We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very unhelpful even before arrival”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center
Ranked #15 of 32 Hotels in St. Pete Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We tried to book a table for 10people in spinners for a wedding dinner at 8pm as we were intending to stay at the hotel. Impossible. After an email from the sales manger with Banquet menus for over 50 people, we finally got a reply from the Assistant GM stating "The only time of the day that we could make an exemption will be at 11:00-11:30 am lunch time. We do thank you for your interest in dinning with us, let me know if the earlier time will be possible for you."
So now we are not staying in the Grand Plaza or having dinner there...
Very helpful indeed. How can we have a wedding Dinner at 11am?

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Service
1  Thank KA1248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,799)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,546 - 1,552 of 2,799 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed here from March 7-11 and were very pleased. We are well traveled so we have been many resorts, hotels and motels. This resort is very clean, staff is friendly and beach is beautiful!! it is an older hotel but they keep it clean and updated as it needs to be. I have stayed at the Don Cesar down the road several times and this hotel is no older than the Don. We enjoyed the breakfast buffet on the first 2 days and the 3rd morning we opted for room service. It was very reasonable and the service was very quick. We ate at Spinners Saturday night and it was FABULOUS! Definitely a must if you stay here. HINT - in order to see the sunset while you are eating, get to the restaurant about 5:30 (6:30 daylight savings time), because there are no reservations and sunset is the most popular time and fills up fast. We both had great steaks and service. Bongos beach bar is awesome...you can sit at the bar or a table or even a table in the sand to put your feet in! Service is great, food is to you quick (15 min or so) and there are tons of drink options. great music at the bar every day & night. Excellent atmosphere, and best beach bar on St Pete. Parking here is a bit tricky, but there is a garage under the main parking lot in front that is probably best to park in when its hot in Florida. There were several beach weddings while we were there and we got to watch most of them while lounging at the pool. The nice thing about this resort is there are NO resort fees, no parking charges and they do provide free wireless internet in rooms, although I will say when the hotel is full on the weekends, the service is spotty, but how do you complain if its free? We brought our mobile hot spot as a backup just in case. One side note - the resort can be a bit noisy in the evenings with the music from the Sirata next door and the outside bar music or band playing if your room is on the North side of the hotel, or the South side may get noisy from Bongos music as well. The floors in rooms and hallway are all ceramic tile so you can hear everything from the hallways. Late at night (especially with wedding parties on site) people tend to let their doors slam shut and I got woke up at least twice from it, but it wasn't the end of the world. I would advise this hotel to put some sort of contraption on the room doors so they don't slam shut so loudly. This would help for the noise issue a bit. Get a room with an ocean view or ocean front, as the view is spectacular...well worth the extra few bucks! The balconies are a good size with a nice table and two chairs to relax on. Beds were in good shape and pretty comfortable. Bathrooms are small, but again, that is not a deal breaker as we weren't in our room much. I would recommend staying here, unless you are very picky about "moderness" of rooms you stay in. They need a bit of updating but not bad. I would stay here again in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: Pick a higher floor water view room or water front room...the view is spectacular!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CentralLTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

The big perk of this hotel is the location--it is literally right on the beach, with a cute beach bar (Bongos) where you can eat with your feet in the sand. There were neither a lot of families nor spring breakers there during our visit, so we had a relatively quiet stay (as we were hoping for).

That said, it was also both more outdated and 'cheesier' than we wanted; the room was indeed no frills, the bathroom really small (as in there wasn't enough room for our toiletries on the vanity), and it took FOREVER to get an elevator up or down. The breakfast buffet was just a step up from what you get at many complimentary breakfasts at your run of the mill Holiday Inn type hotels (here, $9.95/pp), and the beautiful cabanas pictured on the website had to be rented for $20/day. We also had an issue with housekeeping; they didn't come at all one day, and then we had to ask 3 times (and wait 4 hours) for new towels and extra coffee.

It wasn't a bad hotel (at all) but we were expecting something that felt, well, "grand"--and this didn't quite do it for us...and for the price, we expected more.

Some tips:
-We stayed in room 600, a partial ocean view on the north side. It was quiet and had a great view from the bed or the balcony. It was also immediately in front of the elevator, but we didn't have a problem with noise.
-The coconut chicken fingers at Bongo's are divine!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 600, a partial ocean view on the north side. It was quiet and had a great view fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank That_Grrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

My sister got married on the beach here and it was a lovely location and the reception was beautiful. The wedding staff were all fabulous and very helpful. The rooms are overpriced and need a lot of updating. We stayed in room 701. Great ocean view room although not ocean front because I did not want to pay that much. The porch was also nice although we did not get to spend much time on it since it was chilly. We returned to our room the afternoon of the 2nd and had a note from housekeeping saying due to my child's teddy bear on one of the beds they would not clean the room because they do not touch personal items. So we were left with 2 unmade beds and they left the dirty towels on the floor and did not give us new ones. I called down to the front desk who said no problem I will send housecleaning up. They came in the room offered no explanation as to why they did not make the beds or replace the towels and ended up just saying "so you just want more towels?". When I checked out the lady asked how our stay was and I explained what I was unhappy with. Her response was that is unusual. No offer to try and make it better or to fix anything. She just said I am going to charge your card now. Very disappointed with the service.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AtlantaAbby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Staff at welcoming desk and all employees here at restaurants, housekeeping, etc. were wonderful! We saw 3 weddings from our beachfront hotel room last night. Unfortunately, 2 of the 3 weddings today had to be moved inside due to the unusually cold and windy weather. Sand was blowing everywhere.

We have been in St Pete for 5 weeks renting a condo and wanted a couple of extra days on the beach celebrating our 50th anniversary on March 2nd. We chose this hotel after walking past. Just wanted someone to make our bed for a couple of days, sit in the comfortable beach chairs and enjoy cocktails on our room balcony. Weather changed all that, but did have a pleasant stay.

Would say that, even though the rotating restaurant at the top was beautiful and had fantastic views, the food is not that great. Go with the appetizers-they are meal-sized. Would stay here again when it is warmer. Breakfast buffet was good.

Only negative was noisy some of the time. There was no carpeting in our room nor in the halls, so we did hear a lot of noise from other guests in the hall. Yet, hearing music from the Bongo bar downstairs did put me to sleep. Nice music. Loved that restaurant. We stayed in Room 516 and beautiful view.


Judi from PA

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Judi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

Found dried blood on bed comforter! We left to go get some lunch, came back to find our room door propped open with no maids or staff around. All of our personal belongings were inside! We could have been robbed blind. The front desk offered to switch rooms, but what's the point if you feel like you can't leave your hotel room because you feel like some one is going through your personal things. Needless to say we got a refund and left quick! We went to tradewinds, two hotels down, and they made it all better!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rebecca_STC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Checkin time was 4pm but we came in around noon and they let us pre register. Sherry was friendly and very helpful at the front desk. She took my cell number and called us from the beach when our room was ready. The hotel staff were all excellent. The hotel itself is very clean but dated. We got the room in the top floor overlooking the gulf. It was a fantastic view. The balcony is a fair size with 2 chairs and a table. The room itself was again clean but dated. The bathroom was small and had an old wood ceiling. There was a bar fridge, microwave and coffee maker in the room.

For lunch we ate outside at the beach bar, the waiter was awesome he came over when he saw our waitress was too busy and he took our order. He was friendly and very helpful. The food is the basics burgers wings and such but service was fast and food was good for a good price.

We had supper in Spinners, the top of the hotel where the room rotates giving you a 360 view of the gulf and the city. We arrived around 7pm without a reservation and was first told it was 1-2 hour wait, then the next girl told us 45mins to an hour. We ended up grabbing a drink from the bar and we had a table within 10mins. The girl told us people leave their names then end up leaving thinking the wait is too long..therefore we moved right up on the list...yippe.

Our waitress was awesome, she did an excellent job. The food was excellent and great value for the price.

The plaza is known for its beachfront weddings. There was one there the day we stayed and they made sure to party the night away. We could hear people in the halls well past 2am and could hear people screaming well past 3 outside even though we were on the 9th floor.

We had a kingsize bed which I found stiff and uncomfortable, My wife had no problem sleeping but maybe it was because of being woken up so much during the night.

Overall we had a good stay.

Room Tip: Ask for beach front room, we had the 9th floor which had an awesome view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mackster101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Pete Beach hotels
1.2 mi away
The Don CeSar
The Don CeSar
#6 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
3,995 reviews
0.6 mi away
Postcard Inn on the Beach
Postcard Inn on the Beach
#18 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
620 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dolphin Beach Resort
Dolphin Beach Resort
#20 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
1,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sirata Beach Resort
Sirata Beach Resort
#12 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4,399 reviews
0.5 mi away
Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort
0.3 mi away
TradeWinds Island Grand Resort
TradeWinds Island Grand Resort
#10 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
5,614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center

Address: 5250 Gulf Boulevard, St. Pete Beach, FL 33706-2408
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Pete Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#6 Business Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#8 Top resorts Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#9 Family Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#13 On the Beach Hotel in St. Pete Beach
Price Range: $219 - $412 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel is located directly on the beach and Gulf of Mexico. The Resort features a wide selection of luxurious guestrooms with furnished private balconies and all the best full service resort amenities for the leisure or business travelers. Featuring 4 Restaurants - Spinners Rooftop Revolving Bistro & Lounge, Level 11 Rooftop Lounge, Bongos Beach Bar & Grill, and the Palm Room Restaurant. 3 Lounges, Heated Swimming Pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel And Conference Center
Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel Saint Pete Beach
Grand Plaza Beachfront Hotel
Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center St. Pete Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing