We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little weekend getaway!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort
Ranked #6 of 32 Hotels in St. Pete Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed June 29, 2011

Our family only stayed for one night, but one could definitely make a week out of this hotel. Our first day we arrived in the morning, and since our room was not ready yet (we knew we were early) the kind woman at the front desk offered to call me on my cell phone to let me know when we could pick up our key. We headed over to the beach, just a short walk passed the pool, and proceeded to enjoy our day in the sun. Our kids loved swimming in the warm ocean water, and the sand was perfect for building sand castles. When we were ready to pack up, I checked my phone, and sure enough I had a message saying our room was ready. I was pleasantly surprised to find an array of tiki huts outside our room. What a perfect place to sit and read a book or share a meal with family. Inside, our room looked exactly like the pictures on the website (seems silly to mention, but we've stayed in some doozies.) Everything was clean and smelled fresh. We would definitely stay again, and in fact, my husband has already booked a night with the kids the next time I go out of town!

Room Tip: The courtyard side is beautiful and quiet.
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank heapsofsmiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,893)
There are newer reviews for Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,569 - 1,575 of 1,893 reviews

Reviewed June 27, 2011

I have stayed at Plaza Beach for a week or so almost every summer in the past two decades. My latest stay was in June 2011, and I was shocked that the week passed so quickly. I reserved early to get one of my two favorite rooms -- second (top) floor, with balconies that directly overlook the pool and beach. The accommodations are simple, comfortable, and quiet. One can cook in or barbecue on the premises -- not my bag except for breakfast and light meals -- or order in or dine out in one of the numerous interesting restaurants in the area. Swimming in the Gulf can seem pretty tame for New Englanders or West Coast folks, but I enjoy daily walks on the never-too-crowded 3(?) miles of beach. Saint Petersburg offers two fine art museums, plenty of movie houses, and occasional live entertainments (plays, concerts). My favorite destinations are the Dali Museum (in its new building) and the even newer permanent (?) display of a selection of Dale Chihuly's wonderful art-in-glass. I should also mention one of the world's truly great remainder bookstores, Haslam's.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gerhardt52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2011

We had a great stay at the Plaza Beach Hotel @ St. Pete Beach!

I am a bit picky when it comes to cleanliness (floors, beds, bathrooms & towels) and this hotel certainly met & exceeded my standards!

The room was quiet, the pool was clean & refreshing and the extra seating/tables under the grass umbrella's was a nice way to close out our evening with friends who stayed at this hotel as well as a couple other nice guests we met during our stay.

The beach access was perfect! Its a great area with activities near (para sailing, jet ski rentals, beach chairs) without feeling like you were in the rat race of some other beaches!!! My kids also enjoyed the putt putt, shuffle board & corn hole activites at the hotel!

Thank you for a wonderful stay & we will not only be back but we will certainly recommend your hotel to our friends & family!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KathyDillon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay at Plaza Beach Hotel. I would recommend the hotel to anyone that wants to stay on the beach. The staff was very courteous and friendly and very helpful with anything that you might need. It was nice not to have to travel by car to get to the beach or a pool because both are right there. i look forward to when I can make another trip to Florida and when I do I plan on staying at the Plaza Beach Hotel again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gggirl57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2011

What a great place to stay - the rooms were clean - the location was perfect - you could walk to everything you need - the pool was clean and in the perfect location with the view of the gulf. The room was comfortable and quite. The bathroom is a bit small but management has installed numerorus shelves for storage which proved to be more than enough after we settled in. The room is very open - no seperate bedroom - but we did not mind that.

Room Tip: We liked the courtyard side.
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Irislady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2011

It is right on the beach. You leave your room already wearing your swim trunks, barefoot if you want, take 30 steps and you have white sand under your feet. Hotel is kids friendly, which was a"must" feature for me to have, I was taking my 11 year old to Florida, our second time. Kitchen in your room was another big plus - not just a microwave with a tiny refrigerator, but actual kitchen space with a dining table and cooking top. We only had to eat out once a day. Publix supermarket is across the street - we stocked the fridge with fresh produce and drinks on the very first day. Location is super - easy, convenient connection to highway 275 which would take you to Tampa and airport if you go North, and across the Skyway Bridge to Sarasota if you go South. We had a rental car and did fair amount of driving, but I also saw people coming to Plaza Beach by shuttle from the airport and spending their vacation without a car. Everything within walking distance. Though I would still recommend a car. For us the highlight were Fort de Soto, you can take a 4 hour ferry ride to Egmont Key Island, the best place to snorkel and a deep sea fishing trip. We never made it to Caladesi Island, they say it is another must see place. A couple of miles south of the hotel is Pass-A-Grill marina, fish from the dock, take 1/2 day fishing trip or just a boat ferry to Shell Island. Hubbard's marina is a couples of miles North of the hotel. Another Marina just behind Publix, walking distance from hotel, they offer sailing cruises and ferry to islands. Super location, friendly office staff, great place for regular people!

Room Tip: Try to get a room closer to the ocean
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank VICTOR2011-06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2011

Our 9th year in a row again with family and friends and we hate to leave. Amazing weather and the hotel just keeps getting better. Thanks to the Czyszczon Family and Staff for putting in the long hours and dedication to provide the quality service and accomendations. Each year we come back to find upgrades to the property that make it a 5 star in it's own category. We meet new people each year and share stories and amazed on how much a small world it is. This year most of the people in the pool were from Pittsburg where our friends are from. It was a pleasant Happy Hour in the pool. Thanks again Robert for the Cornhole Boards and think the guests loved them. See you next year, same time,same room,and same great time at the Plaza Beach!

The Medeiros Famikly & Friends

Room Tip: Plan Ahead ! This hotel books early.....
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paradise6-2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Pete Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Bayview Plaza Waterfront Resort
Bayview Plaza Waterfront Resort
#19 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
494 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Don CeSar
The Don CeSar
#7 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
3,751 reviews
1.3 mi away
St Pete Beach Suites
St Pete Beach Suites
#3 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sirata Beach Resort
Sirata Beach Resort
#13 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4,228 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center
0.2 mi away
Bay Palms Waterfront Resort - Hotel and Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort

Address: 4506 Gulf Boulevard, St. Pete Beach, FL 33706-2404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Pete Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#2 Business Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#2 Top resorts Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#4 Family Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#5 On the Beach Hotel in St. Pete Beach
Price Range: $129 - $403 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completely Renovated property from the 1950s, Plaza Beach Hotel Beachfront Resort is an award winning boutique resort of only 39 suites on the tropical island of St Pete Beach. St Pete Beach was voted #1 Beach in America by TripAdvisor, famous for its sugar white beaches. The Plaza Beach Hotel is situated directly on the beach with a large beachside pool overlooking the Gulf of Mexico. Imagine yourself relaxing in the pool while watching a breathtaking purple sunset melt into the Gulf. Then relax in one of our spacious studio apartments with kitchenettes; great for large families, couples or the business traveler who wants all the amenities of home. Best of all we have No Surprise Resort Fees! Enjoy everything the Plaza Beach Resort has to offer at no additional cost. We really mean it: FREE beach chairs, FREE Beach/Pool Towels, FREE Wireless Internet, FREE Shuffleboard, FREE 4-hole Mini-Golf, FREE Human-size Chess, FREE BBQ Area, FREE Business Center, FREE Fitness Room, FREE parking, and FREE Fishing off of our private piers just across the street. Members of Superior Small Lodging Association and Approved by AAA for Quality and Standards, our resort is one of only a handful of resorts in Florida that has received the Green Lodging seal from the State of Florida and a Greenleaders Gold Award from TripAdvisor for our effort in conserving and recycling. Our resort is Family Owned and Operated, and has been since 1988. The family is still very active in the day to day operations and has an amazing staff ready to assist you with an authentic Florida vacation. St Pete Beach is a 6-mile island and the Plaza Beach Resort is directly in the center of the island. Everything is within walking distance: the grocery store, restaurants, and shopping are just across the street. The Plaza Beach staff is more than happy to help you find the many activities also available on the beach such as deep sea fishing, parasailing, jet skiing, dolphin cruises, sunset cruises and ferries available to visit the nearby islands. Best of all we are only 30 minutes from Busch Gardens and 90 minutes from Disney, Universal, and other Orlando theme parks. Try us and see for yourself why so many people return to the Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort year after year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Saint Pete Beach
Plaza Beach Saint Pete
Plaza Beach Resort
Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort St. Pete Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing