We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Was the perfect vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort
Ranked #9 of 32 Hotels in St. Pete Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 27, 2009

it was a spurr of the moment trip and I decided to try the Sandpiper..I was impressed by the online info,,The day we came down, the weather was perfect. As we arrived at the hotel, we were greeted by a very friendly staff.."this scored points"....They made sure we were comfortable and had everything we needed..next stop was the room..All I can say was wow..it was clean, roomy and the view was breath taking..for the next 5 days we basked in the sun and did some sight seeing..I do believe this was one vacation that was perfect from start to finish..Thank you and we will be back
Bruce and Peggy Reynhout

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rnhout7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,783)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,359 - 2,365 of 2,784 reviews

Reviewed November 27, 2009

Stayed three nights for a business meeting. Suite overlooking the gulf, dolphins swimming and playing in water, adult only pool and great food.

Stayed: October 2009, traveled on business
Thank DonaldDux1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2009

The good, the bad, the ugly:
UGLY: Nothing
BAD: Not really a resort. All the amenities were at the sister hotel. Not a big fan of the food, but that's personal taste. Frozen drinks 8.30...watched 'em made. If there were 1 oz of booze in it would have been a miracle. "Hot" water was lacking, but warm enough.
GOOD: Everything. Friendly staff. Room was acceptable cleanliness. and quiet. TV selection fair. Pools and hot tub nice. Beach, cabanas and staff excellent. Sister resort for breakfast buffet is recommended.
SUMMARY: Definitely a good choice for a quiet stay on the beach. Not much going on during the week, so a nice and quiet getaway.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leadpntchp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2009

Just got back yesterday from a five night stay at the Sandpiper. From the moment we checked in until the moment we left, every single staff member was amazingly helpful and friendly. We travel a lot and I think this was the best service anywhere. Our room was on the fifth floor with an ocean view. It was considered a gulf front room. We had a separate living room and kitchen stocked with pots, pans, etc...- it was terrific. There were two heated pools and a great hot tub that lit up different colors at night. The cabanas and hammocks on the beach are a nice touch. We also spent some time at the Island Grand (sister hotel a few doors down). We had dinner at both Bermudas and the Palm and both were very good. While in St. Pete, we went on the Dolphin Queen and as promised saw dolphins. My husband went on the Miss Pass-a-Grille deep sea fishing boat and caught some fish (and since we had the kitchen in our room, we were able to eat it for lunch). And, I can't forget Beverly's. A small restaurant down the street. I had heard they have great breakfast so we ordered some to go on our way to the airport. It was the best french toast I think I ever had!! I still want more. Terrific weather, terrific hotel and can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mich74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2009

The service provided by the restaurant, consierge, and grounds staff was excellent. The proximity of the beach to the property was great. The pools were very clean and the hot tub was accomodating. When my wife and I go down next year, I will probably stay at this resort again. I think my vacation was more restful with the accomodations I received.
Patrick Loyd

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheLoyds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2009

We have enjoyed staying at the TradeWinds Sandpiper for several years. I can't think of another place I would rather stay. The staff is very friendly and make the guests feel very comfortable. From the time we arrive to the time we check-out everyone is very courteous. Thank you Sandpiper staff!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IndianaJudyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2009

We had a great time at the Sandpiper in St. Pete Beach. There is plenty to do and the accommodations are great. Its nice to have the Tradewinds Grand next to it, so you can use their facilty too. The staff was excellent there and would like to give a Gold Star for Carmen the concierge. We would recommend this resort to anyone

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EricPalmbeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Pete Beach hotels
1.7 mi away
The Don CeSar
The Don CeSar
#7 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
3,790 reviews
0.1 mi away
Postcard Inn on the Beach
Postcard Inn on the Beach
#18 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
578 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sirata Beach Resort
Sirata Beach Resort
#13 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4,255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
TradeWinds Island Grand Resort
TradeWinds Island Grand Resort
#10 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
5,482 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center
0.9 mi away
Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort

Address: 6000 Gulf Blvd, St. Pete Beach, FL 33706-3712
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Pete Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#5 Business Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#7 Romantic Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#7 On the Beach Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#9 Family Hotel in St. Pete Beach
Price Range: $244 - $443 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort, is located on the award-winning white sands of St. Pete Beach. Unwind at The SandBox beach lounge offering VIP Cabanas, open fire tables, and the popular Sand Bar beach bar. Dine on cutting edge seafood at RumFish Grill - showcasing a 33,500 gallon aquarium tank, indoor/outdoor bars, live entertainment and a retail store carrying the area's largest selection of Guy Harvey merchandise. Explore the shore, test your balancing skills on the Surf WipeOut ride, Swim with the Fish in our massive aquarium, master a stand-up paddleboard, take flight with JetLev, go on a fishing or diving adventure ... or unwind around our whirlpool and two swimming pools, one for adults only. Best of all, when you stay at this beachfront resort, you get to enjoy all the activities, recreation, restaurants and more at our neighboring sister resort, TradeWinds Island Grand! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tradewinds Sandpiper Hotel Saint Pete Beach
Tradewinds Sandpiper Resort
Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort St. Pete Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing