We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hadley @ Bongo's was a real nice server”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center
Ranked #13 of 32 Hotels in St. Pete Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Massillon, Ohio
1 review
“Hadley @ Bongo's was a real nice server”
Reviewed March 18, 2014

All the way from snowy Ohio and into St. Pete for a wedding. The Service that Hadley provided out at the beach bar was far and above any place else in St Pete! Very polite, funny and even asked if we would prefer bottled water over the tap water. We stayed around Bongos many night just because of Hadley's fine service. We will be around like a donut again for sure! Thank you Hadley!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,698 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,324
    804
    305
    153
    112
See reviews for
778
1,237
104
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (799)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2014 via mobile

We have now stayed at Grand Plaza twicw, one month apart. We absolutely love it. It's a place you can go, park the car and never have to leave. Bongos Beach Bar is a wonderful atmosphere right on the beach. The hotel is dated, but very clean. I actually like the decor as it makes it nostalgic. Would definitely recommend and will return again....and again...and again...

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank TopDownTrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand cayman
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2014

This was a very nice hotel in a great location on St. Pete Beach. The service was some of the best I have ever had. It was also great to have fabulous restaurants on property. We were only there for 2 nights and we never had to leave to find someplace to eat. Bongos on the Beach was a great place for lunch or a casual dinner. Spinners on the top level had spectacular views and great food.
The breakfast restaurant was also very good although we did have to wait a bit for a table because it was a little breezy that morning no one wanted to sit outside to eat. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for a family friendly hotel. Big plus, not a college spring break beach so
mostly family in and around the area. Rooms are on the small side but very clean. They have a murphy bed which helps a lot. Also, it would be nice if they had a hot tub for the kids to use at night.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheree R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Painesville, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 16, 2014

The staff was so friendly and helpful with every aspect of our trip. Everyone we came in contact with was professional but also any problem we may have encountered was taken care of quickly. The food we thought was excellent ! The only slight complaint would be sometimes the elevators would take a long time. We will be going back for future vacations!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tinamarie347
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bermuda
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2014

We stayed at Grand Plaza hotel for a week starting March 6th and had a wonderful time, the staff at front desk were amazing as were concierge helping us; Dayle and Terry were great with all the parcels we had a delivered to the hotel. Our room was 809 and we had a nice side view of the ocean, although it was spring break we were lucky enough not to have crazy "breakers" around the hotel much. Bongo's beach bar was excellent Thomas our server who we got a few times was really good with speedy in service.

The only down side to the trip was the housekeeping, the room cleaning was terrible if not "non-existent" on several days, I understand they were probably swamped due to all the wedding parties that week but the housekeeping was simply terrible.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank globetrotting2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2014

We were quite happy with our hotel selection when we pulled up to the Grand Plaza. It was a beautiful location, with one of the beach's best bars right next door. The front desk staff was so accommodating and we were even allowed to check in early.

The rooms turned out to be nicer than most other beach front resorts we've stayed at and it appears they have tried to make upgrades (these said upgrades are actually the reason for the poor rating I gave them), although the tile floor made for lots of sand in the bed at night.

We hurried to put on our swimsuits to enjoy the beach and pool. When we got down to the pool, there was a portion to the side of the resort taped off due to construction. It wasn't noisy construction, and being that it was a Saturday afternoon, I am not even sure they were working at the time. As our 2-year old daughter was walking over to the steps of the pool, she said, "ow, Mommy!" and started to cry. She sat down and lifted her foot, showing a short, thick nail stuck in her heel. As much as it sounds like a "freak out mommy moment", it really wasn't as bad as it sounds. It barely broke the skin and there was only a trace of blood. But it was enough for me to be extremely angry and take it to the front desk.

The manager on duty came out with a clipboard to write an incident report, most of which he left blank, making me feel like it wasn't a big deal. He took the nail and said he would talk to the foreman to make sure they did better at cleaning up the job site. He also asked for us to let him know if we ended up taking our daughter to Urgent Care, and said he would leave a note in our account to "take care of part of our bill".

The next morning upon checkout, there was no mention of said discount, but honestly, that wasn't what bothered me. I didn't want my bill comped, I really just thought he should have followed up to see how our daughter was doing. So when we checked out and there was nothing in our account about a comp, it just confirmed my feelings that he really didn't care or take the incident seriously.

Do I think this was a rare occurrence and just bad luck on my daughter's part? Yes. Would their customer service make me want to stay here again or refer a friend? Heck no.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank susanalcauskas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Hampton
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 14, 2014

We've stayed here twice Both times were great stays. Sunny clean room overlooking ocean with extra bed. Breakfast buffet is a great deal. Revolving restaurant is good and our only complaint is that the spin is too noticeable. All staff , from front desk to housekeeping to waiters and bartenders, are very nice, and you can tell take great pride in their jobs and hotel. Call hotel to reserve for best rates rather than website as I learned the hard way.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martha K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Pete Beach hotels
1.2 mi away
The Don CeSar
The Don CeSar
#7 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
3,574 reviews
0.6 mi away
Postcard Inn on the Beach
Postcard Inn on the Beach
#19 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
496 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dolphin Beach Resort
Dolphin Beach Resort
#21 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sirata Beach Resort
Sirata Beach Resort
#14 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4,113 reviews
0.3 mi away
TradeWinds Island Grand Resort
TradeWinds Island Grand Resort
#10 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
5,362 reviews
0.4 mi away
Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center

Property: Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center
Address: 5250 Gulf Boulevard, St. Pete Beach, FL 33706-2408
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Pete Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#6 Romantic Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#6 Business Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#10 Family Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#11 On the Beach Hotel in St. Pete Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel is located directly on the beach and Gulf of Mexico. The Resort features a wide selection of luxurious guestrooms with furnished private balconies and all the best full service resort amenities for the leisure or business travelers. Featuring 4 Restaurants - Spinners Rooftop Revolving Bistro & Lounge, Level 11 Rooftop Lounge, Bongos Beach Bar & Grill, and the Palm Room Restaurant. 3 Lounges, Heated Swimming Pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel Saint Pete Beach
Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel And Conference Center
Grand Plaza Beachfront Hotel
Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center St. Pete Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing