We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Should not be associated with Don Cesar” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beach House Suites by The Don CeSar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Beach House Suites by The Don CeSar
Ranked #4 of 32 Hotels in St. Pete Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
68 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Should not be associated with Don Cesar”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2011

Booked on expedia for a high rate that would coincide with the Don Cesar. Drove up to the Don Cesar, unloaded bags, went to check in where they informed me I was not staying there but down the street. Very rude staffer at Don Cesar basically shooing us away.

We drove down the street where we were unpleasantly surprised. For the rate I was paying this was an absolute ripoff. Expedia had this listed as 4 star and that is also a ripoff. This is a 2.5 star hotel AT BEST.

I have to give props to the staff, the manager on duty that night was extremely understanding and friendly. I wouldn't have a problem staying here if I knew what I was getting into and the rate was about $150 lower.( For the rate I paid, I could have stayed at the Ritz Carlton in Sarasota for the same price!)

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank topherashley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

664 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    385
    149
    62
    41
    27
See reviews for
286
182
16
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
181 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2011

As part of this review the Pina Colada song stuck in my head, so I figured my review would go along with the song:

If you are not into health foods, then stay from Don Cesar
there are plastic filled models so near and not too far

If you like getting sand kicked in your face
from some musclehead, then this is not your place

Meet me at the Poolbar and well plan our wait
Rude people are rampant at this estate

Do yourself a favor and go to a bar called omalleys
where you can fogret your mistake

Room Tip: Bring lots of Plastic body parts
See more room tips
Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank DrtimothyCarroll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2011

We stayed in a beachfront suite for 2 weeks in February 2011. The location on the beach was wonderful. However, we think that for the premium high price paid for the accommodation that the additional $22 a day resort fee is outrageous especially when it didnt include a beach chair on the beach. They claim the fee is for parking, internet wireless access and the shuttle down to the original Don Cesar. Crazy! The furniture was tatty, frayed and very well used with hammock shaped sofa cushions. The suite had 2 bathrooms which was helpful but the stand-up shower staff had mildrew/mould in the tile grout despite daily housekeeping. Very tiny pool which is very crowded once 3 or 4 kids are in it - no fun for adults. This hotel needs work for the price. We would not recommend it for a long stay due to the cost & amenities.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hummingcrane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2010

Stayed at The Beach House Suites by Don Cesar from 10/30-11/2. The room was clean, roomy (given the number of travelers we had with us), and had a nice layout. Our room had a full kitchen which was also great b/c when we had leftovers from eating out, we had a fridge (full size) to store our food, and microwave to warm it. The hotel is in a great location, very accessible to many attractions, restaurants, etc. Although the Beach House Suites is affiliated with the Don Cesar, the properties are not quite the same. My family and I previously stayed at The Don last year and The Don is definitely more upscale.

The staff at Beach House were great. Cheryl and Dennis took real good care of us throughout our stay. You two do an amazing job!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LucyandCydsMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2010

Just back from 2 great weeks at the suites...this was our 4th visit , but the first for 3 years and it only gets better....service was super and special thanks and glowing reports for Kijana, at the pool, Dennis the excellent chauffeur and the Suites boss Susan.

I`ve seen previous comments regarding the place becoming "tired"...ok, however its always immaculate and there are improvements happening..its a gradual process

my only gripe was not with the suites but at the Don itself.....we travelled with friends and so had a party of 8 for lunch/dinner...and because of this the Don charged a"large party" charge, which on one occassion was $60!!!!..come on Don...in this current climate you should be encouraging large parties not penalising them...and when we tried to avoid this by reserving under 2 names this caused certain restaurant staff, in the sea porch cafe to get into a "tizzy"...however this didn`t detract from the fantastic suites service.

heres hoping the oil doesn`t reach St pete`s...we`re already looking to book for next year but 2 weeks is never enough!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steven_haldane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, MO
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2010

We just got back from a four night stay at the Beach House Suites and it was perfect. Our accommodations were what we were looking for; a suite with bedroom and a separated living area, since we have a 3 year old who needs to nap. The staff was friendly and never passed us by without saying good morning (with a smile) or telling us how cute our child was. ;) Kajana by the pool, was the best. When we first went down to swim the first morning we were there, we expected to have him ask us for our room number or our room key, but instead, he asked us where we would like to be set up. We were pleasantly surprised that this was part of the 22 dollar resort fee. He set up our spots complete with a covered cushion and towels. He was also extremely helpful when our daughter swallowed a bit too much water while swimming (sorry, if any other readers were there at the time) This hotel is extremely family friendly, and the pride in their work attitude is apparent in all of the staff. We did have a chance to go up the beach to the Don CeSar Resort to swim, and we were not welcomed with open arms like we were by Kajana at the Beach House. They didn't know we weren't guests at the Don CeSar either. All in all, great place to stay if what you are looking for is a suite with a view, and a nice pool. The only thing that needs updating would be the carpet and the bathrooms. Otherwise, two flat screens, and a full refrigerator are more than what you would get at a much more "classy" hotel.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Riso30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Racine, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2010

We just returned from an eight day stay at the Beach House Suites and it was fantastic; just as we had remembered it to be. Our accommodations were outstanding and the staff just as friendly and helpful as ever. From our conversation with Shawn prior to our arrival, to Raymond greeting us at registration, to Kajana poolside; the Beach House Suties remains our home away from home. Everything that we needed was either supplied in our room or was delivered to us in a timely pleasant manner. The staff did not miss a beat and we want to personally thank Susan for the manner in which she manages the Beach House. Not only was she available upon our request to meet with, but took the time to meet her guests and get to know them - this I believe makes all the difference and accounts for the "family friendly" atmosphere the Beach House offers its guests. A return vacation to the Beach House - without question. The Beach House Suites continues to offer the high quality service and family friendly accommodations we have come to know and expect. Thanks to the staff at the Beach House suites for the wonderful vacation.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat052010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Pete Beach hotels
0.5 mi away
The Don CeSar
The Don CeSar
#8 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,307 reviews
1.0 mi away
TradeWinds Island Grand Resort
TradeWinds Island Grand Resort
#11 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,104 reviews
0.3 mi away
Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center
1.2 mi away
Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort
1.7 mi away
Inn on the Beach
Inn on the Beach
#1 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach House Suites by The Don CeSar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach House Suites by The Don CeSar

Property: Beach House Suites by The Don CeSar
Address: 3860 Gulf Blvd, St. Pete Beach, FL 33706-3933
Location: United States > Florida > St. Pete Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#1 Spa Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#12 Family Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#14 Romantic Hotel in St. Pete Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Beach House Suites by The Don CeSar 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beach House Suites are located directly on St. Pete Beach and feature seventy all-suite accommodations. Ideal for extended stays group blocks and families. Each suite is equipped with a separate living room with sofa bed, washer and dryer, and a kitchenette with mini-refrigerator, dishwasher, Keurig coffee-maker, microwave, and induction stove top. Pet-friendly accommodations are available. Guest rooms have spectacular views of the Gulf of Mexico. There is one heated outdoor pool. The property has a lounge and dining outlet, Sand Dollar Bar, adjacent to its pool area. Guests are able to use the world-class services and amenities at the nearby Don CeSar, which is about a half mile walk down the beach. These amenities include access to the two large heated outdoor pools, fitness center, yoga and aerobics classes, non-motorized watersport rentals, history tours, complimentary tastings, Kids Club, business center, PressReader access, and pool and beach games. Guests are able to make charges at the Spa Oceana, six drinking and dining outlets, and beach and watersport rentals. Access is included in the resort fee. Also included in the resort fee is premium Wi-Fi and two bottled waters, daily turndown service, upon request, and unlimited local calls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Beach House Suites by The Don CeSar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach House Suites By The Don Cesar Hotel Saint Pete Beach
Beach Hotel Saint Pete
Beach St Pete
Beach Resort Saint Pete
Beach House Suites By The Don CeSar St. Pete Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing