We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Older property but well maintained”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort
Ranked #6 of 32 Hotels in St. Pete Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Missouri
Level Contributor
362 reviews
192 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“Older property but well maintained”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

This was our first trip to Florida for a beach vacation. We did some research and decided to visit St. Pete Beach for a couple of days. Based on other reviews and wanting a moderate but not very expensive hotel, we ended up here. Our flight was late so we checked in around 10. The office hours are only until 10:30 so I don't how they handle it when guests show up late.

The room could be considered either a large room or a small suite. There were 2 full beds, a couch, coffee table, dresser and two closet spaces (walled off but no doors). The kitchenette area had a table with 3 chairs, a small fridge with top freezer, toaster, coffee maker, microwave, and a very small sink area with a stovetop. I can't see anyone making gourmet meals here but you can warm up food and do basic cooking.

The bathroom was quite small with 3 small shelves and a couple of towel bars. The shower and tub were old but ok. There were shampoo, conditioner, and liquid soap dispensers along with a single bar of soap.

I found the beds too firm and the spreads and blankets kind of old and iffy - they didn't appear to have been washed lately. There was a huge flat-screen TV pointed at the beds with lots of channels (but nothing good on!).

The nicest part of the hotel was that it was on the beach so you could walk out the back right onto the sand. There's a pool with plenty of lounge chairs and some wooden beach chairs out on the sand. We rented an umbrella and 2 chairs from a beach vendor for $20 cash for the day (bring some cash if you want to rent anything or do activities - they frown on credit cards). The beach area right behind the hotel was very crowded, and I suggest going a bit south (to the left) where the beach is a bit less sandy but less crowded.

Outside each room were two chairs and there were several other table/chair setups if you want to sit outside. Obviously there are lots of options to spend time outdoors - beach, pool, lounge chairs, etc. but even if it's raining and you need to be indoors, the room is comfortable and large enough to avoid boredom.

Room Tip: The hotel is oriented perpendicularly to the street which is noisy and full of traffic. Rooms toward...
See more room tips
Green Features: There are recycling bins and real dishes instead of plastic.
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,851 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,168
    495
    109
    45
    34
See reviews for
717
683
68
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (566)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Clearwater, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Plaza Beach is a great hotel. The hotel,location,staff and the beach. Just outstanding.Everything is within walking distance.A special shout out to Jackie who works in the office,she was very helpful, friendly and went the extra mile finding us a room for when we come back in July with our son who will be home from the military.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmont, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
87 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We booked this entirely based on the Trip Advisor reviews, sight unseen. We stayed 6 nights and just returned today to Michigan. We definitely will be back. The location, the price, the room, the complimentary happy hour, the staff, were all great in our opinion. A few tips: we are able bodied in our late 50's and we had a 2nd floor room. We would do that again, but if you have a hard time walking, you'll want a first floor. There were 20 steps up and we were up and down a lot (no elevator). Ladies, no need to bring a separate makeup mirror, there's a nice double-sided one attached to the bathroom wall that flips to a magnifier (important for me). Yes, the bathroom is small, but really? Who cares unless you have a lot of people trying to move around in there. The bed was comfy, and that's important to us (we recently bought a new bed at home and were a little worried about the hotel bed - we needn't have worried). We bought some breakfast food, bread, pastries, peanut butter, milk and cereal at the Publix just down the road....and what a nice store that is! Their pastries are as good as a fine bakery (nothing like that in Grand Rapids, MI grocery stores and I am picky!) The Walgreen's I walked to and it was nice for incidentals - I actually bought a sundress and they had a nice selection of t-shirts and baskets of shells if you wanted to buy them. We liked the happy hour - free white and red wine and beer. The people that congregated were all very friendly and not intrusive. (By nature we tend to keep to ourselves). The pool was fine - the hotel gives you free towels to check in/out. If you want to do the beach thing, we would recommend renting the cabana, it was comfy and it kept the shade out. It was $20 for the day or you can rent it for $7 an hour. If you are smart, you will not overdo the sun worshipping. We saw a lot of people get burned as the breeze was deceiving - it felt comfortable but we only stayed in the sun probably an hour max and definitely used sunscreen (spf 30). This was the most relaxing vacation I think I've ever had - I read 3 books, went to the Tampa Zoo and aquarium, shopped, dined at several good restaurants (and we both have picky tummies) and it was all good. The other thing I want to mention is that people were very friendly in this whole area. I mean genuinely friendly! I also had my nails done at the strip mall where Publix was and it was open on Sunday. The pizza place next door to the Publix was very good and we dined outside about 20 minutes before they closed at 10 pm and they again were friendly. You won't find that just anywhere! There were many places to rent in the area, but we will definitely return to Plaza Beach!

Room Tip: We had 202 and it had a nice patio with 2 chairs outside our door, plus a table with 4 chairs in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plaza-Resorts_Owner, General Manager at Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Michelle,

Thank you for a very detailed, five star review of the Plaza Beach Hotel – Beachfront Resort. I’m glad you took notice of the wonderful hospitality offered not only here at our resort, but in our entire area as well. We are in close proximity to many great stores and restaurants. You were here during nice weather, and as you mentioned sunscreen is a must almost year round. Thank you for giving other TripAdvisor members some good recommendations. We hope to see you again soon. Welcome to our extended family.

Robert Czyszczon
General Manager
Plaza Beach Resorts
"Traditions Start Here"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend, In
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013

I booked through travelocity, I paid extra for a room with a view and a king bed, I got half a view and 2 double beds...booked for a honeymoon.(7 nights) When we went to check in two girls behind the counter were speaking about a prior guest and how he doesn't have to stay here because they can sell his room to someone else with no problem so he can leave if he wants. This is very unprofessional and made me leery to say anything to any of the employees the rest of the trip.There were also ants in our room and it was not cleaned well. I tried cleaning some of the grime off of the doors, but I had no cleaner so it didn't do much good. The beds were awful to sleep on as well, you woke up very sore! It does have close beach access.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SBChica345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plaza-Resorts_Owner, General Manager at Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you for your review, and I deeply apologize that you were not satisfied with your stay. I have researched your reservation, and you were put into the correct room. You had a beautiful Superior Gulf View Suite that offers a view of the beach, bedding is only a request, not a guarantee. This category of room is not a Gulf Front Suite. It's a Gulf View. I really apologize for the misunderstanding. Travelocity and the other on-line companies are great, but it's not the same as booking directly through the hotel. When you call the hotel directly, you speak to someone that is on property, and knows the difference in the rooms. Our hotel reservations department is always happy to make suggests and help find the best room for you, especially for such an important occasion like your honeymoon. Have you called us directly, we definitely would have suggested a Gulf Front with Balcony Suite, which would have offered you a direct gulf front view with balcony and a king bed as well. Again, I can't apologize enough, I can't go back and change your experience, but I would like to make it up to you. Please reach out to me by phone or e-mail for your 1st or 2nd Anniversary and I will make it up to you in a very special way.

To our TripAdvisor community,
On-line travel agents like Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com etc...are good companies, they are basically virtual-travel agents and they know our properties rooms. However, they don't know our rooms as well as the hotel front desk or reservations department that is on property and have seen and been in all the rooms. I highly recommend always making your reservations through the hotel directly. The hotel also has a lowest price rate guarantee, if you see a lower price anywhere on-line, our hotel will match it. So do as much research as you wish, read all the reviews, then call our hotel directly so we can help you find the best room for you.


Robert Czyszczon
General Manager
Plaza Beach Resorts
"Traditions Start Here"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Plaza Beach is a clean recently remodeled hotel. My wife and I stayed there last year and thought enough of the property to come back again. There are plenty of dining and drinking options within walking distance so we really didn't ever have to use the car.

Room Tip: If you don't want to spring for the 2 direct gulf view rooms it really is just a matter of wheth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plaza-Resorts_Owner, General Manager at Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
JamesC,

Thank you for leaving a FIVE STAR review of your most recent stay at the Plaza Beach Hotel – Beachfront Resort. Being locals, we are glad you and your wife have chosen our family owned and operated property for your getaways. Our location is ideal, within close proximity to shops, bars, restaurants and more, so many do not need a car to get around. We look forward to seeing you back soon for your Summer, Fall and Winter getaways!!!

Robert Czyszczon
General Manager
Plaza Beach Resorts
"Traditions Start Here"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubuque, Iowa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

The Plaza is in a great location and has a very nice beach you can sit back and relax. The pool looked nice but we preferred the beach. Beds and chairs with umbrellas are available to rent for $20 a day but you can also pull your own chair up on the beach. Most beautiful sunset you will ever see. There is a Walgreens just across the street. This is also a great location to stay if you are doing anything in the bay area. Most major attractions were less than 30 minutes away. Its a very sleepy beach and thats exactly what were were looking for. One thing that kind of creeped me out was how dark it was in the room, also the bedding could be updated. Other than that this place is a winner!

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the second floor on the beach side. There are two room that have private blaco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Corysevenduce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moulton, Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

I had read previous reviews of this resort and was not steered wrong. Many of the reviews have said this is a no frills, right on the beach, clean, family friendly resort, and they are right. This is a very well run establishment and will be hoping to return in the future!

Green Features: I liked how they had built in soap dispensers to reduce plastic bottle use and reused towels/sheets.
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jessica L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Pete Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Bayview Plaza Waterfront Resort
Bayview Plaza Waterfront Resort
#17 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
487 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Don CeSar
The Don CeSar
#8 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
3,526 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dolphin Beach Resort
Dolphin Beach Resort
#21 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sirata Beach Resort
Sirata Beach Resort
#14 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4,031 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bay Palms Waterfront Resort - Hotel and Marina
0.4 mi away
Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort

Property: Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort
Address: 4506 Gulf Boulevard, St. Pete Beach, FL 33706-2404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Pete Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#2 Top resorts Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#2 Business Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#4 Family Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#5 On the Beach Hotel in St. Pete Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completely Renovated this year, Plaza Beach Hotel Beachfront Resort is an award winning boutique resort of only 39 suites on the tropical island of St Pete Beach. St Pete Beach was voted #1 Beach in America by tripadvisor and is famous for its sugar white beaches. Plaza Beach Resort is situated directly on the beach with a large beachside pool overlooking the Gulf of Mexico. Imagine yourself relaxing in the pool while watching a breathtaking orange/purple sunset melt into the gulf. All rooms are spacious studio apartments with full kitchen; great for large families, couples or the business traveler who wants all the amenities of home. Best of all we have No Surprise Resort Fees, Enjoy everything the Plaza Beach Resort has to offer at no additional cost. We really mean it: FREE Beach Cabanas, FREE Beach/Pool Towels, FREE Wireless Internet, FREE Shuffleboard, FREE 4-hole Mini-Golf, FREE Human-size Chess, FREE BBQ Area, FREE Business Center, FREE Fitness Room, FREE parking and FREE Fishing off of our private piers just across the street. Our resort is Family Owned and Operated, and has been since 1988. The family is still very active in the day to day operations, on property daily, with a great friendly staff ready to assist you with a genuine Florida vacation. Members of Superior Small Lodging Association and Approved by AAA for Quality and Standards, our resort is one of only a handful of resorts in Florida that has received the Green Lodging seal from the State of Florida as well as greenleaders gold award from tripadvisor for our effort in conserving and recycling. St Pete Beach is a 6-mile island and the Plaza Beach Resort is directly in the center of the island. Everything is in walking distance, the grocery store, restaurants, and shopping are just across the street. As well as Deep Sea Fishing, Parasailing, Jet Skiing, Dolphin Cruises, Sunset Cruises and many different island cruises visiting the nearby islands. Best of all we are only 30 minutes from Busch Gardens and 90 minutes from Disney and all the Orlando Parks. Try us, and see for yourself why so many people return to the Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Saint Pete Beach
Plaza Beach Saint Pete
Plaza Beach Resort
Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort St. Pete Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing