We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alden Suites(St. Pete Beach)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TradeWinds Island Grand Resort(St. Pete Beach)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Gulf Tides Inn(St. Pete Beach)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
St Pete Beach Suites(St. Pete Beach)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sirata Beach Resort(St. Pete Beach)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sundial Beach Motel(St. Pete Beach)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (2,942)
Filter reviews
2,942 results
Traveler rating
1,651
749
314
135
93
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,651
749
314
135
93
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsadult poolgulfside grillfamily poolsand barfish tanksister hotelrum fish grillbar next doorpaddle boatsgulf view suitethe trade windsstandard roomfire pitfront rowtoasted monkeygulf sidelive music
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,574 - 2,579 of 2,942 reviews
Reviewed July 4, 2009

Stayed 4 nights in late June. The location was very convenient and the staff very friendly. The beach is VERY shell-y. If you are looking for white sand, head for Sarasota. We chose Sandpiper over Grand Island, and for the money we probably should have picked Grand Island. Not much going on at Sandpiper. Shop closes at 6 PM. Coffee bar closed at 1PM. Restaurant was decent and poolside bar was convenient (if not a tad over-priced). If you buy into "location, location, location" this is the place. If you like the little "extras" that come with being on vacation, look elsewhere, especially at this price.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ajwcaw12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2009

We have stayed at the Tradewinds Sandpiper several times and have always had a great experience! The same was true again this year. With it's location on the Gulf and the beautiful sunsets we love! The rooms are clean and roomy and the grounds are immaculate. Breakfast at Pipers Patio, right by the pool and the beach in view, wow! The staff are always welcoming and give great service throughout the hotel. It's also nice that you are able to enjoy the amenities at the sister property, Tradewinds Island Grand, then go back to the "home aways from home" cozy atmosphere at the Sandpiper!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stpetelover1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2009

Tradewinds is a great place to stay for business or pleasure. The staff takes care of you tremendously and the accomodations are inviting. Location is convenient to attractions as well as a great beach spot. I will stay there again!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeachbumJasper_AL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2009

The Sandpiper staff was extremely helpful and polite. This quiet resort had inviting rooms that were nicely decorated and clean. A nice touch was the delivery of a newspaper to your door daily. This beach front property is fantastic. Having the ability to use facilites at the Grand Isle and Sandpiper is great for all. I enjoyed the adult swimming pool and the feeling of safety being away from home. This resort is rich in resources and close to many neighboring areas. Overall, I loved my stay and it was hassle-free!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JuJu38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2009

We are locals, who just wanted to play tourist... We arrived very early in the day. Front desk took our cell #, and we went to the beach. They called at 12:30 to say the room was ready - great, as checkin is 4:00. I booked on Priceline for $50/night (plus the $25 resort fee - more on that later), upgraded for $20 to gulf front - would seem a good deal. However, we learned that all gulf front rooms face the "family" pool. We were concerned about hearing noise from the pool in our room, and were assured it would be quiet on the top floor. Okay... til we tried to nap and could not from the noise... Our room 7800 (I think) was a "romance suite," - with hot tub and large adjacent walk-in shower (room for two, no door and within view of the bed), kitchenette, and the only rooms with king beds. Nice view, but a weird layout, and shower a little public for my taste. There also were no hooks or towel bars anywhere near the shower, which was odd. It did have a beautiful view - but just patio door and a railing - no balcony. The room was nice enough, but we wanted a quieter location, so we moved the next morning to a balcony room facing the adult pool - these are more like an apartment, very comfortable with separate bedroom and living area. It was much quieter. Highly recommend this location and these rooms. They waived the upcharge because we'd been unhappy with the 1st room, so I'm not sure what the difference would be. We spent our two days either on the beach or by the adult pool, and just enjoying the area. The hotel is very clean and well maintained, most staff was friendly and pretty accommodating. We did find the beds a little hard, and sheets not very soft, but these are personal preferences. We did not eat at any of the on-site restaurants or use any of the amenities. The resort fee - non-negotiable - covers parking, beach cabanas, paddleboat at the sister property, daily newspaper, fitness center, etc... They would be better served to simply add this to their rates as we met several people who complained about the fee being charged over and above the usual rate. Then they could advertise "free parking, beach cabanas" etc... That said, even with the fee, we really liked this hotel, and would happily stay there again, or recommend to others, with the few suggestions and caveats above. We especially liked the very separate adult and children's pool areas.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bailey57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews