We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and convienant”
Review of Gulf Strand Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Gulf Strand Resort
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful and convienant”
Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in 408 and it was awesome! Everything we needed was there including a boogie board for my 7yr old grandson to take to the beach. The unit was large and the appliances were great. The staff was very helpful including letting us check in early and using the computer to print our boarding passes to fly home. Would definitely stay here again!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    38
    13
    8
    8
See reviews for
40
72
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Had a great stay on 6th floor. Perfect location right in the middle of the beach and across from Publix.
Good tiki bar next door. Big balcony with views of sunset. Perfect place to enjoy St. Pete. Would stay here again...

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank biglou6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed June 24, 2014

My fiancé and I traveled to St. Pete Beach for my sister's wedding this past weekend. Not knowing the area, I relied on reviews from pervious visitors. We were so pleased to have found and stayed here. The condo was VERY clean, spacious, and cheery. Our view of the ocean was lovely and we were able to walk to restaurants and to my sister's hotel. The room stayed cool during the day when it was hot and humid outside. The price was better than most resorts in the area. Our assigned parking spot was covered and easy to get in and out of. We will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Please read ALL of the reviews before making a decision.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2014

We prefer to rent condos over hotels when at the beach - like having our own kitchen and washer/dryer. These units are great for a couple - 1 bedroom - 2 baths and a full kitchen. Location is good - across the street from a small mall - easy to get food etc. We like having beachfront also - quick walk to the beach - with no streets to cross. The only negative about this property is that there is a public beach parking lot next door - and on one night it was noisy. I would suggest staying the x01 condos - these face the beach and not the parking lot. All other condos face the parking lot. The x02-x04 condos have a nice partial beach view. We did not use the pool - but it looked clean - but small.

Room Tip: The 201,301,401and 501 condos have a beach front view and do not face the public parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Dubbie1205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2014

We visit St. Pete Beach almost every year and generally stay at a large resort, but wanted to try some place different. I stumbled upon the Gulf Strand doing an online search and couldn't believe the affordable rate for a one-bedroom condo on the beach. Traveling with my husband and teenage son, we now need more room than the standard hotel room but large condos are just too big for us. This was just the right size. The unit we rented (403) was perfect, clean and with a washer/dryer as an added bonus. The kitchen was fully stocked and larger than we expected. Just steps to the beach, the Gulf Strand has everything a family needs for a a getaway. Publix and Walgreens are right across the street and and I only wish we stayed here when my son was young, as the closet in our unit was packed with beach toys for young kids. Our unit was a little dated, with prominently featured VCR's, but the TVs were updated.

The pool is very small and hard to walk around with lawn chairs surrounding it, but there is a hot tub, which is a plus. The beach offers rentals on cabanas and beach chairs and just next door is the public beach, which offer far cheaper rentals on these items.

We would highly recommend the Gulf Strand and Betty, the office manager, is very accommodating!!

Room Tip: Beach view from every room but try to reserve a room higher.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tripledecks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bremen, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2014

We stayed at Gulf Strand Resort for six nights in APR14 as a family (Mama, Papa and our 7 yr old boy). We had booked a beach front apartment to have the best view to beach and gulf.

The apartment was adequate in size; it had one bed room plus one living room/open kitchen; plus two separate bathrooms. There is a sofa bed in the living room, but using that as a bed requires a lot of back and forth moving of furniture. So we were happy to get an air bed from reception which we used for the boy, all three of us sleeping in the one bed room; little cramped, but therefore more space and less effort in the living room area.

Best place of the apartment is surely the large balcony with fantastic views. It has two sun beds plus two chairs and is great for sitting outside enjoying the sunset.

The location is ideal, as several restaurants are within easy walking distance, so no need to move the car in the evening. There is also a well-equipped Publix supermarket on the opposite site of the road.

The lady at the reception was extremely helpful and made us very welcome.

Only downside is the cleanliness of the apartment. On first sight it looks ok, but there is a lot of dust under the furniture, on the ventilators (thankfully we did not need to turn them on) and in the corners. There was still an old coffee filter in the coffee maker from the last guests. This filter became alive again :-(. In terms of cleaning more effort is surely needed.

Would we come again? Certainly yes! This apartment had everything we needed. And if the cleaning works better in future, it will receive full five stars from us!

Room Tip: I would always go for the beach front apartments. A little bit more expensive, but definately worth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hanseat09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEORGETOWN, CANADA
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Finding a spot at the businest time of year is not an easy task. We were lucky to happen upon Unit 505 in the Gulf Strand condo owned by Cathy Zizik. So off we went to our one bedroom, 2 bathroom condo right on St. Petes Beach. We arrived late on a foggy night and to be honest, couldn't even see or hear the water! After making our way on the elevator to the 5th floor, detailed instructions gained us entry with no problem. Kind of nice to be in a smaller building rather than a high rise, but also nice to be on the top floor! What a delightful surprise greeted us, no mistaking we were in Florida on the beach! Decor is a beach theme, with lots of bright colours and beachy artwork. The place was spotless, with tons of extra linens, kitchenware,etc. But where was the beach!?

As the sun rose the next morning, we opened the blinds to a vast stretch of beautiful white sand beach, with crashing gulf waves . . . paradise! We had breasfast on our small patio then went exploring to find the private pool tucked away between the building and the beach. Publix and a small plaza right across the street, and a nice little Italian restaurant across the road.

Cathy was only able to give us five nights although she offered to find us additional accomodation elsewhere. We would gladly have stayed in her unit longer but guess it's in demand! We were just a short drive to Madeira Beach and John's Pass (lots of restaurants and shops), a much busier place so found a spot there (not as nice and more $$). Would definitely return to Cathy's condo if we were considering the area in the future.

John and Lynda, Georgetown, Ontario

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LYNDA P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Pete Beach hotels
0.8 mi away
The Don CeSar
The Don CeSar
#7 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
3,683 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dolphin Beach Resort
Dolphin Beach Resort
#21 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
990 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sirata Beach Resort
Sirata Beach Resort
#13 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort
0.4 mi away
Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center
0.7 mi away
TradeWinds Island Grand Resort
TradeWinds Island Grand Resort
#10 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
5,420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gulf Strand Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gulf Strand Resort

Property: Gulf Strand Resort
Address: 4510 Gulf Blvd, St. Pete Beach, FL 33706-2455
Location: United States > Florida > St. Pete Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 Specialty Lodging in St. Pete Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Gulf Strand Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful one bedroom vacation condos with 2 bathrooms located directly on the white sands of St. Pete Beach. Most units offer picturesque view of the Gulf of Mexico, and come equipped with full ktichens and dishes. Come enjoy a piece of our sunshine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Gulf Strand Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gulf Strand Hotel Saint Pete Beach
Gulf Strand Resort St. Pete Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing