We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful History Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Beach House Suites by The Don CeSar
Ranked #5 of 32 Hotels in St. Pete Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Mackinac Island, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Wonderful History Hotel”
Reviewed December 22, 2013

This old hotel speaks to you. The giant place is right on the beach. Great pool and bar. Nice place to stay while in St Pete. White sugar sand beach, blue water and hot sun Perfect. The hotel reminds me of the Grand Hotel at Mackinaw Island MI beautiful. If you are looking for a cookie cutter hotel this is not it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sunny1099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

745 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    442
    163
    69
    41
    30
See reviews for
329
204
18
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coronado, Costa Rica
Level 6 Contributor
214 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2013 via mobile

We only spent one night here while we were in St. Pete on a family visit. The grandkids enjoyed the games & playground for a short time. The suites were quite spacious & were very nice for a beach hotel. There are restaurants & a Walgreen's within walking distance. We had a discounted rate thanks to Travelzoo but did have to pay a resort fee. I have never understood why hotels don't incorporate that into their rate. We would not stay there again when we are visiting family because we are not at the hotel enough to make use of the facilities. However, I would recommend the hotel to anyone who is looking for a nice vacation hotel.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Saltspringsgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2013

We came here for the weekend on a Travel Zoo deal, and are likely to return, but probably only at the reduced rates. While the property is amazing (pretty much every suite has some kind of ocean view off their roomy balconies) and comes with access to all the amenities at their grander sister property, these suites are largely overdue for a renovation. Furnishings are dated and a bit threadbare considering this is a Don Cesar rental that goes for a good chunk of change during high season and on weekends. With a good revamping, this place would be the jewel of the beach. The basic layout of the suites is quite comfortable, and there's a nice pool and a lovely stretch of beach. They offer shuttle service to the Don, but the trek is pleasantly walkable on the beach side.

Room Tip: Look for Travel Zoo and other deals, or stay during the week when the rates are much lower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1morefoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2013

I stayed for one week (Nov. 21-28, 2013) at the Beach House Suites by the Don CeSar. It is actually located about 4 blocks from the larger Don CeSar. It is painted with the trademark pink of the Don. It is a comfortable and very casual hotel with each room actually being a former condo. The room I stayed in was gulf front and on the first floor (actually one level up from the ground). These rooms are reserved for guests with pets (I had brought my small, senior dog with me). The hotel prices are very reasonable, however, I found the $45/night pet fee a bit high. My room had one bedroom with its own bathroom and then another bathroom across the hall. I had a full kitchen, living and dining area with a nice-sized balcony overlooking the Gulf of Mexico. Parking is adequate and there is no charge.
The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. My favorite housekeeper "Laneil" was a real sweetheart and an excellent worker. She really seemed to care about my comfort and safety. When she told me "goodbye" she actually said it was an "honor" to serve me!

Even though I know most hotels charge a "resort fee", I always am amazed at this. This hotel had a pool and spa with shuffle board and a few games. I truly think that should be expected with the price of the hotel room and not charged as an extra "resort fee".

I visited this area to attend a wedding and then to visit an elderly aunt and uncle. I enjoyed waking each morning, making my own coffee and sitting on the balcony watching the ocean. I attended my functions, but was so glad to return to my beach suite and relax in casual comfort.

I visit my aunt and uncle each year, so I definitely intend to stay at the Beach House Suites again next year! I feel fortunate to have found this comfortable and delightful retreat.

Room Tip: Avoid a room where the bedroom window overlooks Gulf Blvd. I was awakened at 1:50am by the City of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rebecca W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2013 via mobile

My family and I throughly enjoyed our stay. Only problem I can think of is that we couldn't stay longer. Friendly staff, nice clean suites.. We had a room with a door to shut the kids out... Could have cooked full meals but on vacation who wants to do that?

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Casandra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2013

The Beach House Suites in St Pete are run by the Lowes as part of the Don Cesar. The BHS has a small pool side bar but if you wish, you can stroll down the beach for 0.6 miles and hang out pool-side at one of the main hotels pools. There you will have a friendly and fairly efficient staff to wait on you. Just grab a lounge chair and when you want something, raise the flag on your chair and like magic, wait staff comes to take your order. The service has improved tremendously since the Lowes took the property over. And when you make your reservation, the superior rooms face directly to the beach. Be careful booking the rooms with a partial or angled view of the beach (South facing). It all boils down to what your expectations are. Parking is plentiful. Great restaurants are within walking distance but there is also a shuttle to take you to the Don Cesar or a restaurant in the area. Rumor has it that the comfortable rooms will get a makeover in 2014.

Room Tip: Choose the rooms facing the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sartell, Minnesota
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Our November weekend stay was fabulous! Great location on quality beach and walking distance to many restaurants/bars. Enjoyed use of The Don CeSar's workout facilities. The staff at Beach House Suites was exceptionally knowledgeable/helpful/friendly/professional -- they went the extra mile many times for us. We hope to return for an even longer stay next time!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 449Md1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Pete Beach hotels
0.5 mi away
The Don CeSar
The Don CeSar
#7 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
3,577 reviews
1.6 mi away
St Pete Beach Suites
St Pete Beach Suites
#2 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
337 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sirata Beach Resort
Sirata Beach Resort
#14 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
TradeWinds Island Grand Resort
TradeWinds Island Grand Resort
#10 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
5,362 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center
1.2 mi away
Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach House Suites by The Don CeSar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach House Suites by The Don CeSar

Property: Beach House Suites by The Don CeSar
Address: 3860 Gulf Blvd, St. Pete Beach, FL 33706-3933
Location: United States > Florida > St. Pete Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#2 Spa Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#12 Family Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#14 Romantic Hotel in St. Pete Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Beach House Suites by The Don CeSar 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beach House Suites by the Don CeSar are located directly on St. Pete Beach and feature seventy all-suite accommodations. Ideal for extended stays group blocks and families. Each suite is equipped with a separate living room with sofa bed, washer and dryer, and a kitchenette with mini-refrigerator, dishwasher, Keurig coffee-maker, microwave, and induction stove top. Pet-friendly accommodations are available. Guest rooms have spectacular views of the Gulf of Mexico. There is one heated outdoor pool. The property has a lounge and dining outlet, Sand Dollar Bar, adjacent to its pool area. Guests are able to use the world-class services and amenities at the nearby Don CeSar, which is about a half mile walk down the beach. These amenities include access to the two large heated outdoor pools, fitness center, yoga and aerobics classes, non-motorized watersport rentals, history tours, complimentary tastings, Kids Club, business center, PressReader access, and pool and beach games. Guests are able to make charges at the Spa Oceana, six drinking and dining outlets, and beach and watersport rentals. Access is included in the resort fee. Also included in the resort fee is premium Wi-Fi and two bottled waters, daily turndown service, upon request, and unlimited local calls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TravelUp, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Beach House Suites by The Don CeSar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach House Suites By The Don Cesar Hotel Saint Pete Beach
Beach Hotel Saint Pete
Beach St Pete
Beach Resort Saint Pete
Beach House Suites By The Don CeSar St. Pete Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing