We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just ok”
Review of Frog Pond

Frog Pond
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch
Florida
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Just ok”
Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

We were headed to one of our favorite places on the beach for breakfast- Steam and Chill- but they were packed so we tried another favorite- The Seahorse- but they were closed ( it was a Tuesday) so we gave Frog Pond a try. It was just ok- prices were high, wait staff was grumpy, and food was just ok. My omelet was tasteless and while I was thrilled fresh fruit was offered as a side, you had to pay extra which made an overpriced omelet even more so. They are big on no substitutions and aren't very customer-friendly. They act as though you should just be lucky to be eating there. Try Steam and Chill ( across the street and much more accommodating) before going here. This wasn't my first time here- it was actually my second, and it confirmed all of the above.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank HB_and_CE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

754 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    501
    156
    59
    17
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Eaton, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food, small place with big wait”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Go here for brunch, but be prepared to wait. Good things come to those who wait - really good breakfast food!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gractia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“It was OK”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We tried the Frog Pond for breakfast. It takes a lot for me to not like a breakfast place..how bad can you mess up breakfast. I wouldn't say they messed up - But I have had much better. My husband had the vegtable Frittatta thinking he would have something healthier. it came heaped with potatoes..butter and was far from healthy.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank jetset36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great breakfast place”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

One of the best places to have breakfast on St. Pete Beach! Homemade jelly, great service and even if crowded, the tables leave enough room to be able to chat (not like Beverlys across the street). My husband loved the biscuits & gravey. Omlette was wonderful. Manager was very nice and even brought my husband additional gravy for his biscuits.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank floridaforever09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Long wait and average food.”
Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

I was told this was the best breakfast on the beach and found it to be just an average place. Had to wait for 20 minutes and they were busy so evidently returning customers like it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Runforfunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frog Pond also viewed

 
St. Pete Beach, FL
St. Pete Beach, FL
 

Been to Frog Pond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing