Day 1. While the rooms are very simple, they are immaculate! There is no musty odor that so often comes with waterfront accomodations. Joe and his staff take such pride in their inn. There is a regular presence of one of them doing some sort of sprucing up, whether it be Anna blowing sand off the sidewalks, or Eddie painting the front steps. Recent upgrades like flat-screen TV's, fresh paint, new furniture and great mattresses have made it even homier than ever. All of this, combined with one of the prettiest views on the beach, has made our annual trip to Florida our favorite vacation!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jamaicadaydreamin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Vienna, OH
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2010

After a week of searching for a place to stay close to Fort DeSoto I received an email from the staff at Sabal Palms stating that they had a unit become available. I was impressed that they had held onto my original email and contacted me when they had a cancellation. We stayed in unit 5 and were very pleased with the accomodations. We had a pool and gulf view. We, at the last minute, had an additional 2 guests stay with us as my husband's parents decided to stay overnight. The room was able to accomodate all 7 of us. We put his parents in the bed in the bedroom, one child in the twin fold out couch in the bedroom, my husband and I took the full size fold out in the living room area, and we put the two small children on an air mattress in the floor. I say all that so that you have an idea of the space of the unit. It is really like a small apartment! It was really nice having the bathroom and bedroom separated from the living area.

When I booked the room I had concern over the pool size. However, the fact that it turned out to be a heated jacuzzi pool (you can turn the jacuzzi part off if you want) made it soooo nice! I personally had never been in a full size jacuzzi pool, only a regular jacuzzi. It was really nice. My only complaint is that it was hard to figure out how to turn the shower on, and that was nothing major or anything I didn't figure out (you pull down the metal part of the spout)!

The rooms were EXTREMELY clean, cleaner than any hotel we've stayed in. My mother-in-law cleaned hospitals for a living and she instantly noticed the clean smell when walking in. That's big coming from someone who cleaned for a living!!! To boot, we accidentally took one of their extra pillows (we had taken our own as we normally do). When I called the next day to tell them, the staff went out of their way to work out the pillow issue! ;-)

Overall, I would highly recommend this resort! The staff is nice and the place is clean in a prime location!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yarnellc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SabalPalmsInn, Owner at Sabal Palms Inn, responded to this review, May 8, 2010
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such an extensive review of your visit with us. We are very proud of our staff and appreciate knowing when our guests are well taken care of! Hope you'll be back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
1 review
Reviewed March 17, 2010

Well I can't believe it has taken me this long to write a review. This place is absolutely adorable. Location is everything. A private hideway. A beautiful beach right in front you! We are from Boston and wanted a nice getway... we had a blast. Unfortunately the weather was cool... but the inn, beach, sunset, fishing, and dining were all fantastic. We stayed for 10 days and wish it could have been longer. The staff made us feel so comfortable. Thank you! Amigdio and Yudith you both work so hard and take such great care of this special hideway. We stayed in #3, small room with all the essentials. It was cozy and clean.
I can't wait to go back. Look forward to seeing you again, Ann & Vincent.
(Thank you Joe!)

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AMCBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SabalPalmsInn, Owner at Sabal Palms Inn, responded to this review, May 8, 2010
thank you so much for your very kind review. We're glad you enjoyed our property and made new friends. Pass-a-Grille is such a great area isn't it? Glad you'll be back and we look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2010

First and foremost, everyone that we came into contact with that is associated with the hotel went above and beyond the call of duty to make sure we had a wonderful stay. It started with a conversation with the owner during the reservation process. When we told him that we were travelling with a 2-year old, he recommended the right room for us (no. 5). He had his staff accomodate our very late arrival (thank you, Anna!!!). We got in at midnight, and found our 1 bedroom all set up with a very comfy queen and single set up, ready for sleeping!

Throughout our stay, Emiglio, Judy, Eddie & Anna made sure we were comfortable, changing their cleaning routine to accomodate our son's naps, always asking if we needed anything more, and keeping the entire premises spotless.

About the room: The mattress and single looked and felt new, the bedding and towels and carpet were in great shape. The bathroom was very clean, including the bathtub. The flat screen TV has a built-in DVD player, so you can bring your favourite movies or find a rental place. The BBQ and balcony are nice - the deli/grocery store a couple of blocks away has nice meats and marinated kabobs that you can grill for a nice sunset dinner! There are plenty of beach chairs to take to the beach. The hot tub / pool was well heated, and we went in a few times despite it being only mid-70s during our stay.

We checked out a lot of rooms at The Sabal Palms. They are all nice and clean. Not all of them have a bath tub, only a shower, so contact the manager and ask for a room with a bath tub if you need one. We definitively needed one. Our son loves taking a bath.

Plenty of restaurants to choose from within walking distance, although we ate in almost every night. Paradise Sweets is a real treat, with homemade ice cream and cappcinos and a selection of candies that you can buy in bulk. Great burgers at The Hurricane and great breakfasts at The Sea Horse.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TAB2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Pete Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Coconut Inn
Coconut Inn
#3 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
668 reviews
0.1 mi away
Havana Inn
Havana Inn
#18 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
90 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Don CeSar
The Don CeSar
#8 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
3,526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Inn on the Beach
Inn on the Beach
#1 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
612 reviews
2.5 mi away
Sirata Beach Resort
Sirata Beach Resort
#14 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4,031 reviews
2.0 mi away
Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sabal Palms Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sabal Palms Inn

Property: Sabal Palms Inn
Address: 1301 Gulfway, St. Pete Beach, FL 33706
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Pete Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#3 Family Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in St. Pete Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sabal Palms Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sabal Palms Inn is a family run inn directly facing the Gulf of Mexico. The only thing that separates you from the sandy white beach and the warm Gulf waters is a small two way utility road. Located in historic Pass-a-Grille where there is nothing growing on the beach except for nature. Proud member of the Tampa Bay Beaches Chamber or Commerce and the Superior Small Lodging Association. Winner of the 2015 SSL White Glove Award. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Sabal Palms Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sabal Palms Hotel Saint Pete Beach
Sabal Palms Motel
Sabal Palms Inn St. Pete Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing