We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort
Ranked #9 of 32 Hotels in St. Pete Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Hazlet, New Jersey
1 review
“Great time!”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

It was our second visit to the hotel. We got off to a rough start by upgrading our room. The management was professional and resolved our misunderstanding. We loved our ground floor room with ability to use both pools and the beach. Getting a beach cabana is easy using the hotel's "reserve my cabana.com". Just book online after 5:00pm and pick your cabana, it's.ready for you in the AM. We plan on coming back as soon as late Oct. for some R&R. The management is concerned about accommodating it's visitors, that's just the way it should be!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luvtoteach7713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,728 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,519
    704
    290
    129
    86
See reviews for
1,096
812
71
132
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (716)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a suite that was very tiny, far too small for our party of six. I have seen cruise cabins that have more elbow room. The location can't be beat, smack dab on the beautiful Gulf of Mexico. The pools are the smallest I have ever seen at a resort, but there are plenty to choose from at The Island Grand, which is all one big resort all together. I am highly disappointed that when I called the main number they referred us to The Guy Harvey Resort because we had three children. I found just the opposite to be true, The Island Grand is much better suited if you are traveling with children because that is where all the kids activities are held, and The Guy Harvey resort is way more calm and better suited for adults only.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelPartner50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 29, 2013

This vacation was a perfect get away from reality! The entire family had a great time! The staff were ALL helpful, attentive and very accommodating!! The hotel was very clean and met our every expectation! We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martmich3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie M, Manager at Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Glad you enjoyed your stay! See you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shelliej01
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

This was our first time staying in St. Pete's Beach and at the OutPost.

OVERALL
it was a great time, better yet, an amazing time. We sunned and sunned some more. The Outpost is a nice resort. You get your money's worth each and every day.

THE ROOMS
This was the only area where i truly believe the resort could use some serious improveemnts.
Our rooms were mediocre at best. The bathtubs weren't very clean, we didn't have enough dishes, our room attendant didn't do such a great job cleaning our room. i wasn't so impressed at all.

CUSTOMER SERVICE
I wont say that customer service was bad. It was okay at the Outpost. With the time we spent at the Island Grand, i will say that the service and attitudes, wtc. was definitely better.

THE BEACH
Waking up every morning with the knowledge that we had our cabanas reserved for the day was a wonderful feeling. The beaches were great and the sand was beautiful and soft. Easy walk to the beach each day... We spend out 2nd and 3rd days at the island grand and defintiely preferred our overall experience there. All the amenities are there anyway so it made sense.

THE AMENITES
BAR NONE - WONDERFUL. The water slide was great for the kids. my almost 3 year old did it over and over and over again - with dad. The ocean obstacle course was the kids favorite. because they were entertained, it gave me an opportunity to truly relax. I was able to focus on the baby and truly have a great grat time.

I will say that i will spend my time and money at the Island Grand next time. and yes, we will be back.

Room Tip: STAY AT THE GRAND... or if you plan to stay at the Outpost, don't take the rooms facing the adul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shelliej01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We had a brief stay mid week and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Plenty of parking, friendly helpful staff. Our 1-bedroom suite was roomy, mini kitchen had all but a dishwasher. We had a gulf front room with a balcony on the 6th floor, and lovely view. I love Guy Harvey's work and our room had lots of his art framed. The gift shop also offers prints and merchandise at rather good prices. The whole hotel is lined with his great fish.

As guests we had unlimited access to the 3-story inflatable slide and enjoyed that too. Happy hour and cabana use is a nice bonus. The beach is huge and clean (don't bother shelling) and when we were there the gulf was uncharacteristically wild with 3' waves and a tide that pulled us quickly south, making for a lot of fun bodysurfing. So read and heed their beach warnings.

I initially regretted not getting a ground floor patio room with its table and chairs right outside the sliding glass door. However, the kid/family pool is directly in front and the kid sounds could get on one's nerves if one didn't appreciate children. I'd get over it quickly though, because the convenience to the beach, activities, and happy hour is literally steps away. The adult pool is away from the beach so it was out of the wind and noise.

Restaurant down by the pool had great offerings and food was fresh and deelish. Lots of good restaurants around. But for the love of all things holy, be careful crossing Gulf Blvd!

My only quibble: sofa bed was not for adults (kids can sleep on a hammock all night, they don't care) it was flat and mushy, but my 2 older teens had no issue with it. If you have an air mattress, bring it along, just in case.

Room Tip: If you have school-age kids, get that ground floor gulf-side room. I might be nervous with toddlers...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomaston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgantown, West Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here last minute. We booked 2 days prior to the trip because our favorite place was sold out. We were pleasantly surprised and our 8 year old loved it. It has a sister resort just a short walk away and you can use both facilities. The are several pools, restaurants, paddle boats, pirate show, hair braiding and craft activities. I will say that it's not the place to visit if you are looking for a quiet get away. We loved the kids activities and giant water slides. Also, the staff was super friendly and accommodating. The room service breakfast was very prompt. It always arrived within 30 minutes. Just keep in mind this is a very busy place with lots of kids, but we were looking for that.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank STJh0me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie M, Manager at Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you for your review! We're glad you had the opportunity to stay with us and enjoy your time here. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

This is our second stay at St Pete's Beach. We had paid for an upgrade before leaving the UK and on arrival we were informed that the upgrade rooms were not available owing to the refurbishment and we were upgraded to a larger room at no extra cost. Our room was located on the ground floor near the pool which was ok. The room was clean except from the smell of tobacco smoke which might have drifted in from guests smoking outside in adjacent hotels.

Our room was of average size, separate bedroom and seating with a small kitchenette in between. The seating area outside was very public. It did beg the question how is this considered an upgrade and what do you get if you choose a basic room?

However on the first night we were woken up by a loud banging noise coming from a faulty swimming pool pump. the noise continued intermittently for the rest of the night. We contacted reception and asked to be moved. We were moved to the penthouse suite on the top floor at no extra charge. The room and facilities was excellent.

The hotel was undergoing refurbishment we were notified before we arrived by our travel operator. However, we did not expect to find one pool out of action, and be subjected to continual building noise from 9.00 to 6.00 pm every night except weekends. When we arrived home we complained to the tour operator and have been compensated.

The location, restaurant, access to beach and pool bar are excellent. All the staff are friendly especially the pool bar staff - excellent selection of beers and cocktails. Nice to watch the incredible sunsets sipping a cocktail or cold beer!

The only downside, which would prevent us staying again is the bar next door to the hotel plays the loudest live music from about 3.00pm until at least 11pm every night. We walked the length of the beach and it's the noisiest bar in St Pete's which is a disappointment.

We used the facilities of the Tradewinds Grand Resort the restaurants are nice but a bit overpriced. The spa is excellent and I would recommend the refreshing facial especially for tired, sun soaked skin !!!

Overall, we enjoyed our stay and would consider visiting St Pete's again but not the Guy Harvey Outpost.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room, choose one away from the bar with the loud music!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loopyloo083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Pete Beach hotels
1.7 mi away
The Don CeSar
The Don CeSar
#7 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
3,683 reviews
0.1 mi away
Postcard Inn on the Beach
Postcard Inn on the Beach
#19 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
535 reviews
0.2 mi away
TradeWinds Island Grand Resort
TradeWinds Island Grand Resort
#10 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
5,420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sirata Beach Resort
Sirata Beach Resort
#13 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4,200 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center
1.2 mi away
Beach House Suites by The Don CeSar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort

Property: Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort
Address: 6000 Gulf Blvd, St. Pete Beach, FL 33706-3712
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Pete Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#5 Business Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#7 Romantic Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#7 On the Beach Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#9 Family Hotel in St. Pete Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort, is located on the award-winning white sands of St. Pete Beach. Unwind at The SandBox beach lounge offering VIP Cabanas, open fire tables, and the popular Sand Bar beach bar. Dine on cutting edge seafood at RumFish Grill - showcasing a 33,500 gallon aquarium tank, indoor/outdoor bars, live entertainment and a retail store carrying the area's largest selection of Guy Harvey merchandise. Explore the shore, test your balancing skills on the Surf WipeOut ride, Swim with the Fish in our massive aquarium, master a stand-up paddleboard, take flight with JetLev, go on a fishing or diving adventure ... or unwind around our whirlpool and two swimming pools, one for adults only. Best of all, when you stay at this beachfront resort, you get to enjoy all the activities, recreation, restaurants and more at our neighboring sister resort, TradeWinds Island Grand! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tradewinds Sandpiper Hotel Saint Pete Beach
Tradewinds Sandpiper Resort
Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort St. Pete Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing