We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“View is not worth the price” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Vistas on the Gulf

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Vistas on the Gulf
Durant, Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“View is not worth the price”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Stayed in Unit 501, beachfront view in June 2014. The unit is very outdated, no improvements or upgrades. The closet door had fallen off and parts were missing so we could not even hang it back up. Bottom shelf of refrigerator broken so you could not use it and it did not allow for the fruit/vegetable bins to be used. The 2nd bathroom shower did not work. Kitchen is supplied with mismatch of utensils, glasses, plates. Furniture is old and worn in the living room. This owner has definitely not reinvested any of his profits back into the unit. This unit is in very much need of a major overall. Just because it has a great view if you can rent another unit with the same view and price, I would pass on this one.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
6 Thank SH0we
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    33
    18
    12
    14
See reviews for
104
20
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

We stayed at The Vistas in room 404. Perfect place for us, only a few minutes from family we have that live in St. Pete. Fantastic family friendly location, close to EVERYTHING, and walking distance to lots of places! Quiet, private beach and clean, neat condo and clean property. Staff could not have been any friendlier! Definitely will be staying here again!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carolyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
70 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

We are wrapping up our first visit to Vistas on the Gulf unit 301. I am sitting on the seaside balcony writing this, enjoying a panoramic view of St. Pete Beach and Pass-a-grille beach, not to mention the Gulf of Mexico. It's very obvious that the owners of this unit take a great deal of pride in the property. We feel as though we have been guests of very gracious owners. The unit is well stocked with kitchen amenities and is spotless. All the comforts of home are here in this unit including 2 bathrooms, washer and dryer, even some beach toys and chairs that the owners have left for guest use. Our kids have enjoyed playing some of the games that the owners also left for guest use. The unit has two balconies, one directly overlooking the beach where I am and another off the kids bedroom(which had a bunk bed by the way) overlooking the pool and hot tub. The condo complex of course has a great pool and hot tub, plenty of seating and room for dining. We have stayed at other properties managed by the same management company and have to say they are great at what they do. We can't wait to return to Vistas soon and especially to this unit. Thanks to the owners for offering this amazing place for rent.

Three things the management company should improve on:
1) WiFi is far from perfect. We found it to be unstable and difficult to remain connected to with poor signal strength in many areas. We ended up tethering to our cell phones most of the time to avoid the inconvenience.
2) Pool is horribly over chlorinated although I will say that the management office was working with the pool service to correct this. It ruined bathing suits, kids hair and caused rashes.
3) There is no ability to recycle anything at this condo. Everything goes directly in the trash. We have found this problem at other properties managed by this company. Seems absurd to me that in this day and age they haven't figured that out yet.

Room Tip: I can only speak for unit 301 and say it is perfect and you can't go wrong choosing this unit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EssexOnTheGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New Hampshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

4 of us stayed in the condo from 4/5-4/12/14. The location is fantastic, beach is beautiflul. The view from the condo balcony to the beach is limited. The condo was "OK" but it was not very clean and it had a mold smell. When I returned home from my vaca all my luggage and clothes had to be washed and aired out to get the smell out. The master bed was not very comfortable and the other room with a bed in it does not have a closet and is small. The sliding door to the balcony did not lock. Hairdryer in bathroom did not work. The kitchen did not have a can opener. For the cost of rent this condo should have been perfect.

Room Tip: Condo needs updating and a thorough cleaning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VBR20142014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

Great Location right on the beach and close to restaurants, grocery stores and many other attractions. The beach location also boasts an array of watersports. Up-to-date furnishings and a well-stocked kitchen. A perfect getaway.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bikeitalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

I was at the condo AGAIN. Have been going 2 times a year fall and spring for several years. Best value on the beach. I always get unit #206 which is the one that is shown in the pictures at the office. So clean, huge tv's, all new furniture and appliances. Great beach view and patio set is so comfortable. We were treated like family by the excellent staff of the liberte group (Mark in pool and maintenance was terrific as always) We will be back in the fall!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014 via mobile

We were looking for a place on the beach with a heated pool that had 2 bedrooms. This place was just what we were looking for. We stayed in unit 411. Everything about the place was great. It was stocked with all the kitchen tools for an extended stay. We had a couple requests of the management group and they were extremely accommodating and helpful. Only item to note is that the second bedroom is actually a sitting room with a door. Our unit had a daybed which works great for our only child but could be an issue for a larger family.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Live2Trvl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Pete Beach hotels
0.5 mi away
Loews Don CeSar Hotel
Loews Don CeSar Hotel
#7 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 2,942 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dolphin Beach Resort
Dolphin Beach Resort
#22 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 852 reviews
0.2 mi away
Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Beach House Suites by Loews Don CeSar
0.7 mi away
Sirata Beach Resort
Sirata Beach Resort
#16 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 3,432 reviews
0.9 mi away
TradeWinds Island Grand Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vistas on the Gulf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vistas on the Gulf

Property: Vistas on the Gulf
Address: 4000 Gulf Blvd, St. Pete Beach, FL 33706-3819
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Pete Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Specialty Lodging in St. Pete Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Vistas on the Gulf 3.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Vistas on the Gulf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vistas On The Gulf Hotel Saint Pete Beach
Vistas On The Gulf St. Pete Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing