We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There's no way this is #2 on St. Pete Beach...”
Review of Sabal Palms Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sabal Palms Inn
Ranked #4 of 32 Hotels in St. Pete Beach
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“There's no way this is #2 on St. Pete Beach...”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Don't understand all the fantastic reviews? This place is not what I expected.
Mold on shower curtain. The bed was so uncomfortable, they really need to replace it. We woke up with sore backs and necks. Bathroom had toothpaste stains on faucet/sink and hairs on toilet seat (needless to say we wiped down everything with Clorox wipes). So thankful we brought our own sheets and pillows..the ones provided were dingy and old. Carpet is disgusting.
Yes the location is fabulous and the guy that checked us in was friendly enough....but I would never EVER stay here again.. So disappointed I trusted the reviews on tripadvisor...makes you wonder if the reviews are legit......

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Nathan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SabalPalmsInn, Owner at Sabal Palms Inn, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Nathan - thank you for choosing Sabal Palms and yes we agree that the location is fabulous and our staff is quite friendly. We very recently received a perfect score and White Glove Award from the local chapter of the Superior Small Lodging Association. The reviews that are posted here right before and after yours are coincidentally from guests who stayed in your same exact room. All our bedding is brand new as we have been upgrading all the bedding at all our properties and the flooring throughout the unit had just been replaced. The fact that you travel with your own sheets and pillows perhaps indicates that you really just prefer your own. We did also wonder why you had towels spread out all over the floor throughout the room. Wearing flip flops while in the room would have been more environmentally friendly than having us washing all those towels but we were happy to do it if that made your stay more comfortable. Lastly anyone can email any Tripadvisor member who has reviewed our property and ask them if their glowing reviews are legit. We have been in business for almost 30 years and have guests that have been coming back every year for many years. We are very proud of our staff, the extreme cleanliness of our rooms and the satisfaction of our guests experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

623 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    451
    125
    27
    13
    7
See reviews for
186
290
38
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

The hotel is in a lovely location, right opposite the gorgeous Pass A Grille beach and a short five minute walk to the very good restaurants and bars that service this area. I stayed in one of the studio rooms which was immaculate and had a gorgeous wooden balcony with table, chairs and parasol outside my room overlooking the little pool. Perfect for an early evening relax and drink before heading out. The room had everything you need and everything seemed very new - so iron and board, fully equipped kitchen etc.

The pool is small but just what you need to cool off and has a lovely spa bubbles setting you can switch on for 15 minutes whenever you fancy it. It's surrounded by loungers with comfy cushions and the layout is such that there's always a place to sit in the shade when you've had enough sun. Guests can also use the larger pool at the Coconut Inn which is great.

Eddie the manager is an absolute superstar. I checked in at the last minute and he was incredibly accommodating and friendly. He helped us with knowledge of the local area and always stopped to chat as he was going about his work.

The unthinkable happened on my last day because my hire car wouldn't start. Eddie sprang into action straight away and let us use the hotel phone to ring for a replacement whilst he tried to charge it. We had a 90 minute wait for a replacement car to come out and he made the air conditioned office available for us to sit in, even insisting that we sat in there to eat a burger we nipped out to buy whilst we were waiting. The Cuban lady who helps with the rooms is also absolutely lovely and made us feel incredibly welcome.

In the office there is a noticeboard with countless thank you letters and if you read the other reviews here you will see many repeat visitors of the hotel. That says it all. With so many suspicion comments on these sorts of sites from 'one review Ronnie's', this shows the Sabal Palms and sister hotel Coconut Inn are the real deal - absolutely fantastic. We will be back - and Eddie, thank you so much, we won't forget you.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClaireCEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We stayed here as part of our honeymoon in July. It actually was an unplanned stay, we needed to check out of The Beachcomber resort due to the constant noise. A quick phone call to Eddie at The Sabal Palms and we were booked in for the remaining days.
The surrounding area of Passe A Grille is beautiful, with beaches to die for, and if you're looking for a peaceful base to explore from, this is the place for you.
The staff, especially Eddie, couldn't be more helpful, even helping us out when our rental car broke down! The room we had was lovely, just overlooking the hot tub pool, and if you wanted a bigger pool you can also use the facilities at the nearby Coconut Inn.
Just perfect, then only thing I didn't like.....having to leave.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

Six years in a row and looking forward to many more years of vacationing at this lovely inn just across the street from the gulf. Thank so much to Judy, Eddie, Anna and the rest of the staff for another delightful stay!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Karen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Outstanding facility, staff, accommodation and cleanliness were top notch. I wIll stay again and again. Thank you for a wonderful relaxing trip. I have highly recommend this resort to my family and friends.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaxmidweay9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breda, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

We were very pleasantly surprised by this small place, directly across from the beach entrance. We had a gulf-front room and we can only be positive about the place. The immediate surrounding area has restaurants within walking distance, as well as plenty of dolphin-spotting opportunities in the bay on the other side of the block! Very laid-back atmosphere so come here if that is what you are looking for!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Muk_muk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eustis, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Property is well kept and rooms are clean. Eddie, Anna and the rest of the staff are excellent! Complimentary use of bicycles, beach chairs and gas grill is great. Previous reviews have complained about rusty bikes. While there are still a few older bikes, there are many new bikes too. Even the older ones work perfectly fine. Sunset views are spectacular! Great place for a family vacation! This will be a place we will visit for future vacations.

Room Tip: Rooms 1, 2, and 3 may be the best views, but room 7 also has an excellent view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Omar_in_Eustis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Pete Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Coconut Inn
Coconut Inn
#3 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
673 reviews
0.1 mi away
Havana Inn
Havana Inn
#18 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
93 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Don CeSar
The Don CeSar
#7 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
3,574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Inn on the Beach
Inn on the Beach
#1 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
634 reviews
2.5 mi away
Sirata Beach Resort
Sirata Beach Resort
#14 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4,113 reviews
2.0 mi away
Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sabal Palms Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sabal Palms Inn

Property: Sabal Palms Inn
Address: 1301 Gulfway, St. Pete Beach, FL 33706
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Pete Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#3 Family Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in St. Pete Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sabal Palms Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sabal Palms Inn is a family run inn directly facing the Gulf of Mexico. The only thing that separates you from the sandy white beach and the warm Gulf waters is a small two way utility road. Located in historic Pass-a-Grille where there is nothing growing on the beach except for nature. Proud member of the Tampa Bay Beaches Chamber or Commerce and the Superior Small Lodging Association. Winner of the 2015 SSL White Glove Award. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Sabal Palms Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sabal Palms Hotel Saint Pete Beach
Sabal Palms Motel
Sabal Palms Inn St. Pete Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing