We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Personal touch not immediately apparent”
Review of Sabal Palms Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sabal Palms Inn
Ranked #4 of 32 Hotels in St. Pete Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 28, 2005

Stayed in Nov, our 3rd trip to P-A-G and our 2nd at Sabal Palms. Had reserved a seafront room prior to our arrival in USA but were disappointed on arrival to find our booking had been cancelled and the room occupied by other guests. The place was full but thankfully had just 1 room left that wasn't in the basement (hurray!) so we stayed on the side instead but were not offered apology or discount by staff at the time. This caused an argument between me and my husband who was not in the mood for unexpected surprises! On our return to UK the owner later made amends and admitted there'd been a booking error, which didn't help us at the time but has restored my faith in small run places which actually care for their guests. Personal touch is the main selling point of Sabal Palms, otherwise you may as well stay at big hotels further up St Petes beach. Plus points are that your sheets and towels changed every day and the place clean enough, obviously the location is a huge point too. Areas that need attention are the pool and the BBQ - we bought groceries one night and got back to find problems with the gas and the ignition on the BBQ. Thankfully husband runs engineering firm so when he got a shrug-oh-well-type response from site staff, he gritted his teeth and got his tools out and fixed it! As I say... personal touch needs to be REMEMBERED by staff as being their main selling point......

The whole PAG area is slowly developing but thankfully is relatively undisturbed. A new coffee house since our last visit and another art gallery, which is the kind of development I can live with ;-) Hope to return in April 2006 when the weather a little more consistent than November wild winds. Still stunning to be near the sea of course, and the free bikes and chairs always a winner. Owner has also assured me she will look at a dodgy light fitting in the pool, which is reassuring. All in all I look forward to seeing the improvements in April and would still choose to stay there.

  • Stayed: November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Vicky T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (639)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

619 - 625 of 639 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Atlanta
15
Reviewed July 6, 2005

Located at near southern tip of St. Pete Beach, Sabal Palm Motel is a family operated and little known motel. For about $80 a night (during the 7/4 weekend), you get a clean and spacious room with kitchenette. Access to the beach is simply crossing the street. They even offer free bikes that you can ride around town.

This is not a five star hotel. But in many ways, it is a lot more convenient. I can see why one of the reviewers warned about room #6. You don't have the view there. But you still have the location.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Orlando, FL
319
Reviewed April 28, 2004

Winter rates keep me away (darn you, snowbirds!), but summer at Sabal Palms is an unbelievable deal. $55-65 a night with a kitchen (inc coffeemaker), on the quietest historic beach on the gulf.

I actually prefer the basement rooms, which are cheaper and larger-- usually containing a futon as well as a queen-sized bed.

The grill, bikes, decked patio area, ENORMOUS hot tub, beach chairs (they've been available every time I've been) and friendly staff make for a very hospitable stay. This ain't the Ritz, but it's spotlessly clean, and steps from the beach.

I go three or four times a year and would stay nowhere else.

6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2004

The rooms vary quite a bit here. Avoid #6 which is in the basement and the only daylight coming in is from a little bathroom window. It also has no tub, only a shower stall. This room was definitely NOT worth the money. Still, Passe-Grille is great and the beach is just across the street. The hot tub IS the pool by the way. The "empty" pool quoted in other reviews here is actually on a defunct property next door. I think I'd stay elsewhere and visit Passe-Grille next time. For the same money as this place charges, you can get a real pool and be on or near the beach in nearby places such as Madeira Beach.

  • Stayed: January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bobsers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2004

A great little motel on Pass-a-Grille Beach! We celebrated our 20th anniversary here April, 2004 and were pleased with the price and location. Within easy walking distance of the great Hurricane Seafood Restaurant and Seaside Grille and Beach Shop, right on beach. Room was small but clean and comfortable w/ kitchenette and great view of gulf sunsets. Problems were minor...a squeaky window air conditioner (but not obnoxiously so), unfilled swimming pool, hot tub commandeered by kids from closer units. Still, overall a great bargain for our budget, and quieter and less congested than everything north of the Don. Definitely no frills, but daily maid service and fresh towels and linens are provided. A perfect jumping off point for the rest of the beaches and attractions here, or just walk across the street and drift off on your own piece of sand. Will definitely consider staying here again w/o kids.

2  Thank ColorBars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Las habitaciones del primer piso son mejores que las de la planta baja.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Marta P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank Schweiz2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Pete Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Coconut Inn
Coconut Inn
#2 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
697 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Don CeSar
The Don CeSar
#6 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
3,894 reviews
3.3 mi away
St Pete Beach Suites
St Pete Beach Suites
#3 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Havana Inn
Havana Inn
#17 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
104 reviews
2.5 mi away
Sirata Beach Resort
Sirata Beach Resort
#12 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4,316 reviews
0 mi away
Inn on the Beach
Inn on the Beach
#1 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sabal Palms Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sabal Palms Inn

Address: 1301 Gulfway, St. Pete Beach, FL 33706
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Pete Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#2 Family Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in St. Pete Beach
Price Range: $167 - $332 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sabal Palms Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sabal Palms Inn is a family run inn directly facing the Gulf of Mexico. The only thing that separates you from the sandy white beach and the warm Gulf waters is a small two way utility road. Located in historic Pass-a-Grille where there is nothing growing on the beach except for nature. Proud member of the Tampa Bay Beaches Chamber or Commerce and the Superior Small Lodging Association. Winner of the 2015 SSL White Glove Award. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Sabal Palms Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sabal Palms Hotel Saint Pete Beach
Sabal Palms Motel
Sabal Palms Inn St. Pete Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing