We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center
Ranked #13 of 32 Hotels in St. Pete Beach
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“Beautiful View!”
Reviewed June 10, 2006

My boyfriend and I traveled for 2 days to the Grand Plaza. The price was very reasonable at $130 a night, for a king size bed and an ocean/bay view. (We asked for an upgrade but the woman was very kind and stated it was not worth the extra $20 since we already had a partial ocean view) The room was a comfortable size for two and we spent the majority of our time on the balcony taking in the beautiful views.

As for food, the first night we tried Crabby Bill's. It had good food, decent prices and an atmosphere close to Joe's crab shack. The Starlite Diner located next door was very good! I had a breakfast burrito that puts McDonalds to shame. We also ate dinner at Snappers. This is a 5 star restraint with very good food. It was pricey but worth the extra money for some world class seafood. As for Spinners located at the top of the hotel we decided to go up late at night for a drink and dessert. We were disappointed that we could not see the ocean for it was dark and found out that it takes 2 hours to completely rotate. It would be very beautiful to see the sunset if you timed it exactly right.

Overall this was a very good trip. I will definitely consider staying again.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,680 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,314
    800
    301
    153
    112
See reviews for
767
1,233
104
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (794)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 9, 2006

We stayed here over memorial weekend and really enjoyed it. We ate twice at their "Spinners" restaurant and had a wonderful time. The food was pretty good, the staff was excellant and the view was fantastic. The hotel was old but it was clean and inexpensive. Our room was #816 and it was great! If they ever make this a condo-tel, I would consider purchasing it.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2006

After reading many negative reviews, we had decided not to stay at this hotel. However, after seeing what we could get in the surrounding hotels for the same price, we decided to head into the hotel and check out a room. The hotel is in a beautiful area, and looks a lot more upscale than it's neighbors (other than the Don Cesar of course). When we entered the building we did notice the "sea" smell that a lot of other reviewer's have mentioned, but hey, we were at the beach. The front desk was very pleasant and let us look at a room with a partial gulf/bay view on the 6th floor. The halls don't seem to be airconditioned, and the lighting is odd, but when we entered our room, I knew we were staying. The biggest tip is to demand a king size bed, NOT two doubles. I don't recommend this hotel for more than two people per room. The room is small, but beautifully decorated with incredible windows with plantation shutters. I loved those shutters! The small balcony had a great view of both the ocean and the bay, and we could hear the band at the tiki hut (sometimes that wasn't such a good thing) and people watch. I do agree with some of the others posters that the bedding wasn't that great, and yes, the bathroom was small and still needs updating, but it had wonderful toiletries and I'm a hotel toiletry fanatic. The mirrors on the ceiling in the bathroom were odd, but I think that was someone's attempt to make it seem larger. And yes, someone (probably my husband) wrote "hello" on the glass so that when the room fogged up you would see it. We planned on staying 2 days and added an extra since they extended their weekly walk in price for Friday. Last tip, skip Spinners for dinner. You can go up and look around, or have a drink, but save your money for any of the area restaurants. We had a great time there, and will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dstar96920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2006

My husband and I stayed at the Grand Plaza from May 21-24. We booked a coastal view room, which was great because we had a view of both the gulf and the bay. We were told that the hotel was a Holiday Inn just a few months before, and it still seems like a Holiday Inn-quality hotel. We didn't have any major complaints, but here's the list of negatives:
hot, smelly hallways
tile floors (this was both a positive and a negative. they're easier to clean than carpet but ithey're VERY loud)
service (average at best)
beach towels (they're very small and thin and you need at least 2 per person)

We highly recommend skipping breakfast at the hotel and heading over to the Starlite Diner next door, where we had 3 good meals. We ate at Spinners a couple of times for dinner and were very happy with our meals and service (also the view is amazing). The beach bar (and Spinners) have very good burgers for lunch.

Our room was neat and clean, but it wasn't spectacular. Many people have commented that the bathrooms were small and they were, but again you're not paying a lot for this hotel. I had originally booked the room for around $168 a night, but when I checked out I was told that my rate for 3 of the 4 nights was $118 (manager's special). If you can get a rate that low this hotel is definitely worth it. I wouldn't recommend staying here with kids due to the loud tile floors and the way the pool is set up (4 feet at the shallow end). I think it's great for couples or singles looking for a great location at a fair rate.

A few tips-
Go to the beach store across the street to purchase a beach chair at $15 rather than paying $20/day for a cabana.
The drinks at the local bars are overpriced. Since you have a minifridge in your room, stock up at the liquor store across the street. This saved us alot of money.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LovelyTravelerNj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2006

My husband and I stayed for a mini vacation at the Grand Plaza Hotel. We had a very bad experience and will never stay or recommend this hotel to anyone. The hotels website is very misleading.

Helpful?
4 Thank Ms0569
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2006

We stayed at the Grand Plaza on Memorial weekend for my sister's wedding. The overall experience was just okay. We would rather visit our old favorite, the Bon Aire motel, when visiting St. Pete beach, however, since the wedding was at the Grand Plaza it was the obvious choice.

The good things:
Great location, superb views, beach bar, convenient beach activities, plenty of parking, comfy beds (sheets could be better), great room amenities (especially the free wireless internet), balconies with furniture.

The bad things:
TINY bathrooms, less than mediocre cleaning (dirty tile floors in rooms, black dust bunnies behind and under beds, dirty mattresses which were exposed because fitted sheets did not properly fit beds, sticky stuff on walls and doors), loud hallways, slow and hot elevators, occasional bad attitudes amongst some staff (lobby level dining room, catering manager).

This hotel has so much potential but is in need of more renovation. Many areas of the hotel seemed aged and not well taken care of. If the hotel spent some dollars in renovations and management developed a better customer service attitude amongst all of their employees, this would be one of the best spots to stay in St. Pete beach. Until then, it will just be another less than mediocre hotel. What a shame!!!

This hotel is obviously very popular for weddings because of their beautiful setting on the beach and their banquet rooms with spectacular beach views. Unfortunately for my sister, her experience with her catering manager was negative. Several mistakes were made that delineated from her contract and the catering manager's attitude with my aunt (the informal wedding coordinator) was extremely rude. For a hotel with so many weddings happening you would think that they would have a first rate catering manager on staff. That was not the case here!

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank J9sling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 28, 2006

We just got back from spending 4 nights at the Grand Plaza Hotel. The location is wonderful. Our room faced the beach and we loved it. Keith fixed up with cabana chairs and made sure we were well taken care of.
While the website says the hotel has been renovated, there were still some areas that reflected the age of the hotel. The bathroom was very small and there appeared to be quite a bit of dirt built up in the corners of the baseboards. We also found there to be foul odors at various locations throughout the hotel. The hallways were particularly bad. There is no carpet so the odor wasn't from wet carpet.
The other negative part of our hotel experience had to do with eating at Spinners on the top floor of the hotel. The price paid is for the view, not for the food. Our service was horrible. We were there for 2 hours - our food took forever to arrive.
Great places to check out for food: Crabby Bill's, Silas Steak house, and the Sea Horse for breakfast in Pass-a-Grille.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Pete Beach hotels
1.2 mi away
The Don CeSar
The Don CeSar
#7 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
3,523 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dolphin Beach Resort
Dolphin Beach Resort
#21 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
966 reviews
0.6 mi away
Postcard Inn on the Beach
Postcard Inn on the Beach
#19 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sirata Beach Resort
Sirata Beach Resort
#14 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4,028 reviews
0.3 mi away
TradeWinds Island Grand Resort
TradeWinds Island Grand Resort
#10 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
5,304 reviews
0.5 mi away
Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center

Property: Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center
Address: 5250 Gulf Boulevard, St. Pete Beach, FL 33706-2408
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Pete Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#6 Romantic Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#6 Business Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#10 Family Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#11 On the Beach Hotel in St. Pete Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel is located directly on the beach and Gulf of Mexico. The Resort features a wide selection of luxurious guestrooms with furnished private balconies and all the best full service resort amenities for the leisure or business travelers. Featuring 4 Restaurants - Spinners Rooftop Revolving Bistro & Lounge, Level 11 Rooftop Lounge, Bongos Beach Bar & Grill, and the Palm Room Restaurant. 3 Lounges, Heated Swimming Pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel Saint Pete Beach
Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel And Conference Center
Grand Plaza Beachfront Hotel
Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center St. Pete Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing