We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Customer service needs help.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort
Ranked #9 of 32 Hotels in St. Pete Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Yorkville, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Customer service needs help.”
Reviewed August 24, 2012

First time in St Pete, the beach was awesome. When we checked in the guy behind the front desk was very cheerful until he found out we had a discount coupon, them we were second class people to him. Most of the other workers were very friendly and helpful,except the manager. On our final night they had alot of rain and had a service company come in and do some cleaning at 4:30 in the morning outside our door,4:30 in the MORNING. I called the front desk, he apologized and told me to talk to the manager when she came in, we could barely hear each other because of the noise. I did and she just said that is how it is. Besides that, it was a very fun time on the beach, the food was good and enjoyable.

Room Tip: Stay away from the front rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank manof1god
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,691 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,498
    695
    288
    127
    83
See reviews for
1,073
802
70
131
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (704)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

We stayed for 6 nights recently, in a Gulf Front suite, which we paid a little extra for - we ended up on the 3rd floor and it was well worth it, we could watch the sunset, check how many cabanas were left on the beach and see who was in the pool without leaving our room. The suite had 2 queen beds, a lounge and a small kitchen area, just enough to prepare breakfast and perhaps a basic lunch (microwave, fridge, sink and electric hobs).

Because we booked direct with the hotel, the resort fee was included, giving us daily use of a beach cabana - a must have in the summer months as it gets really hot. The beach and sea are fantastic, the sea slopes gently and is very warm. We ate in the Island Grand restaurants a couple of times which were great - the steaks in Bermudas are fantastic.Although the Island Grand is about 5 minutes walk away along the beach, this wasn't a problem as it was a nice little walk and gave us a reason to get on the beach and watch the sunsets if we wanted to.

Having looked at the Island Grand, we preferred it here at the Sandpiper/Guy Harvey outpost (it was changing name as we were there, lots of large plastic fish and fish paintings being installed) - it was a lot more relaxed and less crowded. Depends what you're looking for I guess. Over the road there are a few independent restaurants, notably Snappers (sea food) and Skidders (greek specialities) which were both good.

The pool was great for our 3 year old son, and we also used the adult pool a couple of times when on our own.

In all, and excellent choice - we were choosing between this, the Island Grand and properties on Treasure Island. There seemed to be a lot more going on here than on Treasure Island (we had a drive over there) so were pleased.

Room Tip: Choose a gulf front view if you can - the ground floor suites have patio doors but some are right by...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jaykf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 21, 2012

As a Florida resident, I enjoy getting away for a Beach weekend. This is the perfect location. The rooms are clean with a small kitchen so that you do not have to eat every meal out. The staff from the Front Desk to the Beach Staff and Maid service are all friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean and comfortable although the decor could use some updating. The beach area is beautiful and well kept. The resort is close to many wonderful local restaurants and shopping areas. I am already planning a return visit!

Room Tip: I upgraded at the last minute to a Gulf View and was so glad that I did!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pattylynn49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Haven
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

My family, and I stayed again at this hotel begining August 8,2012 to bring our son to Eckerd college for his freshman year,we are from Connecticut. After some intial confusion with what i thought was going to be a mini suite, we were referred to the manager, who was more than accomodating switched our room, which was lovely, clean, and very comfortable. This hotel is beautiful directly on the gorgeous St.Pete beach, rates are reasonable, and staff great, again an overall great stay!

Room Tip: Courtyard rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KathiEastHaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Pete Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
340 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Guy Harvey has arrived in St. Pete Beach, FL! Its a don't miss in my book! So 'Key West' and so 'tropical' you won't want to leave! The 'sister' resort to The Tradewinds 'just let go' is the catch phrase and you will! So beautiful, from the totally renovated and completely new resort, the Key West theme through out the resort, the new updated restaurant, which was Pipers Patio is now Guy Harvey 100% with new food, cocktails and desserts! Special food and fun for the kids too! A fun new shop with lots of tropical themes, the lobby is a must see, along with the dynamic staff! Walk out on the beach, watch the dolphins, see a fabulous sunset, wake up for an awesome sun rise! Wander to the sister resort to share in food, fun and other resort options. Its nice to see a positive change on Gulf Blvd., and its awesome to see Guy Harvey in St. Pete Beach!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the Gulf of Mexico are a must book!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Candy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

I was really looking forward to this stay, based on the reviews and having had breakfast at this hotel 3 years ago. The room was lovely and clean and the grounds were well looked after. However the room was small and the kids pool was very crowded and it was difficult to get a pool lounger (many had towels on them for most of the day but with no obvious owners). The adult pool was almost empty when we were there and it seemed unfair to cram all the kids into one pool - especially as it looked smaller than the one for adults. We had a small balcony overlooking the courtyard, which was a nice extra.

However, given the size of the room (nowhere to store our 4 cases in room) and the limited pool facilities I don't think that I'll go back. The Sirata was better value for money, had larger rooms and better/ larger/ more pool facilities.

We hardly used the resort facilities at the Island Grand (sister hotel) - and that hotel was particularly busy too.

The 4th and 7th July beach firework display was awesome. Fab beach.

Had 5 minutes of stress at the check-in whilst we all discussed the need to pay a resort fee - even though the Tradewinds sales office said they would wave the fee when we were making the booking enquiry. A word with the manager set things straight in the end.
Go Rays!

Room Tip: ask for a balcony room overlooking the courtyard. The more expensive "beachview" roomsreal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dmun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Haven, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 18, 2012

I made a late decision to take my family to the beach for the weekend, and called Tradewinds as I'd stayed before a few times at the IGR property for conferences and had been pleased. They said nothing was available on that property, but they did have rooms a 4 minute walk on the beach at their Guy Harvey Outpost. I asked if the rooms were comparable and was told they are...they are not. This hotel is dirty, with outdated, shabby furnishings and the four minute walk is dis diving and inconvenient. If you want to spend more than $200 a night for 1990 Motel 6 lodging in order to be on the beach, with a partial view, this place is fine. Otherwise, beware. It seems that TW might have bought the property to expand and are working on it one floor at ab time, but little amenities like coffee supplies for the pop in the room, and the rooms being clean should have at least been a given...and both were absent. Unimpressed and disappointed. I won't be returning and will warn the conference bookers to refuse the GHO on the property if offered.

Room Tip: Insist on the IG, if booked, go elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanM863
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Pete Beach hotels
1.7 mi away
The Don CeSar
The Don CeSar
#7 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
3,576 reviews
0.1 mi away
Postcard Inn on the Beach
Postcard Inn on the Beach
#19 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
496 reviews
0.2 mi away
TradeWinds Island Grand Resort
TradeWinds Island Grand Resort
#10 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
5,362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sirata Beach Resort
Sirata Beach Resort
#14 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4,113 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center
1.2 mi away
Beach House Suites by The Don CeSar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort

Property: Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort
Address: 6000 Gulf Blvd, St. Pete Beach, FL 33706-3712
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Pete Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#5 Business Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#7 On the Beach Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#7 Romantic Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#9 Family Hotel in St. Pete Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort, is located on the award-winning white sands of St. Pete Beach. Unwind at The SandBox beach lounge offering VIP Cabanas, open fire tables, and the popular Sand Bar beach bar. Dine on cutting edge seafood at RumFish Grill - showcasing a 33,500 gallon aquarium tank, indoor/outdoor bars, live entertainment and a retail store carrying the area's largest selection of Guy Harvey merchandise. Explore the shore, test your balancing skills on the Surf WipeOut ride, Swim with the Fish in our massive aquarium, master a stand-up paddleboard, take flight with JetLev, go on a fishing or diving adventure ... or unwind around our whirlpool and two swimming pools, one for adults only. Best of all, when you stay at this beachfront resort, you get to enjoy all the activities, recreation, restaurants and more at our neighboring sister resort, TradeWinds Island Grand! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tradewinds Sandpiper Hotel Saint Pete Beach
Tradewinds Sandpiper Resort
Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort St. Pete Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing