We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Vacation Spot”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort
Ranked #8 of 32 Hotels in St. Pete Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Our family stayed at this resort in November, 2012. I cannot speak highly enough of our experience at The Guy Harvey Outpost. The staff, service, and grounds could not have been better. It was THE perfect venue for our family get-together. Our thanks to the staff for making this vacation so enjoyable. Everything exceeded our expectations! We would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,822)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,738 - 1,744 of 2,822 reviews

Reviewed December 7, 2012

Guy Harvey Outpost is excellent vacation spot for a couples get away or family gathering. Facilities and property are perfectly maintained and clean, pools are beautiful, and overall a great experiece. The staff was very accomodating and helpful as well, very highly recommended!!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ryan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

This is a smaller version of the Tradewinds Resort. The sister resort to this one. The lobby and hotel is filled with Guy Harvey's amazing art work. It is a clean resort but not with many amenities. But never fear.....when you stay there you have complete access to the Tradewinds, a short, lovely walk two resorts down on the beach. I liked that the Guy Harvey was quiet and serene. The Tradewinds is much more boisterous, thus, the best of both worlds at your fingertips. The beach was clean and beautiful. I wll stay again and hopefully soon :)

Room Tip: Please get a room AWAY from the elevators and parking garage. VERY NOISY.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank batteykl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

I travel often and stayed here for Thanksgiving. The hotel is the old Sandpiper and has been renovated. Check in was strange and we had some issues with the AC unit in the bedroom. The rooms are newly renovated and the staff is highly attentive. The pool, bar, cornhole and ring game area is great. Resort is clean but they still need to work out the kinks.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ipajcic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Reception was very informational and very nice, pools are heated and nice location on the beach, They have Happy Hour between Five and Six every evening good place to watch the sunset. Near everything and lots of good eats around. They have a Guy's Grill that is located inside the hotel, and a Coffee Shop in the lobby area. Will Stay here again and would recommend to all if you want a nice little hotel on the beach with Heated pools.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

We stayed at the Guy Harvey Outpost in October for our anniversary, in one of their spa rooms overlooking the pool and the ocean. The room was nice enough, and clean, but a little noisy until the pool area was closed at night. The outdoor landscaping was very pretty, and well tended, and the pool areas were clean. There were two pools, one for families, and one for adults without children. Not having children ourselves, this was great, although most of our time was spent walking along the fabulous beach. We got out there early, before it was crowded - which is a good plan unless you like dodging the masses. On the other hand, people-watching was great, especially during and after their much heralded 'happy hour'. We've never seen so many people who were wasted so early in the day! People were leaving the outdoor bar with two drinks at a time, slugging them down, and going back for as many more as they could get in an hour. On our first day, we tested one of the 'happy hour' drinks, though, and ended up pouring them out because they were so nasty! I guess people will drink anything if it's 'free'.

But it's definitely not free! This hotel was pricy for what was offered, and on top of the room charges, there were other fees as well, such as a 'resort fee' (part of which paid for the happy hour, I'm sure). Overall, we enjoyed the visit, but probably won't be back. For the price, there are other hotels and resorts in the Tampa/Clearwater/St. Pete area that are equal to or better.

There were a few great local restaurants, though. We went out to eat, rather than stay at the hotel. Our advice would be to check with the locals - cabbies are fonts of local wisdom, and will get you to the tastiest places in town!

One thing that did impress us was the staff at this place. Everyone had a smile and hello, and seemed to be genuinely pleased to work there. That speaks volumes, really.

Room Tip: The better views are those from higher up. Also, you won't be so bothered by pool area noise if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Philip P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

We stayed at the Tradewinds on vacation for 4 nights and I would give it a solid 3.5 stars. Not fancy but our room was small and clean. But for the price, it still felt a bit old and disorganized. The pools are warm and clean, the beachfront is beautiful and facility is well-landscaped and kept up very well. There were a few problems however. Although well-decorated, our standard room was quite small..

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mac2000gm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Pete Beach hotels
1.7 mi away
The Don CeSar
The Don CeSar
#6 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
3,893 reviews
0.1 mi away
Postcard Inn on the Beach
Postcard Inn on the Beach
#17 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
600 reviews
0.2 mi away
TradeWinds Island Grand Resort
TradeWinds Island Grand Resort
#10 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
5,537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sirata Beach Resort
Sirata Beach Resort
#12 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4,316 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center
1.2 mi away
Beach House Suites by The Don CeSar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort

Address: 6000 Gulf Blvd, St. Pete Beach, FL 33706-3712
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Pete Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#5 Business Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#7 On the Beach Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#7 Romantic Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#8 Family Hotel in St. Pete Beach
Price Range: $239 - $438 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort, is located on the award-winning white sands of St. Pete Beach. Unwind at The SandBox beach lounge offering VIP Cabanas, open fire tables, and the popular Sand Bar beach bar. Dine on cutting edge seafood at RumFish Grill - showcasing a 33,500 gallon aquarium tank, indoor/outdoor bars, live entertainment and a retail store carrying the area's largest selection of Guy Harvey merchandise. Explore the shore, test your balancing skills on the Surf WipeOut ride, Swim with the Fish in our massive aquarium, master a stand-up paddleboard, take flight with JetLev, go on a fishing or diving adventure ... or unwind around our whirlpool and two swimming pools, one for adults only. Best of all, when you stay at this beachfront resort, you get to enjoy all the activities, recreation, restaurants and more at our neighboring sister resort, TradeWinds Island Grand! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tradewinds Sandpiper Hotel Saint Pete Beach
Tradewinds Sandpiper Resort
Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort St. Pete Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing