We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort
Ranked #12 of 32 Hotels in St. Pete Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Green Cove Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
179 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“good stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

We only stayed 1 night. Very friendly staff & helpful. Great room, great ammenities . Wish we could have stayed longer. Veryclean. Nice activites for kids. We felt very secure here. Lots of restaurant on property and nearby. Best thing is the beach.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank landyachty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,524 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,376
    674
    279
    118
    77
See reviews for
988
756
66
127
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (667)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

I have visited this beautrfuly property twice before. I love the location, cleanliness and the intimate size of the resort. This time after 'millions' in renovations to change it to Guy Harvey, I did expect a bit more. These renovations pretty much were just astectic branding for Guy Harvey. Pictures everywhere, names on umbrella and banners, and maybe the carpet in the rooms has changed. The furniture is exactly the same and slightly tired. My issue is that they overbooked the hotel, and once we arrived late in the evening, with groceries in hand and were told we have been placed in another hotel!!! Their compensation was to upgrade our room for the 3 remaining nights. Note this was an anniversary trip on only 4 nights. Without choice, we went to the other hotel which was down the road. This hotel was not up to the standards of Guy Harvey, and we had water dripping on our heads in the washroom from the ceiling! OK, so we had to check out at 11 am and once we arrived back at Guy Harvey, we were told guests cannot check in until 3 pm. Well what about guests who had payed to stay the night before?? So we had to load our groceries in another fridge in a holding area, change in a washroom and wait for our room. This was a whole day wasted of a short vacation! The front desk were kind enought to waive the daily $25 hotel fees, however I overheard them doing that for a couple who complained their room didn't have a balcony. Really?? Is that the same as being displaced for a whole night with a bunch of groceries and luggage? I actually ended up raising my voice as I felt this just wasn't enough to compensate. The response was a free lunch and drink at the grill. I have to give the grill staff credit, they are extremely polite and the food was very tasty. The rest of my stay was fine, the upgraded room was very spacious, but I don't feel that we were compensated enough for being displaced and basically wasting a full day of our short vacation. I really think they should contact guests regarding overbooking, obviously someone must have know this ahead of time. And if anything, we should have been placed in a better hotel, not one with lower standards.
Having said all this, I still found the property clean, the staff pleasant and of course the beach is fantastic.

Room Tip: The basic rooms are extremely small, and the upgrades are quite nice but expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bikeridergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

I would really like to give them 4 1/2 stars. I was really impressed with the staff and the effort they took to make our stay enjoyable. From the front desk, bell stand and service at the flying bridge restaurant all were concerned with our needs and requests.

For example there was some kind of cooler meltdown and many items were not available on the lunch menu so we ordered pizzas from the Pizza Hut for the kids with the help of our waiter. He could have just read what wasn't available but he was really proactive in finding a solution for us.

I was scared to book my reservations because of the terrible photos of the bedspreads but I was thrilled to see that they have gone to a more basic white bedding. I would give the Guy Harvey Resort a solid 5 stars if I could deal with the terribly TACKY resort motif of bright colors and old rattan couches. But unless you are incredibly fussy and can afford the $700 per night at the Sandpearl Guy Harvey Outpost gives you all the amenities, service, location and activities to meet the needs of any family beach vacation. I would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bodybytwins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

We have stayed here 4 times now and every stay has been better than the last. Great Service, Friendly staff, the place could not be cleaner. A real Gem. Will be going back as soon as we can.

Pio and China Romano

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SandiFortLauderdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

On the beach. East to get to. Clean very friendly. Great for family or adults. Fair VFM best in the beach. Staff and management very professional. Small but big in value. So good tool my family 5x in a row.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 1H1H1H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland, Michigan
Level Contributor
129 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

Came to town for the Shrine Game week and was initially disappointed I was sent here & not the main TradeWinds property, where I've happily stayed before. I quickly realized the Guy Harvey Outpost is the better place to stay. It's a short walk on the beach to anything you want at TradeWinds.

The rooms here are fresher and more modern. The WiFi is much more reliable. The pools are less crowded and the adult pool is tucked away and feels private. Staff was nothing short of fantastic; everyone says a sincere hello and they're great in advising about the local area. Workout facility had free weights & an elliptical machine that actually works (plus other stuff). The beach is just awesome & no giant slide to obstruct the view.

Two minor gripes: the curtains in the bedroom didn't close 100% and let some light bleed through. and the hot tub at the adult pool was being repaired for two days.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ICness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

Best vacation. People were so friendly and the room was one of the nicest I have stayed in. Would go back in a heartbeat. The beach was clean and water sports were available. Had an incredible time paddle-boating. The bands were lots of fun to listen to.

Room Tip: Choose a room looking over the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chantalle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Pete Beach hotels
1.7 mi away
The Don CeSar
The Don CeSar
#8 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,318 reviews
0.1 mi away
Postcard Inn on the Beach
Postcard Inn on the Beach
#19 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
0.7 mi away
Dolphin Beach Resort
Dolphin Beach Resort
#21 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
TradeWinds Island Grand Resort
TradeWinds Island Grand Resort
#11 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,115 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sirata Beach Resort
Sirata Beach Resort
#16 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,739 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort

Property: Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort
Address: 6000 Gulf Blvd, St. Pete Beach, FL 33706-3712
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Pete Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#5 Business Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#7 Romantic Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#9 Family Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#10 On the Beach Hotel in St. Pete Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort, is located on the award-winning white sands of St. Pete Beach. Unwind at The SandBox beach lounge offering VIP Cabanas, open fire tables, and the popular Sand Bar beach bar. Dine on cutting edge seafood at RumFish Grill - showcasing a 33,500 gallon aquarium featured on Animal Planet's "Tanked," indoor/outdoor bars, live entertainment and a retail store carrying the area's largest selection of Guy Harvey merchandise. Explore the shore, test your balancing skills on the Surf WipeOut ride, Swim with the Fish in our massive aquarium, master a stand-up paddleboard, take flight with JetLev, go on a fishing or diving adventure ... or unwind around our whirlpool and two swimming pools, one for adults only, while the kids dive into an ocean of fun with themed activities tailored just for them. Best of all, when you stay at this beachfront resort, you get to enjoy all the activities, recreation, restaurants and more at our neighboring sister resort, TradeWinds Island Grand! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tradewinds Sandpiper Hotel Saint Pete Beach
Tradewinds Sandpiper Resort
Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort St. Pete Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing