We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Weekend Getaway” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort
Ranked #6 of 32 Hotels in St. Pete Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Altamonte Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
188 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Weekend Getaway”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

St. Pete Beach is one of our favorite beach destinations but this was our first stay at the Plaza Beach Hotel. The entire property is super clean with a very friendly and accommodating staff. This is a good spot for couples or family.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fatbobOrlando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,677 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,052
    454
    100
    43
    28
See reviews for
642
622
61
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (520)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
297 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

We picked this resort because of the high tripadvisor rating. Great location right on the beach. Friendly staff at front desk. Hotel is dated but comfortable. Rooms are clean but again dated. The plumbing needs upgrading as water comes out in a very slow trickle. There is a $25 dollar parking fee per night which is a bit steep. We came for the beach access only but would not rate the property a #1 on tripadvisor.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plaza-Resorts_Owner, General Manager at Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
JennyBuchan, thank you for your wonderful review highlighting our great location and friendly staff. I see that you are well traveled, and your opinions and suggestions are very important to me. I would just like to clarify a few things and get your opinion.

First, you mentioned that plumbing needs upgrading because the water comes out in a very slow trickle. Actually the plumbing has been completely replaced with all new piping, values, and faucets, everything in 2010. The reason the water is running slower than what you may be used to is because we have special water aerators on all our faucets to help reduce the flow of water which saves on wasted water. It's part of our Green Initiative - Green Lodging Program that we have at the hotel, in addition to the water aerators on the faucets, low flow toilets, CFL and LED light bulbs, recycling and much more. The water in the faucet should have been reduced, but not flowing in a trickle, so if that was the case, I apologize for it. The water aerator probably had some something inside slowing it down, I will have our maintenance guys check it and clean it out. Thank you for making me aware of that.

Second, I would like to bring up the $25.00 parking fee per night, that you mentioned. Each of our rooms do receive one free or complementary parking space each day they have a room rented. However, if someone needs a second space for a trailer, boat, friend's car, visitors car, or any reason someone would need a second parking space, than we do charge a $25.00 dollar parking fee. So to clarify for everyone, parking is free, one parking space per room, extra parking spaces when available are $25.00 per night on a first come bases.

Lastly, You mentioned that our rooms are dated, but comfortable. I can really use your help and opinion here. We have spent an incredible about of money renovating our rooms in the last few years. What are we missing, what did you think was dated? I would love hear your feedback so that we can work to improve on the property, just about everything in the rooms and in the common areas have been replaced in the last few years. I really don't know what else I can do. So your feedback in this area would be greatly appreciated. I don't want to put me e-mail address on here because of all the spam I would receive, but if you would just call the hotel and ask for my e-mail , then send me an e-mail with what I can do, I would so greatly appreciate it.

Thank you again for your review and I look forward to hosting you here again.

Robert Czyszczon
General Manager
Plaza Beach Resorts- St Pete Beach
"Traditions Start Here"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida, U.S.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

I prefer staying at mom and pop places like this because they usually have little extras that more impersonal, low-cost chains do not. Bonuses: Free wine and beer happy hour (Moosehead -- pretty good beer!), beach chairs, free coffee in the morning, very nice landscaping and kitschy garden decor throughout, a few on-site games (first time ever playing shuffleboard), and patios. Centrally located... (St. Pete Beach is small so everything is pretty centrally located) so you can literally walk down the beach and find some beachfront restaurants serving lunch or dinner.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janesko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

This is a great resort right on a beautiful beach. Very clean rooms, pool area, and charcoal grills. The one thing we did not like was we only had a double bed. Rooms are smaller so that may be the reason. It would not stop us from staying again.

Room Tip: Ask to stay on the side with the palapas it is away from the parking lot
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaroleR2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

My first time visiting St Petersburgh, mainly for a Job Fair attendance. I stayed for two days. First I would like to express, it's quiet, relaxing and convenient to shopping center. Cozy, clean perfect for that getaway whether is with your love one, self or family.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A1224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

Try to avoid this place. We stayed here for one night and it was not a good experience. First off, the room was muggy and the AC wasn't working. We told the front desk about it and they said they would take a look at it. Nobody ever came. Since the AC wasn't working and nobody came to fix it, we had to rely on the room fan. Only problem was, when he turned the fan on a high setting, the lights started flickering. They definitely have some electrical problems there. Also, the room was pretty filthy. The floor was dirty and there was broken glass near the bed. This place needs some serious renovation and clean-up. If you decide to visit St. Pete Beach, don't stay here. There are plenty of other resorts to choose from. The only good thing I could say about this place is that it's in a good location because it's right off the beach.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ed N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plaza-Resorts_Owner, General Manager at Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Interesting review. Really? Would sum it up for me when I read this review. If you did stay here, and if your A/C was not working, and if you did report it and we failed to come and service it, then I apologize. All of our A/C units should be in good working order, and if they are not we have spare units ready to swap out. Just so everyone knows, all our maintenance work orders are documented and we don't have this documented anywhere.

As for the pretty filthy rooms, glass near bed, serious renovations and clean-up needed. I ask, did you really stay here? Did you notice the newly renovated rooms, with porcelain tiles throughout the room, the large LCD TV, the recessed lighting, the crown molding, the new blue ceilings and so much more?

To everyone reading this review, our property is extremely clean, myself and my family are on property daily to ensure that everyone is enjoying their stay. Please visit our website, what you see is what you get. No trick photography. I recommend you take our "Virtual Walk-Through" of our property, it's the newest addition to our website and it allows you to walk the property as if you were here.

I look forward to seeing our TripAdvisor Community here.

Robert Czyszczon
General Manager
Plaza Beach Resorts - St Pete Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooksville, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

Very pleasant stay! Staff very nice and friendly! Love playing the shuffle board game and corn hole also! Pool very nice and clean. Close to the beach. The only thing that I didn't like was the beds were full size and I thought we were getting two double queen beds. Also the sheets and towels had a yellowish look to them and not white. But overall we enjoyed staying there.

Room Tip: Higher floors have to be careful just walking around because of distribing guest who are staying und...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Pete Beach hotels
0.8 mi away
Loews Don CeSar Hotel
Loews Don CeSar Hotel
#7 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,113 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bayview Plaza Waterfront Resort
Bayview Plaza Waterfront Resort
#17 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dolphin Beach Resort
Dolphin Beach Resort
#21 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
TradeWinds Island Grand Beach Resort
0.3 mi away
Beach House Suites by Loews Don CeSar
0.9 mi away
Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort

Property: Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort
Address: 4506 Gulf Boulevard, St. Pete Beach, FL 33706-2404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Pete Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#2 Top resorts Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#2 Business Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#4 Family Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#5 On the Beach Hotel in St. Pete Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completely Renovated this year, Plaza Beach Hotel Beachfront Resort is an award winning boutique resort of only 39 suites on the tropical island of St Pete Beach. St Pete Beach was voted #1 Beach in America by tripadvisor and is famous for its sugar white beaches. Plaza Beach Resort is situated directly on the beach with a large beachside pool overlooking the Gulf of Mexico. Imagine yourself relaxing in the pool while watching a breathtaking orange/purple sunset melt into the gulf. All rooms are spacious studio apartments with full kitchen; great for large families, couples or the business traveler who wants all the amenities of home. Best of all we have No Surprise Resort Fees, Enjoy everything the Plaza Beach Resort has to offer at no additional cost. We really mean it: FREE Beach Cabanas, FREE Beach/Pool Towels, FREE Wireless Internet, FREE Shuffleboard, FREE 4-hole Mini-Golf, FREE Human-size Chess, FREE BBQ Area, FREE Business Center, FREE Fitness Room, FREE parking and FREE Fishing off of our private piers just across the street. Our resort is Family Owned and Operated, and has been since 1988. The family is still very active in the day to day operations, on property daily, with a great friendly staff ready to assist you with a genuine Florida vacation. Members of Superior Small Lodging Association and Approved by AAA for Quality and Standards, our resort is one of only a handful of resorts in Florida that has received the Green Lodging seal from the State of Florida as well as greenleaders gold award from tripadvisor for our effort in conserving and recycling. St Pete Beach is a 6-mile island and the Plaza Beach Resort is directly in the center of the island. Everything is in walking distance, the grocery store, restaurants, and shopping are just across the street. As well as Deep Sea Fishing, Parasailing, Jet Skiing, Dolphin Cruises, Sunset Cruises and many different island cruises visiting the nearby islands. Best of all we are only 30 minutes from Busch Gardens and 90 minutes from Disney and all the Orlando Parks. Try us, and see for yourself why so many people return to the Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Saint Pete Beach
Plaza Beach Saint Pete
Plaza Beach Resort
Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort St. Pete Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing