We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kick back at the Sandpiper”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort
Ranked #10 of 32 Hotels in St. Pete Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow (Scotland)
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Kick back at the Sandpiper”
Reviewed July 9, 2007

My family (2 x adults, one 12 year old and one 8 year old) stayed at the Sandpiper for 7 nights in mid-April. After two weeks in Orlando, we needed somewhere to chill out and enjoy the sun. The Sandpiper provided everything we could have wished for.

Prior to departure, we upgraded to a Sea View room. Upon arrival, our room was double-booked, so the hotel immediately upgraded us again to a Sea View Suite at no extra charge. The room was fantastic - very spacious and always clean.

The hotel like our room was always immaculately presented. The outside areas, were well watered and looked after. The pool was also cleaned daily and the hotel's beach, which has ample cabanas and beds, was cleaned each evening.

We did not use the hotel's restaurant, as the surrounding areas has ample restaurants to cater for all tastes.

All in all a great holiday and a hotel that we would definitely go back to.

  • Liked — Spaciousness
  • Disliked — Some loud music from neighbouring hotel on theme nights.
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank userma3573
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,613 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,440
    687
    286
    121
    79
See reviews for
1,033
778
68
130
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (691)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast. Northern Ireland.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2007

Tradewinds Sandpiper. Date 19th to 26th June. We have been staying here for the last 12 years. When we book, we always make sure the sandpiper is one of the hotels on offer.When in orlando, with all the hustle and bustle that goes on we are so glad to get down to the sandpiper for a well earned rest. The setting of the hotel is ideal, swimming pools, the closeness of the beach and of course the pipers patio and pool bar when you need cool drinks and refreshments. The staff are great, the hospitality excellent and the cleanliness of the hotel is a tribute to all those who work there. I forgot to mention one other place, the hotel shop, its always needed especially by my better half and my daughter. this year we had our second daughter and her fiance with us and they loved the hotel, they will be hoping to come back next year. signing off now, but hope to be back january or april 2008.

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank truckerunit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 28, 2007

Check in was easy, the room and hotel was very clean, staff was extremely friendly and hospitable. Loved the weekend and would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Liked — The weather!
  • Disliked — Not much!
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tuffguy216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2007

What a trip. We actually had reservation at another hotel and after we arrived we were ready to leave. It was horrible. We called Tradewinds and they booked us a suite for the next four nights. We were so happy there and will never stay at another place when we are visiting St. Pete Beach. Everything about the place was wonderful. The room was beautiful and had everything we needed. The staff was great. We don't have one complaint. Everyone was always willing to help and always had a smile on their face. The whole resort was kept up so nice. They were always cleaning and kept if up so nice. I would recommed this place to anyone. It is our families favorite vacation spot.
Jill Schmidt

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
5 Thank Momfor4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2007

Staff was unprofessional, music played on speaker by pool right outside our suite all night long, without stopping. Room (suite, no less) was cramped. Essentially, this hotel is way too low-class for the considerable price they charge.

  • Liked — proximity to beach
  • Disliked — low class accommodations, unprofessional staff
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank bairdjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2007

We were placed in a resort that was supposed to be a 4 star resort
........Not the case...we contacted our travel rep and were relocated
to the Sandpiper. What a relief.....it was first class all the way, from reception, housekeeping, to general staff. The gounds and suites
were most impressive. The Sandpiper saved our holiday! I would not hesitate to recommed this resort to anyone and we will be sure to stay there again on our next holiday to St Petes....Thank you Tradewinds

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
5 Thank Larryconnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FLorida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2007

My first stay at TradeWinds occured when your wonderful company offered free night stay for teachers. We enjoyed the experience so much that when my sister came down from New York for my Mother's 85th
birthday, we decided to celebrate at the TradeWinds.

Four generations (my mother, my daughter my granddaughter and I) enjoyed the amenities at TradeWinds. There were activities to keep everyone happy.

The rooms were spacious and nicely decorated. The meals at the restaurants were terrific with great prices.

All of the employees were wonderful, helpful and extremely courteous.

We will definitely be back. I have recommended you to my brother. He'll be here in August!

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank SoleilS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Pete Beach hotels
1.7 mi away
The Don CeSar
The Don CeSar
#7 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,474 reviews
0.1 mi away
Postcard Inn on the Beach
Postcard Inn on the Beach
#19 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
0.7 mi away
Dolphin Beach Resort
Dolphin Beach Resort
#21 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
TradeWinds Island Grand Resort
TradeWinds Island Grand Resort
#11 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,249 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sirata Beach Resort
Sirata Beach Resort
#15 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,945 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort

Property: Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort
Address: 6000 Gulf Blvd, St. Pete Beach, FL 33706-3712
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Pete Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#5 Business Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#7 Romantic Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#8 On the Beach Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#9 Family Hotel in St. Pete Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort, is located on the award-winning white sands of St. Pete Beach. Unwind at The SandBox beach lounge offering VIP Cabanas, open fire tables, and the popular Sand Bar beach bar. Dine on cutting edge seafood at RumFish Grill - showcasing a 33,500 gallon aquarium tank, indoor/outdoor bars, live entertainment and a retail store carrying the area's largest selection of Guy Harvey merchandise. Explore the shore, test your balancing skills on the Surf WipeOut ride, Swim with the Fish in our massive aquarium, master a stand-up paddleboard, take flight with JetLev, go on a fishing or diving adventure ... or unwind around our whirlpool and two swimming pools, one for adults only. Best of all, when you stay at this beachfront resort, you get to enjoy all the activities, recreation, restaurants and more at our neighboring sister resort, TradeWinds Island Grand! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tradewinds Sandpiper Hotel Saint Pete Beach
Tradewinds Sandpiper Resort
Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort St. Pete Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing