We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Hotel with Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort
Ranked #8 of 32 Hotels in St. Pete Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 11, 2013

The hotel staff was very responsive and helpful. The room was a bit dated, but kept clean enough to be acceptable. The microwave, mini-fridge and wet bar included basic cups, dishes, and silverware which was very helpful. The location was perfect - on a beautiful beach within easy walking distance to great bars and restaurants.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaytonJPM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,823)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,627 - 1,633 of 2,823 reviews

Reviewed April 10, 2013

Had an amazing spring break in st. Peters beach the weather was friendly 3 out of the 4 days we were there which was a plus. the bar was awesome thanks to Victor and had a nice big screen to watch sports while enjoyin the happy hour. The amenities fee was a lil high but if you use all the amentities it turned out to be a much better choice than paying for them separate. Jason D was very helpful seemed like he never went home he was always there to help with our luggage and groceries. Houeskeeping was great and did a great job on the room. We will deff be back sooner than later

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 851sarahs851
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

I got a last minute deal through Hotel Tonight, and I loved it! The room was small (standard room) and wasn't overlooking the water, but in such a nice place, there is no need for a room overlooking the water. The beach cabanas are wonderful (1st row costs 15$ for the day, all rows after are free. The bar next door (toasted monkey) was lots of fun, great live music, even on a Sunday.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnaisB1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We just returned from a stay at Guy Harvey - we would recommend it to others! It is a bit more laid back than the busy hectic "original" Tradewinds facility right up the beach, but you have access to their amenities as well. There were MANY things for our children to do. Some things were an additional cost, but many were included in the resort fee. Several different eating establishments at various price points. Within walking distance of many activities. Loved that the sand toys, cabanas, miniature golf course, five pools, paddleboats, homework tutoring were all available for free!! Many ocean adventures available on site for a fee (boogie boards, paddle boards, parasailing, dolphin tours, jet packs, banana boat rides, etc.) Rooms were clean, thick towels provided for the beach and the rooms. Concierge helpful!!!!

Room Tip: Many upstairs rooms don't have balconies... if you wish to sit outside "your" room - a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traveler0027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie M, Manager at Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Thank you for your review! Glad to hear you had a wonderful vacation with us and enjoyed all of the activities and amenities we have to offer. Come visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

I loved this hotel! It's just the right size if you're not the resort type of person. They have these incredible, beautifully renovated 2 bedroom suites with kitchen, living room, dining room that are to die for, great for a family reunion like we had!!! Two normal-sized pools, 1 kids facing the beach where there's some action, and a nice adult one in the garden. Beautiful beachfront location, miles to walk or jog, restaurants galore on the strip, but still restful atmosphere on the beach. Go and enjoy!!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Josy213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie M, Manager at Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! Hope to see you back on the beach sometime soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Nice resort... but... rooms were a little small for the price. One restaurant, one outside bar, one -very small inside bar, which also was mostly a coffee and pastry shop. Staff were great and helpful. Had to ask about 'priviledges' at the TRADEWINDS resort 2 blks down the beach. That was really nice. Guy Harvey was TOO quiet for my tastes.... and I am a senior citizen.

GuyHarvey is centrally located in St Pet Beach...... lots of bars restaurants, to visit.

Suggest asking about any room 'specials' they offer before booking.

Wife and I would go stay here again.

Room Tip: ask about location and size of room before booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bn60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I just returned from a vacation at the Guy Harvey Outpost and I have stayed at the Tradewinds Island Grand a few times in the past. In my opinion, there is no comparison. The Tradewinds Island Grand is much, much better. The rooms are nicer, cleaner and larger at the Island Grand. I find the Guy Harvey Outpost has an outdated feel to it and it is not nearly as nice as the Island Grand. The Island Grand has a big beautiful lobby, when we walked into Guy Harvey's, I actually said to my husband, "where is the front lobby?" It is not as impressive at all. Also, there is not a waterway with paddle boats at the Guy Harvey, and the restaurants are not as good. It basically is cheaper and in this case, you get what you pay for. I'd rather pay a bit more and have a nicer, cleaner, larger room. I would recommend staying at the Tradewinds Island Grand the next time you are staying in the St. Pete Beach area. I would not stay at Guy Harvey Outpost again. The rooms have a feeling of being old and dated. Instead of re-doing the rooms, when it changed over to from the Tradwinds Sandpiper to Guy Harvey Outpost, they just basically changed the name and that is it. They should have renovated/updated the rooms, but as far as I can see, they did not. I personally would not stay at the Guy Harvey Outpost again.

Room Tip: My tip is to stay at the Tradewinds Island Grand instead of the Guy Harvey Outpost by Tradewinds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dianna17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Pete Beach hotels
1.7 mi away
The Don CeSar
The Don CeSar
#6 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
3,893 reviews
0.1 mi away
Postcard Inn on the Beach
Postcard Inn on the Beach
#18 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
600 reviews
0.2 mi away
TradeWinds Island Grand Resort
TradeWinds Island Grand Resort
#10 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
5,537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sirata Beach Resort
Sirata Beach Resort
#12 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4,316 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center
1.2 mi away
Beach House Suites by The Don CeSar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort

Address: 6000 Gulf Blvd, St. Pete Beach, FL 33706-3712
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Pete Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#5 Business Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#7 On the Beach Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#7 Romantic Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#8 Family Hotel in St. Pete Beach
Price Range: $239 - $440 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort, is located on the award-winning white sands of St. Pete Beach. Unwind at The SandBox beach lounge offering VIP Cabanas, open fire tables, and the popular Sand Bar beach bar. Dine on cutting edge seafood at RumFish Grill - showcasing a 33,500 gallon aquarium tank, indoor/outdoor bars, live entertainment and a retail store carrying the area's largest selection of Guy Harvey merchandise. Explore the shore, test your balancing skills on the Surf WipeOut ride, Swim with the Fish in our massive aquarium, master a stand-up paddleboard, take flight with JetLev, go on a fishing or diving adventure ... or unwind around our whirlpool and two swimming pools, one for adults only. Best of all, when you stay at this beachfront resort, you get to enjoy all the activities, recreation, restaurants and more at our neighboring sister resort, TradeWinds Island Grand! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tradewinds Sandpiper Hotel Saint Pete Beach
Tradewinds Sandpiper Resort
Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort St. Pete Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing