We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort
Nearby Hotels
$182
$167
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$290
$229
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Don CeSar(St. Pete Beach)
$5,040
$279
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Alden Suites(St. Pete Beach)
$239
$203
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$146
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
St Pete Beach Suites(St. Pete Beach)
$179
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$167
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sirata Beach Resort(St. Pete Beach)
$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
TradeWinds Island Grand Resort(St. Pete Beach)
$275
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$309
$269
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,001)
Filter reviews
2,001 results
Traveler rating
1,280
523
114
46
38
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,280
523
114
46
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree beer and winesocial houradirondack chairsshuffle boardgrocery storemini golffree happy hourcorn holenice poolfamily ownedsmall hotelbeachfront resortwithin walking distancefull size fridgeheated poolgreat place to staystove top
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,127 - 1,132 of 2,001 reviews
Reviewed December 25, 2013

I can't say enough about this family owned fantastic hideaway on the beach. We were there for the birth of my first great-grandchild. Perfect location to spend time on the beach. Hotel was just a few hundred yards from the white, gorgeous beach. Lovely colorful beach chairs and other beach lounges. My room was spacious with a full kitchen. Even though the parking lot was being paved there was no inconvenience. Staff was the best I've ever encountered. A special shout out to Mariah, who checked us in. She and all the other staff treated us like family and went out of their way to make a wonderful vacation for us. I feel like I have found a special gem of a hotel to return again and again each time I visit St. Pete!! I wouldn't stay anywhere else. It doesn't get any better than This for the money. I met another guest that was back for their 23rd visit. This should tell you all you need to know. They were making upgrades to an already wonderful place without any inconvenience. By the next visit I'm sure they will have the new beds in and probably some newer sheets. It was probably one of the nicest experiences ever on the beach!! I highly recommend Plaza Beach. A very pleasant surprise in so much attention to detail. Loved the wine hour where everyone gathered for a free glass of wine or beer and free coffee in the morning. Looking forward to going back. There housekeeping department was the best ever!! We were treated like kings and queens!!

Room Tip: The best area I think was the side that had the bamboo huts. Little more private than the parking lot side. A special nice touch was green Christmas lights that sparkled on the huts and the sidewalks.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gloria531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2013

This is actually the third time we have stayed here at Plaza Beach on the Gulf. Every room has a small kitchenette so you can be economical and buy groceries and cook, but there are many restaurants within walking distance. Awesome views of the Gulf - walk out of your room and the beautiful sandy beach is just a few steps away - gorgeous sunsets! The rooms are clean and comfortable. The staff is friendly and accommodating.
Great place, great people, great value!!!
We intend to make a visit yearly :)

Room Tip: There are 4 rooms with a fantastic view of the Gulf. The upper levels are better - less guest traffic.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donna N Todd B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013

We are locals and this was a nice find for a quick Staycation.
Tami checked us in and out, she was very polite and helpful.
The room was newly remodeled. If you are looking for a view-spring the extra dollars for the Gulf Front room. Otherwise opt for the south facing rooms.
The walls are pretty thin but you don't really need to spend much time in the room so...
There are many nice touches in the room and the office offers freem coffee in the morning and they have a free social hour with beer and wine in the evening.
Nice little find!

Room Tip: Go for the Gulf front, they have balconies which would make it quite a different trip altogether
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank antigravity28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013

We actually selected this property using TripAdvisor. Were looking more for value than quality, and were pleasantly surprised. The previous reviews were good, hence the draw. It is a smaller property, but directly on the beach, and a wonderful gem. Was recently renovated (our room was almost entirely new and fresh tiles, paint, décor etc. As we checked out, we were talking with staff, as there was pallets of new toilets and parking lot resurfacing going on. Apparently they are renovating even more (including toilets, mattresses etc) during the slow season, which is fantastic. None of these renovations impacted our stay.
Room had 2 beds, plus a pullout sofa, kitchenette, complete with two-burner stove, mid-size fridge, coffee pot, toaster, full service for 4, including pots, pans dishes, silverware etc.
Bathroom was a little small, but newly renovated. Would suggest maybe removing old magni-mirror and glass cup holders (go wrapped plastic like the big chains LoL) to "open up" the tight space a little. Maybe consider more modern bedcovers during next remodel. But again, overall a great experience with clean, beach-friendly hotel.
Staff was very friendly and helpful! Check-in (Jackie) was very enthusiastic and ensured we were welcomed home.
Definitely family (especially younger kids) friendly, as you are right on the beach, there are several activities you can do to entertain (pool, corn-hole, foosball, mini putt-putt, photo-poser boards, shuffleboard, beach bike and of course the Gulf steps away).
Upon checking out, we checked out the mini library, 4 computer workstations, appeared to be keg-a-rator for mini socials(?), laundry equipment, reading library etc.
Were assured that no matter the online prices offered by others, they would beat them by booking directly with the hotel. Were given nice parting gifts and genuinely welcomed back for our next visit, and if we travel this way, surely will return.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gatorraider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plaza-Resorts_Owner, General Manager at Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2013

Thank you for a wonderful, detailed review of your stay. I’m glad you noticed and appreciate the upgrades. We are always looking for new ways to enhance the guest experience. We are installing new toilets, mattresses and bedding in the coming weeks. We have just completed installing new doors and a key card system. I wanted to mention the reason we don’t offer the pre-packed cups is because we are a member of the Florida Green Lodging Program and reduce waste by using glass instead of plastic and other items, such as the refillable soap and shampoo dispensers. We do have a complimentary social hour from 4-5pm daily with beer and wine. Next time you’ll have to be sure to check it out – it’s a great time!

Robert Czyszczon
General Manager
Plaza Beach Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013

Hotel is perfect location on the beach. Close to restaurants and shopping. Room was very spacious with lots of amenities. Comfortable beds with new linens. Door keys always worked Staff is friendly and helpful, the desk clerk even remembered me from a previous trip over 6 months ago!!! I thought they had a little beach bar but it was not there on this trip.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NebraskaBeachcomber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews