We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly diner .....”
Review of Gayle's

Gayle's
Ranked #95 of 147 Restaurants in St. Pete Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Description: serving since 1954, This is a great family owned place with great breakfast!!
Restaurant details
Description: serving since 1954, This is a great family owned place with great breakfast!!
Whitby, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Friendly diner .....”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Usually diners are outstanding but this one lacked a little something, maybe the chef was a little busy but my breakfast was very ordinary ......and our friends said that it wasn't as good as last week, it was pouring with rain on our last day and I so wanted a good breakfast....sorry.....also the server make a mistake on the bill in our favour, when I pointed it out there was no comment.....

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    31
    11
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
surrey uk
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“It's worth stopping here!”
Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

We must have driven past this place hundreds of times and finally called in for breakfast. It's an old fashioned diner with good, tasty food and there were several locals eating there. We enjoyed our meal and will visit again soon. Plenty of parking right behind the diner.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank cjwhols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Pete Beach, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“This place is a classic!”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

OLD SCHOOL .. but in a great way! Great food, classic diner style with tables and a counter. Family owned for I think about 40 years? They make turkey and stuffing everyday like it was Thanksgiving .. awseome! Oh, and by the way .. if you like grits .. they are the best home made grits I've ever had .. hands down! Dirt cheap prices and fantastic grubb!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Scott m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great hidden spot!”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

My husband and I just got married last week on St Pete Beach. The first day we where there we went in search of a quick bite to eat. We had passed several places but nothing caught our eye. Somehow he saw a sign for breakfast in the window of this small little diner. We stopped in not expecting much but being able to grab a bite. It was so good!! They close at 2 or 3, not sure which time. However, we walked in 7 minutes before they closed and they were just as friendly as if we walked in that morning. He got a ham and cheese omelet with has browns. Now, he LOVES hash browns and will eat them every morning if he could. Once he took a bite he said they were awesome! I got a BLT that was great! There are no frills or special ingredients .. it's just an old fashioned BLT.

We recommended it to all our friends and family that week to try. Everyone that went there said it was great. I'm actually bummed we don't live closer so we can go more often.

It is cash only so don't be shocked. You don't need a lot though .. we both ate for under $12!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stagemngr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Kentucky
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Old but Good”
Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

Very old diner!! Right on the corner and easy to miss if youre not looking for. Friendly staff. Great breakfast menu! Reasonable prices. Would visit again on the next trip! :)

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jess T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gayle's also viewed

St. Pete Beach, FL
St. Pete Beach, FL
 
St. Pete Beach, FL
 
St. Pete Beach, FL
 

Been to Gayle's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing