We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort
Nearby Hotels
Alden Suites(St. Pete Beach)
$189
Alden Suites
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Don CeSar(St. Pete Beach)
$307
$289
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Sirata Beach Resort(St. Pete Beach)
$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$138
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$158
$147
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$245
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Inn on the Beach(St. Pete Beach)
$165
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$127
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
St Pete Beach Suites(St. Pete Beach)
$159
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$349
$269
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,021)
Filter reviews
2,021 results
Traveler rating
1,296
527
114
46
38
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,296
527
114
46
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree beer and winesocial houradirondack chairsshuffle boardgrocery storemini golffree happy hourcorn holenice poolfamily ownedsmall hotelbeachfront resortwithin walking distancefull size fridgeheated poolgreat place to staystove top
Filter
Updating list...
1,406 - 1,411 of 2,021 reviews
Reviewed February 19, 2013

After reading the reviews of Trip Advisor, we definitely expected more of this hotel.
Here are our honest pros & cons:

Pros:
1) Location on the beach is great! The beach is clean with miles of beautiful sand.
2) Pool was clean, heated & salt water (which we prefer). Lots of available chairs to lounge in.
3) Close to grocery store.
4) Geckos for our son to "hunt".
5) Full size fridge.

Cons:
1) Small rooms
2) Small beds (although I have read the hotel is planning to upgrade to real queens, which would be a good idea!)
3) Small bathroom - there was no grout in the tile around the tub so there was a bunch of dirt/dust collected in the cracks (yuck!). The cheap, stained bathtub has air or water under it so it was like standing on a bubble. Appears it was retrofitted during the "reno".
4) Small kitchen - although it was convenient to have an area to cook, there was no space for preparation or drying dishes, etc. The corkscrew was the cheapest & most useless corkscrew ever & there were broken knives in the drawer.
5) Housekeeping - was mediocre; although our beds were made & towels replaced, the tub & sink were not cleaned.

We did not partake in the happy hour because the beer is so cheap in the US (compared to Canada), we didn't feel the need for free beer, but it was a nice offer. We also didn't have much communication or interaction with the staff, so cannot provide much feedback on the service. The small amount of interaction we did have was fine & we have no complaints.

We would consider this hotel low value & low end. We would not recommend this hotel or return to it. We do not feel we received value for the price we paid.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Theresa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plaza-Resorts_Owner, General Manager at Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Thank you for your review. I want to apologize that you were very disappointed with your stay. We really do work hard to exceed and ensure that all our guest have comfortable accommodations. I thank you for your suggestions and we will review them at our next staff meeting and see how we can improve on them.

I am happy to hear that you enjoyed our beachside pool and convenient location to many restaurants and miles of white sandy beach.

To all our future TripAdvisor guest reading this review; please let us know if there is something we can do to improve your stay while you are still at the hotel. Many times we can fix an issue on the spot. No one and no hotel is perfect, and unless you let us know, we don’t know. We can’t move walls, or make a bathroom bigger on the spot, but we can definitely provide you with a better corkscrew or a newer knife. Please always let us know while you’re here, we want to meet and exceed your expectations.

Look forward to seeing everyone here.

Robert Czyszczon
General Manager
Plaza Beach Resorts - St Pete Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

This hotel is just so friendly and welcoming! I think St Pete Beach is the best beach ever. It is not rowdy and full of college students, which I believe they would be bored here haha. The staff are very accommodating. I've been here multiple times and each time I come there are more updates to the property keeping it modern and attractive. The social hour is an extra bonus. You can meet people from all over the world. Very cool!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Iwannaseeitall1452
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We spent a long 3 day weekend at the Plaza Beach Resort in January and had a wonderful time! It was a great 3 day escape from agonizing Illinois winter weather and the Plaza Beach Resort was the perfect place. The location on the beach is perfect, the room very comfortable and clean and the staff freindly. Since we fly out of Rockford, Illinois and Allegiant Airlines flies to St. Pete airport we can be in Florida in a little over two hours for a great weekend escape. We will be going back to the Plaza Beach Resort soon! Dockside Dave's is right down the street for great seafood!

Room Tip: All the rooms appeared to be great. Ours faced the parking lot but was still beautiful!
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Terry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plaza-Resorts_Owner, General Manager at Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Thank you for your Excellent review of the Plaza Beach Hotel-Beachfront Resort. Our family being from Chicago, I know exactly what you are talking about when you say “agonizing Illinois winter” , I’m glad that you discovered our beach paradise. You are right about Allegiant Airlines, they are Awesome and fly in and out of the smaller airports, St Pete Airport is so convenient and so easy to get in and out.

Next time you’re shoveling snow, remember that in just over two hours you can be shoveling sand and building sandcastles instead of snow piles. I look forward to seeing you back again and Thank You for the great pictures too.

Robert Czyszczon
General Manager
Plaza Beach Resorts – St Pete Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We spent 3.5 weeks in the USA last summer, travelling through Florida, Knowing St Pete Beach from previous holidays, we looked for a place to stay and luckiliy found this wonderful place.
Very clean and cosy roooms, very kind staff.
We're a family of 2 adults and 3 children between 10 and 15 and spent 2 nights and 2 wonderful days at the beach.
We all slept in one room (2x Queens bed + 1 on the sofa). There was enough room for everyone.
The hotel is very well located, really a stone-throw from the beach : open the gate next to the pool, that's it, you're on a sandy beach on the Gulf of Mexico !
There is a very nice Italian restaurant (more to this in a next review ;-)) which can be reached by foot from the hotel. There is at the same distance in the opposite direction a Publix which can be reached by foot too.
Due to our schedule (we were due to Miami by the end of the week), we could not stay longer..
This place was the highlight of our trip through Florida and there is no doubt, that we'll return..

Room Tip: The whole location is quiet, 2 rooms are on the sea side.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alex_M32084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

I usually stay in the chain hotels to take advantage of loyalty programs as well as to have a consistent, predictable experience. With out one of my usual hotels in the area, I tried the Plaza Beach Resort based on other Trip Advisor advice.

My wife and I were both very happy with the property. This was not a typical vacation trip, but instead, was a working trip for both of us. The property was close to the client she was meeting with during the day and I was able to work using my laptop and hotel WiFi. The advantage I had was that I could take my laptop to the snack bar area near the pool and have enough shade, AC power, and WiFi signal to work just feet from the sun and sand. I was able to walk the beach, dip in the pool, and walk to a variety of place for lunch.

Once work was over, we found the Publix grocery store across the street to get a variety of foods we could prepare in the kitchenette (microwave, full-size fridge, cooktop, no oven) and eat with the plates and utensils in the room. Very handy and saved us money over eating out every meal.

We had a king room. There is one recliner chair (no sofa) and several chairs for the the kitchen table. Living area here was fine, but the bathroom is very...compact... It is one person-at-a-time in the bathroom.

The room was very clean which is an accomplishment for housekeeping given how sand ends up everywhere. Tile floors make it easier for them to clean. Fit and finish of the room was fine, but remember, this property was probably built in the 70. The owners have done a nice job keeping the paint colors and decor somewhat modern.

We really appreciated having beach chairs for guests rather than having to rent them. Were we there with small children, the collection of beach toys, shuffleboard, mini-golf, and other amusements would have been a very nice compliment. Given how we were traveling this time, we just didn't have time to take advantage of them.

While we will most likely stay here again in future trips to the Gulfport/St. Pete Beach area, there are few things to keep in mind:
- Gulf Blvd is the main road in front of the property and any noise at night from loud motorcycles or cars is going to bounce off the condo next door and carry into any of the south facing rooms. Probably the same issue with the north facing rooms. If you are looking for a very quiet room, this probably isn't the property for you, however, we did sleep with the windows open since that part of Florida was having a heat wave while we were there.
- We had a "pecking" sound above and behind our room that no one could figure out. It wasn't loud, but at 3:00am, it was noticeable and just random enough to make it hard to fall asleep. Might have just been our location.
- There is no housekeeping on Sundays. I think this is perfectly fine and prefer a minimum of service during my stays. No one changes the bedding and towels every day at home, why should I make that big a deal on the road? If you expect that kind of service, just know that you can change your towels at the desk on Sunday.
- You get a single, old-style punched hole key. A second key is a $10 cash deposit that you get back upon checkout.
- Runners will like going south on Gulf Blvd into Pass-a-Grille and then running back. About 5+ miles round trip.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank FairfieldPhoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews