We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect in every way!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort
Ranked #6 of 32 Hotels in St. Pete Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Okeana, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect in every way!”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

This was my second trip to the Plaza Beach Resort, and will be the only place I stay, every year. What I love about it is that you are family here, not a room #. Everyone bends over backwards for you, and nobody turns up their nose to you. This is my second home, where I feel safe and relaxed and entertained.... I tell everyone to stay here and rave about it. See ya next September!

Room Tip: Second floor is quieter.
See more room tips
Green Features: They do go green. Check out the bathrooms for more info.
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cynthia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,830 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,149
    494
    109
    45
    33
See reviews for
711
673
68
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (557)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Central Florida
Level Contributor
116 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

Let's be straight. This is no "resort." This is a spruced up 1950's Florida MOTEL. If you are used to even the lower end of the superchains-- Hampton Inn -like -- you will really be disappointed. If you like motels, you'll be OK with this. Just know the marketing is over-cooked and it's not a good value in my opinion. Good: gulf-front, nice beach, good use of the beach, OK pool, kind of clean just old, frig in room, close to restaurants and amenities ... Bad: tiniest bathrooms ever, no cleaning service on Sundays, no elevators, not friendly to challenged folks, mold in bathrooms, loud a/c units, no resort style amenities. Really what put this over the top for me was the poor service. They run everything on a shoestring budget and staff. That translates into poor customer Svc and nickle/diming (10$ for an extra key).

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tounderpar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plaza-Resorts_Owner, General Manager at Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Thank you for your review, but I and 99% of the TripAdvisor users would disagree with you. We are most certainly a resort, though not a huge one with 300+ rooms we do offer the same amenities. Our property is directly on the beautiful beach with available amenities including, room service, complimentary social hour with beer and wine offerings, access to three properties including a 1500sq ft fishing dock, beach services such as cabanas, stand up paddleboards, kayaks, parasailing, aqua bikes, dolphin watching boat trips, snorkeling excursions, fishing poles, shuffleboard, corn toss, foosball, business center – this list goes on. We are proudly family owned and operated with friendly, personal service and certainly do not operate with a shoestring budget. We do take a $10 deposit for extra room keys, which is returned when the extra key is returned, so there is not a charge. We are very clean and fully renovated, as you can see by our Tripadvisor rating. Unlike most big resorts, we do not charge a resort fee and include parking, wifi and pool towels for free. We are one of the few properties that do not nickel and dime guests with hidden fees, resort fees, wifi fee, business center fees etc.. added at check out. I’m sorry you felt that this was not a good experience for your family.

To our TripAdvisor Community:
As I have mentioned in the past, please let us know immediately if you feel that something is not to your satisfaction. Our fantastic staff is here to make sure you have a great and enjoyable vacation. Please also visit our award-winning website so that you have an understanding of what the our boutique hotel is all about. We are family owned and operated since 1988 and look forward to hosting you at our beachfront paradise.

Robert Czyszczon
General Manager
Plaza Beach Resorts - St Pete Beach
"Traditions Start Here"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sparks, Nevada, United States
1 review
Reviewed September 24, 2013

this was our 2nd time staying here and it was awesome.. we love it there, the beach is so close, the poor is clean, its close to everything, the front desk are great, the beds are great, the kitchen area is nice, and the people staying there are wonderful too...the air conditioning works great.. and it is quiet..

Room Tip: get one with two queen beds, it is better
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plaza-Resorts_Owner, General Manager at Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Thank you for a wonderful FIVE STAR review of your stay at the Plaza Beach Hotel – Beachfront Resort. I’m glad you enjoyed your stay and pointed out all of the great amenities we have to offer. We all look forward to seeing you during your next stay!

Robert Czyszczon
General Manager
Plaza Beach Resorts - St Pete Beach
"Traditions Start Here"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed September 24, 2013

A great place to stay if you're looking for a quiet, clean, and friendly hotel. Great value for the price. The only downside is that it's about a mile from the main restaurants and beachside bars, but if you don't mind the walk it's a great place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clopresti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eustis, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 24, 2013

When I booked my trip to St. Pete Beach I was torn between two properties, one a resort and Plaza Beach. I decided on Plaza Beach for one reason, the family owned property that evidently showed a sense of pride not a focus on just getting my money. At check in I was pleasantly greeted by the staff, had immpeciable daily room cleaning service and it was QUIET!!!
I am not a frequent vacation taker because my job and other obligations normally prevent this, so when a window opened I had three criteria for my vacation location:
West Coast of FL (Beaches are cleaner, water is clear and I prefer stingrays over sharks)
Hotel on the beach (walking across pavement and dodging cars daily is not on my agenda)
Quiet (Hence why the resort was struck off the list, plus, who wants to pay a $35 a day resort fee?)
Plaza Beach fulfilled all three!!! Not only fulfilled but surpassed! I will be back...off to find that window of time now....

Room Tip: Choose the room that faces the pool...you get an awesome view of the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rhoriem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seymour, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Plaza Beach Resort in St. Pete Beach Fl. was the best Florida experience of all. My fight arrived early but they bent over backwards to get me checked in early! The room was very clean & the staff was always friendly & helpful. I've always liked the smaller family motels when I travel since my parents took us as kids Hi-rises don't work for me! there were so many food & shopping places within walking distance or free shuttle (tip only! they were great!!) Pool was great, beachfront, happy hour in conference room 4 to 5...free beer & wine. Became part of a group that returns annually, will be there next year, hope to see you there!!
Kyle Curry
Indiana

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kyle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plaza-Resorts_Owner, General Manager at Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Thank you for leaving a Five Star Review for your recent stay at the Plaza Beach Hotel – Beachfront Resort. Smaller family-run resorts are hard to find, but we’re glad you appreciate the charm and personal service we give to our guests. Many of our guests become lifelong friends who come back for a reunion every year. You won’t find that anywhere but here! Looking forward to having the whole gang back next September!

Robert Czyszczon
General Manager
Plaza Beach Resorts - St Pete Beach
"Traditions Start Here"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Pictures online are very deceiving. Although the pool area is nice and the adirondack chairs were great the motel itself is sad. Beds are small and lumpy. Air conditioning unit very noisy. So much for listening to the ocean! Our gulf view from inside was a very small window. The bathroom was the smallest ever and there was mold on the shower wall. If we had not paid in advance I would have run! It was a depressing experience and one my family will tease me about booking forever!

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank Donna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plaza-Resorts_Owner, General Manager at Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Thank you for your review, however I find most of your comments unfounded. All of our pictures online on any website are exactly what you get. Our website even offers a virtual tour to give you a real perspective on the property inside and out. You stayed with us for two nights and never mentioned any problems with the air conditioner or anything else in your room. Our bathrooms are admittedly small, but are all brand new and completely renovated. Your reservation was booked online through a third party. We encourage everyone to call the hotel directly to book and we can thoroughly explain the layout of the property and rooms. If you do encounter a problem, please bring it to our attention immediately so that we can remedy the situation while you are here. We can’t help you after check out. Your room was our Superior Gulf View Suite, which offers a partial view of the beach. I’m disappointed that you would describe your stay as depressing, especially with all of the other happy guests we have, which is apparent by our Tripadvisor reviews.

To our TripAdvisor Community:
As I have mentioned in the past, please let us know immediately if you feel that something is not to your satisfaction. Our fantastic staff is here to make sure you have a great and enjoyable vacation. Please also visit our award-winning website so that you have an understanding of what the our boutique hotel is all about. We are family owned and operated since 1988 and look forward to hosting you at our beachfront paradise.

Robert Czyszczon
General Manager
Plaza Beach Resorts - St Pete Beach
"Traditions Start Here"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Pete Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Bayview Plaza Waterfront Resort
Bayview Plaza Waterfront Resort
#17 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Don CeSar
The Don CeSar
#8 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,470 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dolphin Beach Resort
Dolphin Beach Resort
#21 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sirata Beach Resort
Sirata Beach Resort
#14 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,937 reviews
0.9 mi away
Alden Suites
Alden Suites
#12 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,476 reviews
0.7 mi away
TradeWinds Island Grand Resort
TradeWinds Island Grand Resort
#9 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort

Property: Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort
Address: 4506 Gulf Boulevard, St. Pete Beach, FL 33706-2404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Pete Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#2 Business Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#2 Top resorts Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#4 Family Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#5 On the Beach Hotel in St. Pete Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completely Renovated this year, Plaza Beach Hotel Beachfront Resort is an award winning boutique resort of only 39 suites on the tropical island of St Pete Beach. St Pete Beach was voted #1 Beach in America by tripadvisor and is famous for its sugar white beaches. Plaza Beach Resort is situated directly on the beach with a large beachside pool overlooking the Gulf of Mexico. Imagine yourself relaxing in the pool while watching a breathtaking orange/purple sunset melt into the gulf. All rooms are spacious studio apartments with full kitchen; great for large families, couples or the business traveler who wants all the amenities of home. Best of all we have No Surprise Resort Fees, Enjoy everything the Plaza Beach Resort has to offer at no additional cost. We really mean it: FREE Beach Cabanas, FREE Beach/Pool Towels, FREE Wireless Internet, FREE Shuffleboard, FREE 4-hole Mini-Golf, FREE Human-size Chess, FREE BBQ Area, FREE Business Center, FREE Fitness Room, FREE parking and FREE Fishing off of our private piers just across the street. Our resort is Family Owned and Operated, and has been since 1988. The family is still very active in the day to day operations, on property daily, with a great friendly staff ready to assist you with a genuine Florida vacation. Members of Superior Small Lodging Association and Approved by AAA for Quality and Standards, our resort is one of only a handful of resorts in Florida that has received the Green Lodging seal from the State of Florida as well as greenleaders gold award from tripadvisor for our effort in conserving and recycling. St Pete Beach is a 6-mile island and the Plaza Beach Resort is directly in the center of the island. Everything is in walking distance, the grocery store, restaurants, and shopping are just across the street. As well as Deep Sea Fishing, Parasailing, Jet Skiing, Dolphin Cruises, Sunset Cruises and many different island cruises visiting the nearby islands. Best of all we are only 30 minutes from Busch Gardens and 90 minutes from Disney and all the Orlando Parks. Try us, and see for yourself why so many people return to the Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Saint Pete Beach
Plaza Beach Saint Pete
Plaza Beach Resort
Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort St. Pete Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing