We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort
Ranked #9 of 32 Hotels in St. Pete Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Hell, East Yorkshire.England
Level Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fab place to stay”
Reviewed August 8, 2009

We have jsut returned from Tradewinds Sandpiper, staying for a week after doing Disney. Could not fault it at all. We arrived a little early but having waited 2 hours for our room we were upgraded free of charge to a room overlooking the gulf with a balcony. Staff really pleasant and dined in several of the restaurants between this hotel and the sister Tradewinds Grand. Food excellent at both and fab beach. Would definately recommend it to anyone including people with kids.

Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Romsey8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,646 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,464
    692
    287
    123
    80
See reviews for
1,049
788
69
130
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (698)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2009

The rooms were clean, well kept and good size. The property overall was maintained extremly well. The staff was friendly and helpful, although we had a fairly unfriendly waitress at the patio restaurant the one time we ate there for lunch. But the beach staff, pool staff, cleaning and front desk folks were all great. Very very nice place and a very good value. Using the amenities at the Island Grand was very good too. The beach was great and the overall location was great. The main pool was very crowded all the time and the adult pool usually had no more than a few people. They should open up the adult pool to everyone. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bigbacon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level Contributor
163 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2009

Trade Winds was a good value.....nice resort....should have stayed longer! The only thing I wasn't crazy about was the lobby layout...it appeared a bit dismal.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elsbells63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolingbrook, IL
1 review
Reviewed August 4, 2009

My family has stayed at the Sand Piper whenever we went to FL during the past 9 years. The last time was 4 years ago when you were doing the renovation. We were among the last guests at that time. We liked that changes that have been made to your facility. The one that I most appreciated is the ADULTS ONLY pool. I think that was a vary good idea. It put to use a pool area that seemed to get very little use before. I think in all our stays there we used the old covered pool once while we were there for our daughters December graduation from USF. The only problem we had was my wife said the hot-tub area smelled like cat pee. Also, the pavers around the adult pool get really hot wo walk on without some sort of foot protection.

We will be back again and would not hesitate to reccomment the Sand Piper to any of our friends. Youf service is great.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flying-geezer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
1 review
Reviewed August 2, 2009

I've stayed at this hotel a couple of times and will definitely stay again on my next trip to St. Petersburg Beach. The hotel staff is very friendly and make you feel welcomed from the minute you walk in the lobby to when you leave. I highly recommend this hotel based on the location and the amenities available, including those at the sister resort, TradeWinds Island Grand.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terrapin87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinsville, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed July 28, 2009

We have never been to Florida, much less St. Pete Beach. I did my research and found that the Tradewinds sandpiper was one of the best and the best deal. I could not have been happier! Outstanding accomidations and we stayed in a suite. Beautiful well kept beach and cabanas, super helpful and friendly staff. Private close beach access, large "adult pool" small family pool, but we spent all our time in the gulf. We are going back next year and this is the only place we want to stay!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FLAdreaming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow Scotland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 27, 2009

We had a great stay at Tradwinds. Staff very good and a credit to the hotel. When we booked we thought we had booked the larger room with living area and small kitchen however on arrival we had only been allocated the standard room - check this out on booking as I would suggest you go for the bigger room if travelling with children.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mathesons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Pete Beach hotels
1.7 mi away
The Don CeSar
The Don CeSar
#8 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
3,519 reviews
0.1 mi away
Postcard Inn on the Beach
Postcard Inn on the Beach
#19 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
468 reviews
0.7 mi away
Dolphin Beach Resort
Dolphin Beach Resort
#21 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
TradeWinds Island Grand Resort
TradeWinds Island Grand Resort
#10 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
5,293 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sirata Beach Resort
Sirata Beach Resort
#13 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4,021 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort

Property: Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort
Address: 6000 Gulf Blvd, St. Pete Beach, FL 33706-3712
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Pete Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#5 Business Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#7 On the Beach Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#7 Romantic Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#9 Family Hotel in St. Pete Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort, is located on the award-winning white sands of St. Pete Beach. Unwind at The SandBox beach lounge offering VIP Cabanas, open fire tables, and the popular Sand Bar beach bar. Dine on cutting edge seafood at RumFish Grill - showcasing a 33,500 gallon aquarium tank, indoor/outdoor bars, live entertainment and a retail store carrying the area's largest selection of Guy Harvey merchandise. Explore the shore, test your balancing skills on the Surf WipeOut ride, Swim with the Fish in our massive aquarium, master a stand-up paddleboard, take flight with JetLev, go on a fishing or diving adventure ... or unwind around our whirlpool and two swimming pools, one for adults only. Best of all, when you stay at this beachfront resort, you get to enjoy all the activities, recreation, restaurants and more at our neighboring sister resort, TradeWinds Island Grand! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tradewinds Sandpiper Hotel Saint Pete Beach
Tradewinds Sandpiper Resort
Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort St. Pete Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing