We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT VACATION WITH WONDERFUL STAFF AND AMENITIES”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort
Ranked #10 of 32 Hotels in St. Pete Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“GREAT VACATION WITH WONDERFUL STAFF AND AMENITIES”
Reviewed December 19, 2013

I had a great time at TradeWinds Guy Harvey Beach Resort Outpost in Saint Pete beach.
I was treated with a smile and welcomed like royalty. We were greeted first and helped by Richard at the front desk. He was very informative and professional checking my fiance and I in to our accommodation. He informed us of everything that was going on in the resort as well the surrounding areas including food and such activities I can attend on my stay. I wanted to make my stay special and I certainly did from the very first day with my fiance.Thanks to Richard and the staff made it all happen.

Resort facilities were sparkling clean. Amenities offered in the resort are mind blowing! They have Happy Hour 5-6pm which was awesome! The bar tender Victor was very friendly. We received all his attention to details and the drinks he made were splendid. He made us laugh and spoke of the Island of Saint Pete like paradise.

I want to thank and give recommendation Guy Harvey Outpost, it was pleasurable and totally enjoyable. I will diffidently be staying in the resort in the near future. I joined the membership club which allows me to receive emails of future events and special rates also.

Looking Forward

Thanks again

Juan Alvarado

Room Tip: They have a room for all types of travelers. I stayed in the romance room which comes with a Jacuzzi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TradeWinds-Leni, Manager at Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Hello Juan A,
Thanks so much for taking the time to share the details of your stay and recognize our staff members. It makes us so happy to know that all aspects of your visit were positive. You are so close, so please, please come back to see us again soon!
Kind Regards,
Leni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,608 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,436
    686
    286
    121
    79
See reviews for
1,031
775
68
130
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (690)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Augustine, FL
Level Contributor
104 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I wanted time with our young adult children. The entire staff is extremely friendly. We stayed in room 5822 which has amazing views of the beach and gulf. You can watch dolphins pass every morning. We have a spacious livingroom with small eating area, granite top kitchen with full ref. Two burner stove top & micriwave and seperate bedroom with two double beds. Beach cabanas for two with cushioned seats are included in stay. Great location- close to so much. Best location around!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank happycouple02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TradeWinds-Leni, Manager at Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Hello happycouple02,
Thank you for sharing your family getaway with us. We're glad you had a room with a fantastic view, enjoyed our beach cabanas, and even got to spot some of our dolphin friends. Please come back to our side of the state for another getaway soon.
Kind Regards,
Leni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 11, 2013

Great location, great staff, great value for money.

I particularly appreciated how peaceful it was ... this was a serious chill out experience.

Dining was really limited but with Spinners across the street and its bigger sister hotel 5 mins down the beach, all was well.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank raylegatouk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TradeWinds-Leni, Manager at Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Hello raylegatouk,
We're really happy that you got to experience some peace and quiet while you were here. Thank you for sharing your experience and your outlook on our property, location, staff, and restaurants. We hope you come back to 'chill' with us again!
Kind Regards,
Leni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is on St Pete's Beach. It displays Guy Harvey's art at various locations in and on the hotel. It is very clean. It has lots of extras available to make the stay enjoyable. They have paddle boats, massages even on the beach. If you stay here be sure and get out on the beach before 9 and it is amazing to see everything that came ashore overnight

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TradeWinds-Leni, Manager at Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Hello Mary L,
We're so happy you had an 'awesome' time with us! Sounds like you had the opportunity to enjoy some of the best amenities we have to offer at both of our properties. Thank you so much for sharing. We hope you come back to see us again.
Kind Regards,
Leni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 11, 2013

Although staff at Guy Harvey Outpost cannot control the weather, they do everything in their power to provide a warm, idyllic visit. The atmosphere is relaxed, and any worries you bring with you quickly drift out to sea. The resort setting looks out onto several heated pools and the calm waters of the Gulf of Mexico, and at night the Sand Bar or a nearby hammock is the place to be as you watch the sun set and the moon rise.

Room Tip: Pick from one of the many rooms providing a view of the Gulf of Mexico, and preferably one on a high...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TradeWinds-Leni, Manager at Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Hello Brian W,
Unfortunately, you are right. We cannot control the weather, but we're so happy to hear that despite the inclement weather, you had a fantastic stay. Thank you so much for sharing your experience at our property and with our staff. We hope you will come back to relax and unwind with us again soon!
Kind Regards,
Leni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermilion, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 5, 2013

Within walking distance of some great restaurants. Rooms were clean and looked recently painted. We had a living room, small kitchen and a separate bedroom. Two pools, happy hour and a grat location right onthe beach.

The sevice staff was excellent. If you needed help the employees went out of the way to accomodate you. I would definetly stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lafefront
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TradeWinds-Leni, Manager at Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Hello Lafefront,
Thank you for sharing your experience. We're happy to hear that you loved our location, accommodations, pools and happy hour. On behalf of our entire staff, we hope you will come back to visit us again!
Kind Regards,
Leni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
340 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights in November. I wanted to rate it 3.5 but don't feel that it justified a 4 star as there were too many cons for us.

The check in was efficient and staff good. The lobby itself is small which isn't a negative and there is a lobby bar that also functions as place in morning to get coffee and pastry. There is a nice gift shop on site with usual stuff. I didn't like the fact that right after checking in that you went to another desk for your parking pass and they try to get you to go to a 2 hour viewing of a time share.

The room we had was good and bad. The good is that it was on the 7th floor where there are three penthouses and 2 rooms. The best thing about room wasn't room itself but the terrace that came with room. It was great that you could step out and have a side view of the ocean/beach (over the parking lot) . It was also great to have a table/chairs as well as 2 lounge chairs. The room itself was very small. King bed/flat screen with a small bathroom. It was big enough but just barely for 2 people. Small efficiency with sink, frig, and microwave. The bed was comfortable but the room could use updating. Just felt old from decor to bed coverings. Housekeeping was efficient and room was cleaned by 12 each day.

The bad thing about the room is that it faced the Toasted Monkey Bar next door at HJ and another bar next to that and the music was loud to 11 or 12 each night….Had to shut slider in order to try and get sleep but would have rather had fresh air.

Great thing about hotel is that it is right on St. Pete Beach. From the lobby to the beach is 30 seconds. This is fabulous. Had two pools that were small but very clean and warm. One is an adults only which was great. There is also a hot tub but three of the jets weren't working.

There is an outdoor bar where they have a free happy hour each evening. However, the problem at least for me is that the "free" is limited to a local beer, a pineapple rum drink, and a few house wines. The bar tenders are friendly and prompt but would like to see the selection change on a daily basis. However, they are liberal with the drinks which would be great if you like the rum drink and/or beer.

The beach is beautiful with lots of cabanas. I didn't like the fact that you had to pay a $35 resort fee on a daily basis for a newspaper that I didn't read and a wifi that I didn't use. I knew it before I went but it was bothersome and another $140 in fees…..You also got use of a cabana but when you request front row, the attendant wanted to charge another 15 dollars which was Ridiculous!!! Took a 2nd row for no additional charge. There were plenty of towels to use and you can reserve a cabana in advance if you want. ONce again at the time of year and the number of people there , there was no problem in obtaining a cabana.

The property is very clean. Did a good job of scrubbing each morning. The is a small restaurant on site that serves decent food. However, there are many restaurants up and down the beach with in a short walk if you want variety including the sister property: Tradewinds. You also have use of the water slide which was fun to use.

My least favorite thing about the hotel is the constant pushing of the timeshare. Everytime we went through the lobby, the people at desk were asking us about it and even when we left there was a message on the phone to come back for a 3 night/4 day at a great price but you had to sit through a 2 hour presentation for the timeshare. We had no interest in it so it didn't make sense to do it. I didn't want to be pestered every time through lobby either and that was a nuisance.

All in all there were pluses and minuses with hotel but the pluses outweighed the minuses and is a decent hotel at a great location with great staff

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank J0hnPM10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TradeWinds-Leni, Manager at Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Hello J0hnPM10,
Thank you for providing your review and for sharing your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your room's view of the gulf, our adult-only pool, beach cabanas and our free happy hour. Again, thank you for sharing your thoughts. We are relieved to hear that overall you had a positive experience at our resort. We hope to see you again.
Kind Regards,
Leni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Pete Beach hotels
1.7 mi away
The Don CeSar
The Don CeSar
#8 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,461 reviews
0.1 mi away
Postcard Inn on the Beach
Postcard Inn on the Beach
#19 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
0.7 mi away
Dolphin Beach Resort
Dolphin Beach Resort
#21 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
TradeWinds Island Grand Resort
TradeWinds Island Grand Resort
#9 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,242 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sirata Beach Resort
Sirata Beach Resort
#15 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,928 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort

Property: Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort
Address: 6000 Gulf Blvd, St. Pete Beach, FL 33706-3712
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Pete Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#5 Business Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#7 Romantic Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#8 On the Beach Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#9 Family Hotel in St. Pete Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort, is located on the award-winning white sands of St. Pete Beach. Unwind at The SandBox beach lounge offering VIP Cabanas, open fire tables, and the popular Sand Bar beach bar. Dine on cutting edge seafood at RumFish Grill - showcasing a 33,500 gallon aquarium tank, indoor/outdoor bars, live entertainment and a retail store carrying the area's largest selection of Guy Harvey merchandise. Explore the shore, test your balancing skills on the Surf WipeOut ride, Swim with the Fish in our massive aquarium, master a stand-up paddleboard, take flight with JetLev, go on a fishing or diving adventure ... or unwind around our whirlpool and two swimming pools, one for adults only. Best of all, when you stay at this beachfront resort, you get to enjoy all the activities, recreation, restaurants and more at our neighboring sister resort, TradeWinds Island Grand! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tradewinds Sandpiper Hotel Saint Pete Beach
Tradewinds Sandpiper Resort
Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort St. Pete Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing