We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will return”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort
Ranked #4 of 32 Hotels in St. Pete Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed January 17, 2013

My first time visiting St Petersburgh, mainly for a Job Fair attendance. I stayed for two days. First I would like to express, it's quiet, relaxing and convenient to shopping center. Cozy, clean perfect for that getaway whether is with your love one, self or family.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A1224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,954)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,356 - 1,362 of 1,954 reviews

Reviewed January 15, 2013

Try to avoid this place. We stayed here for one night and it was not a good experience. First off, the room was muggy and the AC wasn't working. We told the front desk about it and they said they would take a look at it. Nobody ever came. Since the AC wasn't working and nobody came to fix it, we had to rely on the room fan. Only problem was, when he turned the fan on a high setting, the lights started flickering. They definitely have some electrical problems there. Also, the room was pretty filthy. The floor was dirty and there was broken glass near the bed. This place needs some serious renovation and clean-up. If you decide to visit St. Pete Beach, don't stay here. There are plenty of other resorts to choose from. The only good thing I could say about this place is that it's in a good location because it's right off the beach.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ed N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plaza-Resorts_Owner, General Manager at Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

Interesting review. Really? Would sum it up for me when I read this review. If you did stay here, and if your A/C was not working, and if you did report it and we failed to come and service it, then I apologize. All of our A/C units should be in good working order, and if they are not we have spare units ready to swap out. Just so everyone knows, all our maintenance work orders are documented and we don't have this documented anywhere.

As for the pretty filthy rooms, glass near bed, serious renovations and clean-up needed. I ask, did you really stay here? Did you notice the newly renovated rooms, with porcelain tiles throughout the room, the large LCD TV, the recessed lighting, the crown molding, the new blue ceilings and so much more?

To everyone reading this review, our property is extremely clean, myself and my family are on property daily to ensure that everyone is enjoying their stay. Please visit our website, what you see is what you get. No trick photography. I recommend you take our "Virtual Walk-Through" of our property, it's the newest addition to our website and it allows you to walk the property as if you were here.

I look forward to seeing our TripAdvisor Community here.

Robert Czyszczon
General Manager
Plaza Beach Resorts - St Pete Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Very pleasant stay! Staff very nice and friendly! Love playing the shuffle board game and corn hole also! Pool very nice and clean. Close to the beach. The only thing that I didn't like was the beds were full size and I thought we were getting two double queen beds. Also the sheets and towels had a yellowish look to them and not white. But overall we enjoyed staying there.

Room Tip: Higher floors have to be careful just walking around because of distribing guest who are staying und...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brenda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

We had a great time in october 2012.Everything was fine,we will come back for sure,thanks to Shelley for her support ,she is very nice.
Excellent pool area,white beach beautiful location for families and couples

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thomas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We had a nice visit here, clean, spacious room but wished we'd had a better and at least queen size mattress. Friendly staff and folks visiting from all over, with many that have been coming here for years and years. There is a daily happy hour enjoyed by many. The location is great, very convenient to many things, groceries across the street. The pool, bbq area and patio are are very nice.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlaskaLH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plaza-Resorts_Owner, General Manager at Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

Thank you so much for your wonderful review of the Plaza Beach Hotel-Beachfront Resort. I am very happy to hear that you found our rooms clean and spacious. I'm glad that you enjoyed the staff and guest , as well as , the daily social hour with free beer and wine. As for the mattress, they are all Full XL, so they are the same length as a queen, but a little narrower. Are next mattress order will be all queens, as that is what our guest are requesting and I take all request and suggestions very seriously.

Thank you again and I look forward to you next visit to beautiful St Pete Beach

Robert Czyszczon
Plaza Beach Resorts - St Pete Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

Our stay at Plaza Beach "Resort" was definitely NOT as we expected from the numerous glowing reviews on TripAdvisor. Yes, the property is beach front, and that's the best thing about it. Otherwise, we found the rooms rather threadbare and outdated. My main complaint, other than the overbearing smell of mustiness in the room, was the bedding. I'm sure the hotel owners can manage to update their bedding more than once every 10 years. The brown floral quilt covering the bed was totally gross, the warmer, camel-colored blanket under the quilt was equally old and nasty. The pillows smelled. The bleached white sheets were coarse and threadbare. All in all, I felt the bedding was unsanitary and unacceptably worn for a place that calls itself "resort".

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank belkissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plaza-Resorts_Owner, General Manager at Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

Thank you for your review and I apologize that you were not fully satisfied with our property. You mentioned it was not what you expected, was it any different than what you saw on our website? The answer is "No" Our website is so detailed, with hotels videos, guest videos, hundreds of photos, and a full "Virtual Walk-Through" of our property, it is not possible to say that it's not what you expected.

Decorative style is someone's opinion, you may not like the floral quilt bedspread, but it was on the website and you should have expected it. The sheets are not bleached white, they are a color called Bone, specify picked to match the Floral bedspread and the curtains. If your sheets were a little rough or threadbare, I apologize for that. We are in the process of replacing them, most of them have already been replaced but every so often we come across some. That being said, the sheets, the blanket, and bedspreads are all clean and always washed. Again, I apologize the bedding was not to your liking, but I hope you enjoyed all the other amenities, like the kitchens in the rooms, the large pool overlooking the beach, the colorful beach chairs, and great location with all the restaurants and so much more.

Thank you again for your review and I welcome you back for another visit to beautiful St Pete Beach.

Robert Czyszczon
General Manager
Plaza Beach Resorts - St Pete Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

At first when we arrived we were sceptical of the place but we were soon very happy and our fears laid to rest, As they say don't judge a book by it cover as It was a very enjoyable stay at The Plaza Beach Hotel, We met some wonderful people and we are now Friends with them all. The room was clean and tidy, Fabulous views of the Ocean and the Sunsets to die for. Ample dining places close by to eat and Supermarkets so close if you want dine in. Local buses very easy to navigate if you don't drive.Superb walks along the beach.All in all a great place to stay. Also two beach weddings while we were there which we all joined in the first one, unusual surprise as we don't get that in England. Cliff & Frances London

Room Tip: Ocean views are great and sunny, garden rooms if you like it cooler
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MeandHerLondonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Pete Beach hotels
0.8 mi away
The Don CeSar
The Don CeSar
#6 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
3,937 reviews
1.3 mi away
St Pete Beach Suites
St Pete Beach Suites
#3 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
433 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sirata Beach Resort
Sirata Beach Resort
#13 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4,349 reviews
0.9 mi away
Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort
0.3 mi away
Beach House Suites by The Don CeSar
Beach House Suites by The Don Ce...
#10 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort

Address: 4506 Gulf Boulevard, St. Pete Beach, FL 33706-2404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Pete Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#1 Green Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#2 Business Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#3 Family Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in St. Pete Beach
Price Range: $163 - $636 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completely Renovated property from the 1950s, Plaza Beach Hotel Beachfront Resort is an award winning boutique resort of only 39 suites on the tropical island of St Pete Beach. St Pete Beach was voted #1 Beach in America by TripAdvisor, famous for its sugar white beaches. The Plaza Beach Hotel is situated directly on the beach with a large beachside pool overlooking the Gulf of Mexico. Imagine yourself relaxing in the pool while watching a breathtaking purple sunset melt into the Gulf. Then relax in one of our spacious studio apartments with kitchenettes; great for large families, couples or the business traveler who wants all the amenities of home. Best of all we have No Surprise Resort Fees! Enjoy everything the Plaza Beach Resort has to offer at no additional cost. We really mean it: FREE beach chairs, FREE Beach/Pool Towels, FREE Wireless Internet, FREE Shuffleboard, FREE 4-hole Mini-Golf, FREE Human-size Chess, FREE BBQ Area, FREE Business Center, FREE Fitness Room, FREE parking, and FREE Fishing off of our private piers just across the street. Members of Superior Small Lodging Association and Approved by AAA for Quality and Standards, our resort is one of only a handful of resorts in Florida that has received the Green Lodging seal from the State of Florida and a Greenleaders Gold Award from TripAdvisor for our effort in conserving and recycling. Our resort is Family Owned and Operated, and has been since 1988. The family is still very active in the day to day operations and has an amazing staff ready to assist you with an authentic Florida vacation. St Pete Beach is a 6-mile island and the Plaza Beach Resort is directly in the center of the island. Everything is within walking distance: the grocery store, restaurants, and shopping are just across the street. The Plaza Beach staff is more than happy to help you find the many activities also available on the beach such as deep sea fishing, parasailing, jet skiing, dolphin cruises, sunset cruises and ferries available to visit the nearby islands. Best of all we are only 30 minutes from Busch Gardens and 90 minutes from Disney, Universal, and other Orlando theme parks. Try us and see for yourself why so many people return to the Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort year after year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Saint Pete Beach
Plaza Beach Saint Pete
Plaza Beach Resort
Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort St. Pete Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing