We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Beachfront Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort
Ranked #6 of 32 Hotels in St. Pete Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

We spent 5 nights at the Plaza Beach Hotel and had a great experience. The hotel was not only spacious and clean, the location was perfect. The beds were clean, the floors were tiled instead of carpet which was nice when coming in with sandy shoes. The pool offered a nice change from the beautiful beachfront during our long days in the sun. The appliances were very clean. I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for an affordable, clean, convenient stay. We will definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fjohnson1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,890)
There are newer reviews for Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,098 - 1,104 of 1,890 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2013

We had a very relaxing, comfortable vacation at St. Pete Beach, Florida at Plaza Beach Resort - Beachfront Hotel. If you like high rises and luxury with prices to match, this is not your hotel. But if you love being right on the sand of the beach, this could be your place. It felt more like our own little beach cabin with the kitchenette adding so much to our comfort. A full size refrigerator, two burner cook-top, coffee maker and toaster. Surprised at how clean and nicely stocked the kitchen supplies were, matching dishes, glasses, cups, silverware, cutting board, and even a teakettle. There were nice touches throughout our room and resort. It was reminiscent of a 50's motel, and the price left no room for complaint. They have made the most of the layout with games and authentic Tiki huts near the pool and on the Bay side docks, and the entire resort is very well-kept. The staff were all smiling and friendly, but efficient, and very helpful with questions. We had fun doing beach cleanup with the owner Robert and his wife, Mari, and their two darling children. I appreciate an environmentally conscious business, and they have taken thoughtful steps to limit negative environmental impacts. We also appreciated the 32 inch flat screen television that was mounted on a swivel so we could watch sports all over the room. We really enjoyed the daily "Happy Hour" where we had the opportunity to meet and talk with couples from many U.S. States, Canada, and European countries. It's kind of like Vegas in that the joy of the place is not staying in your room, but accessing the Gulf beach as well as the Bay, and exploring the many entertainment venues up and down St. Pete Beach and Pass A Grille, not to mention all the great things to do in the area outside St. Pete Beach, too. I appreciated the hotel not having any bars or restaurants as we were able to come back to a quiet place to rest and sleep. I thought the bed was the best I have ever slept on in a hotel, although I do recommend earplugs if the noise of an air conditioner bothers you. The bathrooms are small, and if you are a large person, you might not be comfortable with it. But it reminded us of home. And we loved the convenient shopping just within the block. Overall, I would say it satisfied my tropical beach vacation wish perfectly with no financial regrets.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plaza-Resorts_Owner, General Manager at Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Debra,

Thank you for the great review of your stay at the Plaza Beach Hotel – Beachfront Resort. I was so pleased with the guest participation in our monthly Beach Cleanup effort. We are always looking for new ways to be eco-friendly and appreciate you and other guests who took the time to volunteer during their vacations. I’m glad you took advantage of all of our amenities in the room and around the property. We hope you come back again for another relaxing trip!

Robert Czyszczon, General Manager
Plaza Beach Resorts - St Pete Beach
"Traditions Start Here"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

This was our first time visiting Florida so our first time at this hotel. We found the resort very clean, the staff (Tami and Zijada) were very friendly and helpful and our accommodations were excellent. It was very windy when we arrived but my husband was determined to 'play' in the surf and swim in the ocean. The waves were too strong for me so I opted for a swim in the beautiful pool. We loved being right on the beachfront so we could walk the beaches. We loved this resort and we would definitely come back!!

Room Tip: You could chose just about any room from right on the beachfront or back from the ocean. Any room...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joan10242013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plaza-Resorts_Owner, General Manager at Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Joan,

Thank you for a Five Star review of your stay at the Plaza Beach Hotel – Beachfront Resort. We are honored that your first time in Florida was experienced here in St Pete Beach at our resort. Thank you for mentioning two of our staff members who provided your with exemplary service, Tami and Zijada. I will be sure to pass on your kind comments to both of them. We hope to see you again on your second trip to Florida!

Robert Czyszczon, General Manager
Plaza Beach Resorts - St Pete Beach
"Traditions Start Here"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Staff was beyond courteous and helpful. Amenities were slightly dated, but still very nice.
The ownership takes great pride in the property.
Bathrooms are very small, but beds are extremely comfortable. Make sure you ask for room cleaning between days or none will be given.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jrskene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Maybe there is something to the saying “Traditions Start Here”, because we have just completed our fifth year vacationing here. It is right on the beach, there is a lovely pool, and the atmosphere is serene and quiet, just the place to de-stress. There are plenty of chaise lounge chairs by the pool, and towels can be picked up at the office. There are colorful chairs on the beach sand, some adirondack style, some lounge chairs too. The view is beautiful, and we saw many dolphins swimming by. Sunsets are marvelous, everyone can see and enjoy.

Our room has a flat panel TV, kitchen area with 2-burner stove, refrigerator, microwave, toaster, coffee maker, sink, dishes, pots/pans, flatware, cups and drinking glasses, and table and chairs for 3. There’s a ceiling fan, A/C, 2 closets, and things like shampoo, conditioner, soap, kleenex, are all supplied. Free W-Fi. The bathrooms may be small, but are well equipped, and have grab bars in the bathtub/shower and by the toilet. The floors are tile. There are charging plugs for your phones on both sides of the bed. There is a safe, large enough to fit my laptop, which is 13.5” x 9”.

There’s even a reusable grocery bag for shopping at Publix Grocery store across the street. They have little wheeled carts you can borrow too. There’s also a Walgreens, a bakery and a Pizza place across the street. Chick-Fil-A delivers to the hotel. If you walk 2 hotels down, there is a Tiki Bar on the beach if you want some adult beverages.
They do have a social hour from 4 - 5, with free beer and wine.

This is a family owned hotel, small, and friendly. Anything you need, just ask. Everyone, including the cleaning staff, is very warm and helpful. (Special thanks to Zijada, who took good care of us this year!) The owners take good care of their hotel, and every year there are constant upgrades and improvements. We have fun spotting what’s different each year that we come.

Room Tip: Odd numbered rooms are on the shady side of the hotel.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NCKathy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

To celebrate my wife & my 45th anniversary, I called two weeks in advance to rent a room for this past weekend. I told the desk clerk of the occasion & said I wanted a nice room to celebrate. We had stayed here a few years ago & had a great time. Located right on the beach we enjoyed the beautiful sunsets. We checked in & were almost shocked at the room they gave us. It was small & cramped. The room was also located along street side so traffic noise was annoying. The bed was very hard & not conducive for a restful sleep. When I voiced my concerns to the desk clerk she said there was nothing they could do as they was booked up. What was disappointing was that they knew it was a special occasion & instead of telling us that this was the only room left, they gave us their most undesirable room. They were more interested in putting bodies in their room. We would have delayed our trip had we been informed. Our $311.00 was not well spent. Needless to say we will not be going back.

Room Tip: If you have the money to blow, be sure to clarify the size of the room close to the pool.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TampaTraveler7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plaza-Resorts_Owner, General Manager at Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I apologize that you were not happy with the room during your most recent stay. Upon looking into it, you booked a Deluxe Efficiency Suite and there was a request listed for one bed instead of two queen beds, due to the special occasion. Room locations are not guaranteed or determined at the time of booking, and unfortunately all rooms are not beachfront. As evidenced by our wonderful reviews, we are not in the business of simply filling rooms. I’m very sorry that you felt that way. I can’t apologize enough about this past experience, but I would like to invite you back and offer a complimentary upgrade to the next level of room category when you re-book. I sincerely value your business and would appreciate the opportunity to provide you with another positive experience.

Robert Czyszczon
General Manager
Plaza Beach Resorts - St Pete Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

tripadvisor is creating a new hotel economy, no longer do you have to roll into town and play hotel darts. If you choose a top ranked establishment you can be almost certain that the hotel staff will bend over backwards in hopes of a great review. This motel is tripadvisor centric and is no exception.

What a fantastic little "motor motel" of yesteryear. While properties such as this have been razed and replaced with 30 story condos "The Plaza Beach Hotel" thank goodness was not. Instead the obviously quality conscious owners chose to invest in updating the rooms allowing familes to enjoy the pristine St Pete Beach at a reasonable price. This is a very well run hotel, the rooms were spotless ( we stayed in two different rooms) cabinets full of dinnerware and cookware with a kitchenette and a Publix just across the street if you don't care to eat out. The pool was exceptionally clean, a garden chess area, a "mini mini golf area" and covered picnic tables were examples of how no space is left unused. With a parking lot of 50's cars this hotel would be an extraordinary James Dean movie set.

Folks that have complained about the Plaza not being a "resort" should have stayed just a few blocks down the street at the "Don Cesar" where they of course would have complained about rates and probably lack of service for what they paid.

If you are nostalgic or if you value "value" and service you will absolutely love The Plaza Beach Resort. No question we will go back to support a business that is so customer focused.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BillYon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plaza-Resorts_Owner, General Manager at Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Bill,

Thanks for taking the time to leave this detailed FIVE STAR review of your stay at the Plaza Beach Hotel – Beachfront Resort. Many prospective guests look to reviews to choose a property that fits their specific needs. As you stated, we provide an excellent value and a boutique resort experience with a focus on nothing but the best customer service. We are often called a ‘hidden gem’ among large hotels and condos, which many travelers like you appreciate. I look forward to welcoming you back as a repeat guest!

Robert Czyszczon
General Manager
Plaza Beach Resorts - St Pete Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Pete Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Bayview Plaza Waterfront Resort
Bayview Plaza Waterfront Resort
#18 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
493 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Don CeSar
The Don CeSar
#7 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
3,744 reviews
1.3 mi away
St Pete Beach Suites
St Pete Beach Suites
#3 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sirata Beach Resort
Sirata Beach Resort
#13 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4,223 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center
0.2 mi away
Bay Palms Waterfront Resort - Hotel and Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort

Address: 4506 Gulf Boulevard, St. Pete Beach, FL 33706-2404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Pete Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#2 Top resorts Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#2 Business Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#4 Family Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#5 On the Beach Hotel in St. Pete Beach
Price Range: $132 - $401 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completely Renovated property from the 1950s, Plaza Beach Hotel Beachfront Resort is an award winning boutique resort of only 39 suites on the tropical island of St Pete Beach. St Pete Beach was voted #1 Beach in America by TripAdvisor, famous for its sugar white beaches. The Plaza Beach Hotel is situated directly on the beach with a large beachside pool overlooking the Gulf of Mexico. Imagine yourself relaxing in the pool while watching a breathtaking purple sunset melt into the Gulf. Then relax in one of our spacious studio apartments with kitchenettes; great for large families, couples or the business traveler who wants all the amenities of home. Best of all we have No Surprise Resort Fees! Enjoy everything the Plaza Beach Resort has to offer at no additional cost. We really mean it: FREE beach chairs, FREE Beach/Pool Towels, FREE Wireless Internet, FREE Shuffleboard, FREE 4-hole Mini-Golf, FREE Human-size Chess, FREE BBQ Area, FREE Business Center, FREE Fitness Room, FREE parking, and FREE Fishing off of our private piers just across the street. Members of Superior Small Lodging Association and Approved by AAA for Quality and Standards, our resort is one of only a handful of resorts in Florida that has received the Green Lodging seal from the State of Florida and a Greenleaders Gold Award from TripAdvisor for our effort in conserving and recycling. Our resort is Family Owned and Operated, and has been since 1988. The family is still very active in the day to day operations and has an amazing staff ready to assist you with an authentic Florida vacation. St Pete Beach is a 6-mile island and the Plaza Beach Resort is directly in the center of the island. Everything is within walking distance: the grocery store, restaurants, and shopping are just across the street. The Plaza Beach staff is more than happy to help you find the many activities also available on the beach such as deep sea fishing, parasailing, jet skiing, dolphin cruises, sunset cruises and ferries available to visit the nearby islands. Best of all we are only 30 minutes from Busch Gardens and 90 minutes from Disney, Universal, and other Orlando theme parks. Try us and see for yourself why so many people return to the Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort year after year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Saint Pete Beach
Plaza Beach Saint Pete
Plaza Beach Resort
Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort St. Pete Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing